We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Business Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice location!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Big enough studio room 310, great welcoming staff, underground parking facility although comes at 15$ a day but convenient, nice hot breakfast, even a breakfast to go bag while you leave, a printer and a computer in every room, Sony Bravia TV- set, phone, a/c, mini kitchen with fridge and many, many others. It may be the only hotel equipped with everything any traveller would need... Will definitely stay again here on our next visit in Ottawa.

Thanks guys,
Guta 1962.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mugurel-Corneli... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Guest Services at The Business Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 15 November 2015
Thank you for your comments on the TripAdvisor. It is encouraging to know, that we are providing guests with services they value. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    466
    87
    38
    13
See reviews for
355
539
110
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

After a tiny walkup in Montreal that cost twice as much, we were ecstatic to find a full suite, reasonable parking, a wonderful staff, and location convenient to all we wanted to see. We easily walked downtown and to a great path along the river. Pubs nearby offered anything we could have wanted and nearby groceries could supply your needs if you wanted to use the full kitchen in the suite. Superb breakfast was included!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I recently stayed at the Business Inn for the second time, the first time being >4 years ago. While it is not a fancy or high end hotel, once again I was extremely impressed by the service and all the included 'extras'. For $119/night, I got a large suite with separate bedroom and spacious living/dining room. Would highly recommend The Business Inn to anyone travelling to Ottawa, whether on business or with families.

PROS:
- Excellent value
- Excellent service, friendly staff
- Spacious rooms
- Well equipped kitchen
- Free laundry (they also provide detergent)
- Computer workstation with printer in every room
- Free Wifi (of course)
- Great location with lots within walking distance, including plenty of restaurants

CONS:
- Furniture/décor is a bit dated (but clean/well maintained)
- The air conditioning machine in the bedroom was quite noisy
- Rooms facing Elgin Street can be noisy on weekends

SUGGESTIONS:
- Would have loved to have a Nespresso machine in the room! A few tea selections in the room would have been nice as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomvula_za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Huge apartment, great welcoming staff, underground parking facility although comes at 15$ a day but convenient, nice hot breakfast, even a breakfast to go bag while you leave, a printer and a computer in every room- may be the only hotel equipped with everything any traveller would need...

Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter100169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I am in Ottawa at least 60 days per year. About 4 months ago, I decided to move from the hotel I used to go to. I checked on trip advisor and found this great place.It fits my needs perfectly. Very large bed, big tv with many french chanels, free internet, free breakfast with cheese, muffins, fruits,yogourt, cereals, orange juice etc..full kitchen and all that for a very small price. The front staff is very friendly and they always welcome me by my name when I enter the door. It might seems funny to some people but it is very important for me. I could not support anymore going to an hotel where after more than 100 times , most of the staff was still asking for a picture to confirm my reservation. The first time that I spoke to Josh, it felt like home. It is not a fancy hotel like some of the hotels, I went to. There is no view but it fits my needs perfectly and I like the student ambiance of the area. For the price,it is the best deal in Ottawa by far.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montreal011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Previous reviews are accurate, the rooms (apartments) are huge.

A little dated but everything in my room was in good order

Large balconies, big kitchen and living/dining areas.

Location is good, prices are great ( I paid $109) and parking is only $15 a night.

If your looking for value or an inexpensive apartment, this is it.

Bottom line, I'd come here again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Global4755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
ByWard Blue Inn
#14 of 67 in Ottawa
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Business Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Business Inn & Suites

Property: The Business Inn & Suites
Address: 180 Maclaren St | at Elgin, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 0L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Business Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread your paperwork over large desk tables, relax on the comfortable living room sofas and wake up refreshed in a king size bed. If your family is traveling on business with you, our spacious suites feature fully equipped kitchens and household amenities to satisfy their needs as well. Located at the central hot-spot of Ottawa. Locals and visitors enjoy dinner, dancing and live music. 24 hour diners, Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal and the ByWard Market are within walking distance, making The Business Inn the perfect location when staying in Ottawa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Business Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Business Hotel Ottawa
Business Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing