We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brookstreet Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Lord Elgin(Ottawa)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
ByWard Blue Inn(Ottawa)(Great Value!)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Business Inn & Suites(Ottawa)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,201)
Filter reviews
1,201 results
Traveller rating
596
373
133
51
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
596
373
133
51
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjazz loungelive jazzoutdoor poolbusiness parkau naturelbalcony roomgames roomkanata areacanadian tire centrejunior suitehockey gamesens gamebeautiful hotelunderground parkingdowntown ottawacomfortable bedsluxury hotel
Filter
Updating list...
891 - 896 of 1,201 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2013

This hotel is absolutely beautiful. While the location sucks if you want to go anywhere for a drink, it overlooks a beautiful golf course. Everything is very modern, the rooms are spacious and the balconies are a very very nice feature!

The amenities are great! The outdoor pool was fabulous! The indoor pool was a little bit grimy, but I think that is the case for all indoor pool with humid heat!

We ate at the restaurant on site, and the food was delicious. I would have enjoyed more options, but I was very pleased with the food!

We will be staying here again!

Room Tip: Get a room high up facing the gold course!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leticia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookstreet, Public Relations Manager at Brookstreet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Dear Leticia B

Thank you for feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. You will be pleased to hear that since your stay we have refurbished our indoor pool. We hope that we can welcome you back to Brookstreet again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed at the Brookstreet Hotel with our 3 year old granddaughter for a little holiday getaway. We had read other reviews so we thought we knew what to expect, here are our thoughts.

Location: It is where it is. If you don't want to stay in this area, choose another hotel. We were not unhappy with the location at all.

Check in: The front desk staff were friendly but considering this was our first time at the hotel, they didn't provide us with very much information on what the hotel had to offer or how to find things.

Room: The room was spacious and had a great view. We did have some challenges with getting the room to a comfortable temperature. The room had a control but it seemed no matter what temperature we set it at, it never really warmed up. No, we didn't call down to the front desk to have it looked at because we were only there for one night. The room had a keyed mini bar which we didn't use. When you first come into the room they had a bucket sitting on a coffee table filled with "treats." If you have children, be sure to pick up the bucket and put it away before they start opening things because they are all for purchase. We missed not having a fridge and microwave.

Bed: The bed is just like all the other reviews say ... DIVINE. Not sure what kind of bed it is but we would love to have one.

Parking: This was a HUGE disappointment for us. We have an accessible parking pass due to a disability so when we arrived at the hotel, we parked in the appropriate parking spot. When we checked in, the clerk told us that we HAD to park in the garage overnight, it was NOT optional. My husband had to go back out to the car, drive into the garage and then come back up into the hotel. The garage parking was covered and heated so very nice but in the morning when we checked out, we had to PAY for it!!!!! They have a huge outdoor parking lot that was free and we would have been more than happy to use it but we were told that we had no option, we had to use the garage. We believe that if it's a must that you have to park in the garage, there should be no charge.

Swimming Pool: The swimming pool was terrific, warm, very welcoming. They have a separate pool for children which has a gradual decline and a teeter totter and slide. We made great use of this. They also have a hot tub. Our only complaint about the pool is that it is quite a distance from the rooms and not easily marked. They also have an outdoor pool for the summer.

The day we were checking out we happened to notice out the window a skating rink? We think it was a skating rink. Wish we had known because we would have enjoyed using it.

Restaurant: The reviews we read all mentioned the great restaurant, thing is, when we got there, the restaurant appeared to be closed because the menu board listed breakfast only.. This was disappointing. They do have a cafe at the hotel which we used but it was disappointing not to be able to try the restaurant.

Value for Dollar: We travel to Ottawa on a very regular basis (at least monthly) and we usually stay at the Country Inn and Suites in Kanata. Typically we get a jacuzzi room which has a king size very comfortable bed, fridge, microwave and jacuzzi. Believe it or not, this type of room at Country Inn and Suites is less expensive than the standard room at Brookstreet. On top of that, parking at the Country Inn and Suites is free and breakfast is included. We had been wanting to try Brookstreet for a long time as we had read so many good things about it and we thought it might become our hotel of choice in Kanata but ..... value for dollar belongs to Country Inn and Suites.

Brookstreet would likely say they have a higher standard than Country Inn and Suites .... I have to say that we didn't experience that. Again, we are glad we tried Brookstreet but value for dollar belongs to Country Inn and Suites.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justjo008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookstreet, Public Relations Manager at Brookstreet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear Chef_Eh_and_Jo, Thank you for such a detailed review and for choosing Brookstreet for your family getaway. We do indeed have a pond that we use as a skating rink in the winter but it is only open when weather permits. We recommend taking a look at our packages for your next getaway as they offer maximum value, especially when you want to take advantage of all the hotel has to offer! We apologize for the confusion regarding parking and for any inconveniences it may have caused. We will be sure to pass on your comments to management for review. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back to Brookstreet soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I agree with others who complained about nickel and dime mentality at this hotel. No need for that add a couple of bucks to the room rate if its that important to you, and don't inflict the few bucks here and there every time a guest turns their head.
We wanted a get away for the New Year. There was no atmosphere at the hotel so we left and went elsewhere. The Options Restaurant was not great at all. I was expecting something higher class with the chef's review on youtube. We were very disappointed. The staff were lifeless... it was a little bizarre. Another reviewer mentioned the shampoo/conditioner etc bottles, yes it is quite the effort to get the contents out especially with the added challenge of soap and water about. Also, there is no indicator in the elevator that the room key is required, thanks to the doorman who noticed we were struggling in the elevator and got us on our way to our room.
The hotel is spotless, I will give them that, The decor is very nice, cheaply done, but nice for sure.
I was expecting more of an atmosphere. We watched the youtube posts by the hotel and it portrayed it as a fun, happy place to be. Any of the staff (outside of the restaurant) were really nice, very friendly and approachable. Will we go back?.... maybe.

Room Tip: ask for the side that overlooks the golf course as it is in the silicone valley of Ontario
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HilnMil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookstreet, Public Relations Manager at Brookstreet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear HilnMil , Thank you for your detailed review. We’re pleased to hear you were impressed with the overall hotel cleanliness and our partners. We offer a variety of packages that offer maximum value and would recommend the “B Indulged” package. It includes a one night stay, $50 food and beverage credit, internet and parking for $159 plus tax. For a fine dining experience our four-diamond Perspectives Restaurant is a good alternative to Options Jazz Lounge which is a more casual setting. We hope this may be helpful when planning your next getaway and hope to welcome you back to Brookstreet soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed there a couple of weeks ago. Booked it on hotwire, all the usual downtown Ottawa hotels were booked so I was forced to drive to Kanata.
Not a big fan of the location but the hotel itself was great.
Very comfortable room with all the amenities you would expect. The price was reasonable as it was booked on hotwire.
All in all this is a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterfromMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookstreet, Public Relations Manager at Brookstreet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Dear Peter
Thank you for your comments, we are glad that you enjoy your stay with us and we hope we can welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Overall my girlfriend and I enjoyed our stay, which was supposed to be a 1 night romantic getaway. We made use of the indoor saltwater pool and the hot tub. However we were disappointed that the Perspectives restaurant was closed on Sunday and the menu in Options was very limited. Staff/room service was pleasant and accommodating. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone who enjoys great food, romantic activities, and luxury accommodations.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Konstantin1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookstreet, Public Relations Manager at Brookstreet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2012

Dear Konstantin1808, thank you for your review and recommendation. We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews