We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Australis Guest House
Ranked #4 of 53 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Good B&B”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed 3 nights in a lovely clean room with a balcony. Enjoyed good breakfasts. Carol was a wonderful hostess. Found the bathroom a bit small. Would have liked a TV for my husband to watch his sports. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    36
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
79
63
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed two nights on the top floor and we really liked everything, the room, the breakfast and the location. Mr. and Mrs Waters were excellent hosts.
We will recommend this Bed and breakfast to everybody that travels to Ottawa.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giada D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We booked the top floor bedroom with private bathroom for 3 nights, mainly because we liked the location and the reviews were very good. Everything seemed nice until we went to bed the first night. The bed was sagging badly and we were rolling to the centre. Each time one of us moved, the bed squeaked terribly, so we kept waking up. We did not say anything the next morning (big mistake) and hoped the 2nd night would be better...well it wasn't. At 5 AM we had not slept yet, so we got up and left, leaving a note and cash for the 2 nights. Mr. Waters emailed with apologies and asked for details about our problem with the bed.He said they were in shock, as no one ever complained about it before. I emailed back and said that he and Carol should try the bed a few nights themselves and be ready to throw the bed and frame out the window. Mr. Waters replied that they would take care of the problem immediately.
I hope he has, would not want the next guests to experience what we did! With a decent bed we would give this B&B at least 4 stars, the owners are very helpful and nice people. The area is very quiet and we liked the 20-30 min. walk to the inner city. Payments have to be made in cash, you cannot use your credit card. If the bed has been replaced, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: The room on the top floor has a private bathroom, although it is at the other end of the hallway. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heinekengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Mr. Waters is really really kind and helpful, as well as Mrs. Waters. They helped us to plan our trip and suggested the best route to those beauty spots in Ottawa.
The breakfast was excellent and delicious with various choices. Fresh fruits and orange juice were provided everyday. The homemade waffles are amazing!
Best bed & breakfast ever!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xinqi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My husband and I spent three nights in the room on the top floor, with the private bathroom. Both the bathroom and the bedroom were spotless. The bed was comfy, lots of pillows to choose from. The mini-fridge came in handy. The house is on a quiet street, which is excellent for sleeping soundly. Breakfast was served at a long table, tastefully set. We really appreciated the fresh fruit and choice of eggs. Carol and Brian went out of their way to accommodate us and make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We had some wonderful conversations with Carol, she's one of the most interesting and well-travelled people we have ever met, and is a real people-person. Although the house is not directly downtown, it's easy enough to get around, either by car or foot. We would recommend this B&B, and would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

That's what it felt like...like we were dropping in to visit a friend on our way home to Australia via Ottawa :) We were pleasantly surprised by Ottawa with a bit of everything to see in a very walkable city. Some old sights, some shopping & some lovely walks all in a day.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stevanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

From the moment we first contacted Australis they were helpful. Follow up email reminders, clear directions on getting there and what to do when we arrived made it easy for beginner travellers. The warm welcome on a crisp evening set the tone for a two day stay with an excellent breakfast, hints and tips on Ottawa from Carol and the comfort of the lounge as well as our room all combined to make an experience memorable for all the right reasons. We would be happy to stay again and happy to recommend Australis.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
ByWard Blue Inn
#14 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#27 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Australis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Australis Guest House

Property: Australis Guest House
Address: 89 Goulburn Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 8C9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Australis Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Australis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing