We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Phenomenal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Peace Tower

Peace Tower
Ranked #6 of 255 things to do in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Phenomenal”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Seven people on an elevator, but you can stay on the Peace Tower all the time you want to. Great view of the city of Ottawa, fun and insightful facts about the Tower on various posters.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorena837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    617
    281
    49
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Impressive AND Educational”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The Peace Tower is a free tour that you can take at the Parliament Buildings. I highly recommend it for the views from the top, the educational value, and the interesting architecture you will see inside. I was a little apprehensive when a security guard told me that there would be a 45 minute wait before I got in, but it didn't take nearly that long. They do a full security check of course early on and you pass by a nice little Canadiana boutique before getting to the elevator. The souvenirs are actually made in Canada. Wow! You will also see some super examples of Gothic building style complete with stone gargoyles inside ! The host inside the elevator was very nice and informed us about the carillon bells outside as we ascended to the observation deck. Unfortunately it was raining but I still enjoyed seeing the layout of the downtown area. On a sunny day you could see as far as the Gatineau Hills to the north. Inside the observation deck there are numerous plaques detailing the history of the Peace Tower and the surrounding buildings. It was actually built after World War 1 to commemorate the sacrifices of Canadian troops and in the hopes of a more peaceful world. After the observation deck the memorial hall is a nice tribute to the brave actions of the Canadian military. Makes you appreciate what was sacrificed for this country.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tariq_Hossenbux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
189 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Here is a tip...get the 11:20 -11:30 tour of Parliament. Line up for the Peace Tower's 10:30ish (as soon as changing of the guards is over) opening. That puts you in the security line right behind the first tour group and gives you more than enough time to spend time in the Peace Tower. Then, meet up with your tour group in the "tv area"; no need to go back outside and meet them at the flagpole just to go through security again. Seriously beats the end of tour crowds heading to the tower, we also had time to see the Memorial Hall and peruse the gift shop prior to our tour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank urbanagrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Offer a great view of Ottawa”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I think the Peace Tower is a must see. You get a great view of Ottawa. There could be slight wait time to go up the tower. Ours took about 15 mins before we could actually go up. The single elevator can only accommodate about 6-7 persons at a time. I wouldn't miss this attraction.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank banyuhays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great view of the city”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Definitely worth the trip. You get an amazing view of the city and learn about the history of Canada.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank christy111032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peace Tower also viewed

 

Been to Peace Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing