We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just popping in...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Australis Guest House
Ranked #4 of 54 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Just popping in...”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

That's what it felt like...like we were dropping in to visit a friend on our way home to Australia via Ottawa :) We were pleasantly surprised by Ottawa with a bit of everything to see in a very walkable city. Some old sights, some shopping & some lovely walks all in a day.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stevanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    36
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
81
63
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

From the moment we first contacted Australis they were helpful. Follow up email reminders, clear directions on getting there and what to do when we arrived made it easy for beginner travellers. The warm welcome on a crisp evening set the tone for a two day stay with an excellent breakfast, hints and tips on Ottawa from Carol and the comfort of the lounge as well as our room all combined to make an experience memorable for all the right reasons. We would be happy to stay again and happy to recommend Australis.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge,UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Perfect location with No 16 bus to and from centre around 4-5 minute walk away or you can reach main street near University Campus up the hill in around 10 minutes. Brian and Carol are big travellers themselves and are extremely friendly and welcoming. Tasty breakfast and very clean room, pub and restaurants close by too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtravenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Super friendly hosts that love to make you feel extra welcome. Breakfasts were great, the home made scones were excellent. Brian helped orient me with a map and some tips, and Carol was great to chat with for travelling in general. Good location, we walked maybe 10 minutes to the start of the Rideau Canal's skating area. Pub with great food and great beer just around the corner, and will give you a 10% discount if you mention that you are staying at this guest house

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Although the minimum stay for this B&B was 2 nights, due to inclement weather, I had to cancel one of my nights on the last minute. Brian, the host, was very understanding and accommodating of the situation and only charged me for 1 night.

Conveniently located, the Australis is walking distance to Byward Market, Rideau Center as well as University of Ottawa where you can access to various buses including route 97 that takes you to the airport in 20min.

The room was not big but clean, comfortable and cozy. My room didn't have a TV nor a lock on the door but I had access to good wifi. Breakfast was very good and filling which always help start your day.

If you're in Ottawa for a few nights and just want a convenient and decent place for a good sleep, I'd definitely recommend Australis. I will stay here again when I return!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRKMRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Raphael, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We spent 3 nights in Australis Guest House. Great experience. Hosts are very helpful. It is fun to share experiences with them during breakfast. Excellent breakfast. Good location. Nice and clean room. We shall definitely come back when we return to Ottawa.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitney, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013

whenever i am in ottawa, i choose to stay @ this guest house, the hosts are carol and brian waters, they're very hospitable, efficient and very funny, with a world of travel experience, and the stories they can tell! carol is originally from australia (with a wonderful aussie accent) and brian is from britain(with a wonderful brit accent)--he makes the best porridge--i never get porridge @ home! the rooms are clean, cozy, and a little like home, and the house is near the ottawa river, the beautiful embassies, parliament hill and for shopping, there's the rideau centre and the byward market, all within walking distance. they are so helpful, i don't drive and they somehow arrange for me to get where i'm going, and get there on time., and on my last morning,(i always hate leaving), i'm usually presented with a warm scone or tidbit to tide me over.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
199 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ByWard Blue Inn
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Australis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Australis Guest House

Property: Australis Guest House
Address: 89 Goulburn Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 8C9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Australis Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Australis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing