We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Value a Short Walk from the Heart of Ottawa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Business Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Outstanding Value a Short Walk from the Heart of Ottawa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

We were absolutely impressed with the quality of this hotel, as well as the professionalism of the staff and it's' proximity to most of Ottawa's popular attractions. Our room was fantastic, an executive suite with all the amenities, a computer and printer, full kitchen, enough room to have wine and hors d'oeuvres with a couple with whom we were visiting this beautiful city. All of this for a surprisingly good price.
Our bed was one of the most comfortable upon which we have ever slept, there was an electronic air purifier and after a great night's sleep we enjoyed an abundant and excellent breakfast with a wide variety of fresh muffins, croissants, fruits and much more (also included in the price). A 15 minute walk down Elgin St. brought us to the Parliament and just beyond to Byward Market. We will definitely return to this hotel during our next visit to Ottawa it helped to make our first visit a true pleasure.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite that is not facing out on the main streets (Elgin or MacLaren)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larrydebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    769
    445
    85
    37
    12
See reviews for
336
508
105
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

This place has all the comforts of home, it's a little one bedroom apartment. Very dated but very nice and clean with the most amazing breakfast! The staff are very friendly at this hotel and greet you every time you pass the front desk. Love the fact they have free laundry facilities as we had been travelling for a week before reaching this hotel was nice to do laundry and not look for a laundromat. The breakfast was amazing, hot foods, cereal, muffins anything you could think of was there actually better than home and the take away bags were a nice bonus.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shygal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed there with a bunch of friends for Capital Pride, my first reason was the location. Instead, I was happily surprised to see a computer with printer and papers provided in my studio room. Not just the kitchenette is well equipped with Nespresso machine, but I also found a Dyson fan and steam dryer for your clothes. What a nice surprise. I had a tiny problem with the toilet faucet and water keep running out of my bath tub, no big deal. I don't expect so much for the breakfast but I appreciate a lot the tiny lunch bags they keep in the fridge.

Room Tip: Breakfast is at 3rd floor. If you don't want to wait for the two lifts, rooms at 2nd floor would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yosefindra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised from two things:
1. The size of the room - very spacious.
2. The amount of amenities in the room - a full kitchen, computer, printer, large variety of channels on the TV. Plus, the bed was really comfortable.
The staff is very friendly and very informative, gave us good tips on restaurants in the city.
Breakfast was basic, but ok.
Room maintenance level can be improved a little bit (our shower head broke, but it was taken care off within 5 minutes, once we told the reception).
Overall, a good hotel to stay in while short vacation in Ottawa.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MeravHelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Centrally located, walking distance to the Parliament and Byward Market. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. We took a room for 3 people, and it was huge. There was a separate bedroom, and two sofas with pull out beds, a dining table for six, huge TVs in the living room and bedroom and a full kitchen with complete cooking pans, utensils, dishes and cutleries, even a supply of paper towels and dish towels. There is a desktop PC and printer with paper. Wifi was fast. Breakfast buffet spread was great - a hot station where you can order an egg, cheese & bacon bun, a variety of drinks, breads and muffins, jams and spreads, juice packs, and you can even pick up a breakfast bag on the go (bottled water, juice, an apple, cookie, granola bar). This hotel is very thoughtful and they don't scrimp.

Room Tip: rooms on the higher floors are more quiet (from traffic noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Stayed 4 nights over 2014 labour day weekend. Rooms are well priced (not too high for families). Rooms are large. Excellent breakfast is included (much better than the Holiday Inn and Best Western freebies. Location is great (20 minute leisurely walk from many attractions such as Rideau Centre, Parliament Hill, Sparks Street, Byward Market, and Canadian Museum of Nature, National Arts Centre, Convention Centre) Room included fridge, stove, microwave, desktop computer, higher end cable tv, and free wi-fi. Closer to U of Ottawa than Carleton. Only slight negative is that parking is limited, so make sure they know you need parking before you book.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Great prices and excellent customer service. We had a plugged bath tub and a light that wouldn't turn on but they fixed it as soon as they were aware. They have lots of staff. The breakfast what more than I expected and thye even have take away lunch bags with fresh fruit etc.

The kitchen was well stocked for a hotel. The computer worked fast and the printer was functional and ready to use.

The bed was comfy and the location was ideal!

I will for sure use this hotel again if needed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
ByWard Blue Inn
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Business Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Business Inn & Suites

Property: The Business Inn & Suites
Address: 180 Maclaren St | at Elgin, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 0L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Business Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread your paperwork over large desk tables, relax on the comfortable living room sofas and wake up refreshed in a king size bed. If your family is traveling on business with you, our spacious suites feature fully equipped kitchens and household amenities to satisfy their needs as well. Located at the central hot-spot of Ottawa. Locals and visitors enjoy dinner, dancing and live music. 24 hour diners, Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal and the ByWard Market are within walking distance, making The Business Inn the perfect location when staying in Ottawa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Business Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Business Hotel Ottawa
Business Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing