We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Benner's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 55 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gananoque
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My husband and I had an absolutely fantastic mini-vacation here and Benner's was one of the highlights of the weekend. The hosts are quite amicable but not intrusive;the service was just perfect. We loved the King-sized loft room with tons of room and lovely bedding. We felt truly welcome and enjoyed our entire stay there.It was very peaceful & relaxing.
The breakfast was great, just the right amount, lots of fruit and nicely presented with attention to our concerns; no sodium, no cream. Of all of our B & B visits, this is definitely one of the top ten for us and we have stayed at hundreds in our travels. Most impressive, the decor, the spaciousness, you will never find this at a hotel, and the price is amazing!
Our only wish would be to have coffee with a bit more "bam." Other than that we will definitely be back !!

Room Tip: The King-sized loft is amazing, great space and true value for the money. Note: If you are physicall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinabambinaGananoque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    34
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
64
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed in the Laurier room for a couple of nights. The room was neat and had all the basic necessities. It was not noisy and we slept well. The wifi connection was also good. John and his wife were very gracious hosts. John also helped us to get an emergency print out. The breakfast served was delicious. At the breakfast table they engaged us and the other people staying at their place in very interesting conversations.They have a small dog but it wasn't a problem at all as it was mostly kept away. The bnb is also very close to public transport.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Really enjoyed our 3 nights in the King Loft! Beautiful, modern suite, with king bed, kitchen/dining in a solarium off the bedroom, and spacious, modern, clean bathroom! Wonderful breakfasts, and VERY helpful hosts!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acejosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This b&b is beautiful, extremely clean and cosy. The owners are friendly and the breakfast was huge and delicious. We stayed in the MacDonald room which was a nice size and had a great bed and bedding. Having the private bathroom down the hall was absolutely fine. This is the type of b&b where you feel comfortable and at home.

Walking distance to many attractions including byward market made this an ideal home base to explore Ottawa.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Great breakfast and very nice room (we had the King's Loft), quite central (approx. 20 min walking distance to parliament) but quiet, very fiendly and helpful people.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stefan_972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rome
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

My boyfriend and I booked the king loft for 3 nights. Good points: the room is huge, as the bathroom. You have free wifi, a tv, and a car parking. The hosts were very kind and gentle, and the breakfast was a gourmet one, every morning different. We really loved also their little dog!! Bad points: the loft is very hot, so you need the fans and the air conditioning working all the time. The room has no lock and no keys. Of course the main door is code locked, but everyone can enter at any time in the loft. Maybe you can prefer one of the other rooms, 'cause they've got locks. Last point is the location, quite far away from downtown, by walking roughly 20-30 minutes to parliament hill.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Romangirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We were accidental tourists due to weather delays and cancellations on our way back home from a cruise. All the Benner family were most helpful and welcoming as we arrived very last minute from the airport with only our carry-ons (lost checked bags -surprise!) and no cold weather clothing. So, armed with jackets provided by Marina we proceeded to explore downtown a bit (Byward Market is awesome)and buy long pants! The location is great, a brisk walk downtown ~20 minutes, on bus route or a very reasonable cab ride. The Laurier room was very comfortable and clean with a beautiful breakfast provided, made our 2 night visit the best of an unfortunate situation!
Thank you to John, Marina, Kevin and Cassie for your kindness and warmth!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karena58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
237 reviews
ByWard Blue Inn
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Avalon Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 55 in Ottawa
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benner's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benner's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Benner's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 541 Besserer St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6C6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Benner's Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sandy Hill, just east of the Byward Market in beautiful downtown Ottawa, this elegant B&B is within walking distance of nearly all of Ottawa's cultural, tourist, and shopping attractions.Even with the bustle of downtown Ottawa so close at hand, you'll have no trouble sleeping peacefully, as this historic row-house is situated in a quiet, tree-lined residential neighbourhood. The area boasts handy access to restaurants and shops, while sitting right next to the picturesque Rideau River, spacious parks and gorgeous cycling/hiking paths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Benner's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing