We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Clean & Spacious”
Review of Brookstreet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brookstreet Hotel
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 June 2014

There is not a lot I can say about this hotel because we only stayed one night (28/Jun/2014). However, first impressions were that it was clean and spacious and family-friendly.

Our room was equally spacious.

The free Wi-Fi in the room (9th floor) worked like a charm.

The service at their restaurant (Options) was efficient and fast.

Questions: Why do I need to ask for salt and pepper when ordering my meals? Secondly, why is toast a special order for brunch? Salt and pepper should be a given and on the table. A toasting machine should also be available for brunch.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barfly60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookstreet, Public Relations Manager at Brookstreet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Barfly60, Thank you for your review. We’re glad we were able to leave you with a good first impression! We passed on your questions to management and were told they are fair observations and will be carefully reviewed. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back to Brookstreet!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,121)
There are newer reviews for Brookstreet Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here two nights for the weekend. She wanted to be close to her best friend in Nepean, and I wanted to play the golf course on their property (The Marshes).
Breakfast buffet was very average, not what you would expect at such a nice property. Also, the service was extremely slow early morning. Our room was quite nice, but the bathroom lighting was too dark, and the sink has that "environmental flow" which is not efficient when your shaving, or washing your face. If you want to install that in your personal home, that's your business, but please don't impose it upon me when I'm a paying customer staying at your hotel.
When I asked the front desk employee how to get to the Marshes by foot, she did not offer me a lift. I walked with my heavy golf bag in the heat & humidity, and upon arriving at the pro shop, Ryan had noticed I was perspiring. He couldn't believe they did not offer me a lift to the golf course. Being customer service oriented, he offered me a 50% discount for my green fee, and a 25% discount on my purchase in their pro shop ; now that's exceptional customer service !
Another negative was the fee they charge for parking ; this is not downtown Ottawa. The hotel is in the middle of an industrial park surrounded by office buildings. They should offer free parking for their guests. The live jazz band was a nice touch while my wife and I enjoyed some cocktails.
This property has potential. Upper management needs to properly train their employees and make sure they understand they are in the hospitality business.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank canuck64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookstreet, Public Relations Manager at Brookstreet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear canuck64, Thank you for your review and for choosing Brookstreet. We’re happy to hear you were able to enjoy some live jazz and were impressed by the property. On the contrary, we are sorry to hear of your experience regarding a lack of transportation to The Marshes. We are in fact currently resolving this issue by introducing a hotel shuttle service. It is expected to be in place very shortly and will be available to all our guests. Additionally, although parking was not included in your rate we offer a selection of packages that include parking, plus some with golf and/or food and beverage inclusions that may be beneficial should you book with us again. We appreciate your feedback and hope we are able to welcome you back to Brookstreet soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed for a week on a business travel.
Positives:
(1) One of the best beds and it can really take off your jetlag. This is a stand-out experience
(2) Good room features and the bathroom is neat; Cleaning is perfect
(3) Very good restaurant with a good range of options.for lunch and dinner
(4) Staff was courteous and helpful
(5) Taxi stand in the hotel premises is very helpful
(6) Walking distance to Burger King, subway and a few pubs.Also had the option of Indian restaurant close-by
(7) Fitness center facilities and the golf course view is good
(8) In-house ATMs and a small eatery store options are good

Negatives:
(1) Breakfast has only limited options, but very expensive; Better to take food from the in-house eatery store
(2) Lift is secured alright with the access card system. But it doesn't work properly
(3) No shuttle service to short distance places. For such a big hotel, I think it should be a must

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbalasub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookstreet, Public Relations Manager at Brookstreet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear kbalasub, Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed Brookstreet’s many features including our comfortable beds, hotel cleanliness, restaurant options, and helpful staff. We’re sorry to hear the elevator’s access card system was acting up during your stay and we apologize if there were any inconveniences. You will be pleased to hear that we are in the process of introducing a shuttle service to better serve our guests! We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back to Brookstreet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

DON'T even bother an upgrade to an upper floor for the Golf Course View unless you have never seen one in your life. Nothing mesmerizing like other reviews suggest. Also, the upper floor, the weaker is WiFi. The WiFi works better in the lobby. I was in the 11th floor & wasn't able to watch even YouTube, so tech savvy people like myself who would need 24/7 internet should stay in lower level floors.

Breakfast, some crappy items & fruits will cost $28 + tax if you are interested. Better option, there is a Burger King within 5 minutes driving distance so go there & save your self money. There is a Starbucks in the hotel lobby which opens @ 6:46 AM, so if you are in a rush to go to work, that's another option. For me, location was ideal since it was within walking distance to my office. Otherwise, it's in the middle of no where. You must have own transportation to move around. being the #1 hotel in Kanata, I would expect they offer some sort of shuttle for guests to move around the town.

The Good:

* Cleanliness. I must admit, the hotel looks beautiful inside out & is well kept.

* Housekeeping does a good job in terms of filling up toiletries & clean up.

* Hot-water. Runs 24 hours & I was able to get take shower whenever needed.

The Bad:

Everything apart from cleanliness .

Question To Management:

Why on earth there are adult channels on tv in a children friendly hotel? I understand guests must pay to watch them but it's better not keep them blocked. And on top of that, a pack of condom ($6) and Viagra in the room?

All in all, if you have no other option then stay here else find some other place with better price & amenities.

Room tips:
DON'T even bother an upgrade to an upper floor for the Golf Course View unless you have never seen one in your life. Nothing mesmerizing like other reviews suggest. Also, the upper floor, the weaker is WiFi.

Room Tip: DON'T even bother an upgrade to an upper floor for the Golf Course View unless you have never se...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NewYorker2260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookstreet, Public Relations Manager at Brookstreet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear NewYorker2260, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Brookstreet. We are delighted to hear that you describe our property as beautiful and well kept; however, a little disappointed that we were not able to meet all your expectations. In regards to your point about transportation—we are in the process of launching a shuttle service within the coming weeks. As for the Viagra, this certainly is not offered in our teaser baskets. Again, thank you for staying at Brookstreet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here for a weekend wedding and was very impressed by the attention given by staff as well as the room.
Upon checkin, the front desk clerk did a magnificent job with chit chat followed by an in-depth description of all hotel amenities and restaurants. Getting to my room, it was spacious, comfortable, and had a great view of the golf course. A nice work area, a very comfortable bed and shower. There isn't much in the immediate surrounding area except for office buildings, so the complimentary bicycles came in handy.
Ate a nice steak in the jazz bar as I watched the World Cup on a giant screen and, once again, the bartender did an amazing job making small talk without coming off intrusive. I know it seems like a small thing, but it really stood out.
All the staff made the weekend seem so relaxing and comfortable. Can't recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a golf course view as it gives you a fantastic view of the city.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookstreet, Public Relations Manager at Brookstreet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Scottph, thank you for your review. We always want our guests to feel at home so we’re happy to hear our partners were welcoming and made you feel comfortable during your stay. We’re also glad you enjoyed the layout of your guest room, including the view. We hope we’re able to welcome you back to Brookstreet soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I've stayed at the Brookstreet about 30 night so far and every stay has been a great one.

The hotel is always neat and clean and the staff is pretty good.

The rooms are modern and comfortable.

Food from the bar is great - love those burgers and fries!

The one downside to the hotel is the crazy amount of concrete dust in the underground parking. It always leaves your vehicle covered in and out with white dust. Walking from car to elevator when a car goes by leaves you in a white cloud. Has been like that for years. A quick wash and coat of concrete sealer and it would be perfect.

Not many places you can get Terry's beer on Tap lol!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookstreet, Public Relations Manager at Brookstreet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear SWO, thank you for your review and continued loyalty to Brookstreet. We’re happy to hear that every stay is consistent and always to your satisfaction. We will pass on your comments regarding underground parking garage dust to management for review. We hope to welcome you back soon and we’ll make sure our Terry’s Lager keg is full!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was our first stay and we were impressed.The view towards the Ottawa River and seeing the Gatineau hills was incredible.We had the king bed and a corner room which was well appointed.The only complaint was registering on arrival,there was a lineup with only one person processing .However we enjoyed the Hotel and will and will stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Corner suites
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willem W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookstreet, Public Relations Manager at Brookstreet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Willem W, we’re glad you were able to enjoy one of our guest rooms overlooking the Gatineau Hills – it really does make for a beautiful view! We also appreciate your patience during check-in as it appears we were short staffed at the time. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Brookstreet!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#7 of 68 in Ottawa
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#8 of 68 in Ottawa
2,136 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 68 in Ottawa
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookstreet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookstreet Hotel

Address: 525 Legget Dr, Ottawa, Ontario K2K 2W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Kanata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#11 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#25 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: £127 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brookstreet Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Brookstreet, Ottawa's leading four-diamond hotel, golf, spa, wedding and dining destination. Guests are invited to experience Canadian cuisine in Perspectives Restaurant, live jazz and sushi in Options Jazz Lounge, enjoy a Starbucks coffee at B Cafe, play a round on The Marshes championship golf course, executive short course or putting course, burn some energy in Flex Fitness Studio or our ZONE 525 games room or simply relax with a rejuvenating treatment at Au Naturel Spa, or in our dry saunas, whirlpools and saltwater pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Brookstreet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookstreet Hotel Ottawa
Brook Street Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing