We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Business Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 69 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

The romms are vary spacious and quiet. They include a computer for free use as well as a full screen TV. Includes a mini kitchen with a full size fridge/freezer.Staff are extremely helpful and the rates include breakfast with bacon and egg muffins and a bag of goodies to go as well.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MozzaAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

932 - 938 of 1,657 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

I have stayed here with Mom and dad when visiting Ottawa all the time the last time I stayed here was in late march to early May. The first suite was ok then on to Toronto the second time I was back we were told our suite will be on the 11 floor. I was amazed. I had were the pullout bed was a enormous huge flat screen TV. A kitchen almost in every suite. A breckfast area with coffe and tea and the works. improved form the very first time in the past I was there. The suite was clean and we also had free wi fi. It worked well. I find this hotel great in Ottawa as we have been returning guests. The lobby area is tiny though. There is no pool but I think a exersize room but I never used it. it is very close to downtown. You can even walk outside there on a nice day. Great hotel staff clean rooms. It fells home away from home and you can eat dinner in your hotel suites however we had dinner most times with my old friends and my grandpa in Ottawa. It is a great hotel. Who ever put me in that 11 floor suite cheers to it. great for a Sens fan with a great view. I love a place that included free breckfast. I will still be a returning guest hopefully soon when I come back to Ottawa. Go sens and Fury soccer And the new Ottawa Redblacks football team.

Room Tip: Try the rooms with a balconey on the higher floors for fresh air outside. Brekfast is free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

After entering our room, we were amazed. There's a huge flat screen t.v., a dining table fit for 4, a very nice bedroom (with another flat screen), a balcony with a great view. There's also a kitchen equipped with a refrigirator and freezer (freezer on the top and fridge on the botton) microwave, stove, smaller table for 2, a sink and cabinets. We paid $130 CAD/ night and we had free breakfast and free wifi. We are overall very happy and would gladly come to stay here again and would recommend it to everyone. (you might also want to know that theres no swimming pool, but there is a gym)

Room Tip: We were travelling with our friends. They had a room on the third floor and we had a room on the eig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gabby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed at the hotel (Mini Suite) for two nights earlier this month based on other reviews I had seen and it did not disappoint. It was reasonably priced especially for its location and every room has its own little kitchen unit. Each room also comes with its own computer and printer that is free to use (I printed off maps of the area so I knew where I was walking). The front desk employees were very nice and friendly, and they will even loan you an umbrella. Checking in and out only takes a couple of minutes.

I think the best part was the free breakfast. They would make you breakfast sandwiches and there was a variety of food including waffles, pancakes, toast, croissants, fruit, cheese, yoghurt, tea/coffee, and juices.

There is also free wifi and free laundry facilities available.

Amazing hotel and close to a lot of restaurants and some attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Good things unfolded one at a time at the Business Inn: a great neighbourhood near Parliament and a great rate, a nice lobby, a huge and very comfortable room with wide windows and all the ameneties (e.g., kitchen, steamer, USB outlets). The Tom Thompson painting was a nice finishing touch. I was enjoying soaking all this in on the comfortable bed, turned on the bedside lamp, and experienced 120 volts running across my chest through to my other hand, which was holding a laptop. I was fine, but have occasional heart issues and feel the lamp could have caused a real emergency. At the end of my stay the staff wrote down my room number and promised to look into it. However, I feel the onus was on them to make the room safe in the first place rather than through trial and error, and that is rather hard for me to forgive such a serious accident.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

When we checked in we were upgraded to a bigger room (apartment). The apartment we stayed in was bigger than our apartment back home. The hotel was a bit worn down, had a very good gym which we used and ok breakfast. The hotel is perfectly located close to most of the attractions. We will definitely stay here again if we come back

Make sure that you visit the Sir John A pub across the street, they had a very good selection of beer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIF1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here for three nights in July. Location terrific for walking, sight seeing and enjoying downtown Ottawa. Breakfasts included are great. - hot and cold, great variety, eat as much as you want. Free laundry facility. Free wifi. Three distinguishing touches not the the norm in most Canadian hotels where we've stayed. A real treat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sm_ey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
0.9 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#11 of 69 in Ottawa
456 reviews
0.9 mi away
ByWard Blue Inn
ByWard Blue Inn
#12 of 69 in Ottawa
821 reviews
3 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Business Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Business Inn & Suites

Address: 180 Maclaren St | at Elgin, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 0L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: £68 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Business Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread your paperwork over large desk tables, relax on the comfortable living room sofas and wake up refreshed in a king size bed. If your family is traveling on business with you, our spacious suites feature fully equipped kitchens and household amenities to satisfy their needs as well. Located at the central hot-spot of Ottawa. Locals and visitors enjoy dinner, dancing and live music. 24 hour diners, Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal and the ByWard Market are within walking distance, making The Business Inn the perfect location when staying in Ottawa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Business Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Business Hotel Ottawa
Business Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing