We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Business Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed at the hotel (Mini Suite) for two nights earlier this month based on other reviews I had seen and it did not disappoint. It was reasonably priced especially for its location and every room has its own little kitchen unit. Each room also comes with its own computer and printer that is free to use (I printed off maps of the area so I knew where I was walking). The front desk employees were very nice and friendly, and they will even loan you an umbrella. Checking in and out only takes a couple of minutes.

I think the best part was the free breakfast. They would make you breakfast sandwiches and there was a variety of food including waffles, pancakes, toast, croissants, fruit, cheese, yoghurt, tea/coffee, and juices.

There is also free wifi and free laundry facilities available.

Amazing hotel and close to a lot of restaurants and some attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

906 - 912 of 1,616 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Good things unfolded one at a time at the Business Inn: a great neighbourhood near Parliament and a great rate, a nice lobby, a huge and very comfortable room with wide windows and all the ameneties (e.g., kitchen, steamer, USB outlets). The Tom Thompson painting was a nice finishing touch. I was enjoying soaking all this in on the comfortable bed, turned on the bedside lamp, and experienced 120 volts running across my chest through to my other hand, which was holding a laptop. I was fine, but have occasional heart issues and feel the lamp could have caused a real emergency. At the end of my stay the staff wrote down my room number and promised to look into it. However, I feel the onus was on them to make the room safe in the first place rather than through trial and error, and that is rather hard for me to forgive such a serious accident.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

When we checked in we were upgraded to a bigger room (apartment). The apartment we stayed in was bigger than our apartment back home. The hotel was a bit worn down, had a very good gym which we used and ok breakfast. The hotel is perfectly located close to most of the attractions. We will definitely stay here again if we come back

Make sure that you visit the Sir John A pub across the street, they had a very good selection of beer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIF1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here for three nights in July. Location terrific for walking, sight seeing and enjoying downtown Ottawa. Breakfasts included are great. - hot and cold, great variety, eat as much as you want. Free laundry facility. Free wifi. Three distinguishing touches not the the norm in most Canadian hotels where we've stayed. A real treat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sm_ey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I was wow'ed by the sheer greatness of the room. It is incredibly well equipped; a massive TV, a sofa set, a dinner set, a fridge, a stove(!), kitchen counter and even a functional PC. I feel so stupid for lugging my heavy yet small laptop around. The reception guy is funny, charming and courteous. I was having a small issue with my credit card but he was really patient and gave me helpful suggestions. Wait a minute, have I mentioned free breakfast? For a short budget stay at a great location, this hotel is unsurpassed!

Room Tip: The inn faces a resident building so travellers who wants more privacy should request for rooms at h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Iris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The service at the hotel was excellent. They were able to accommodate three adults and one 2 year old in one of their studio rooms. Breakfast was good. Location is close to a ton of restaurants and even an organic grocery store. My meetings were at the Ottawa University and it was only a 5 min walk to the campus. The room was pretty spacious and included a desktop computer with a printer, which was great for us. Also there was a full kitchen with a stove, fridge, ton of cupboard space, and enough room to spare for a little breakfast table. The decorations and furniture were comfortable but definitely could have used an upgrade. That was the only downside. Plus no pool. But for the price, I am not complaining at all. Overall, great place and great price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The service was excellent. The hotel needs a bit of an upgrade. But you can't go wrong for the price. The hotel is a few minutes away from the fun stuff to visit with kids. Free breakfast was copious and the folks that served it were very nice. The giant TVs blaring away in the room were a bit unfortunate, but I guess this is a business hotel first and foremost.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mortimer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
0.9 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
ByWard Blue Inn
ByWard Blue Inn
#12 of 68 in Ottawa
803 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#9 of 68 in Ottawa
411 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Business Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Business Inn & Suites

Address: 180 Maclaren St | at Elgin, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 0L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: £60 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Business Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread your paperwork over large desk tables, relax on the comfortable living room sofas and wake up refreshed in a king size bed. If your family is traveling on business with you, our spacious suites feature fully equipped kitchens and household amenities to satisfy their needs as well. Located at the central hot-spot of Ottawa. Locals and visitors enjoy dinner, dancing and live music. 24 hour diners, Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal and the ByWard Market are within walking distance, making The Business Inn the perfect location when staying in Ottawa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Business Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Business Hotel Ottawa
Business Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing