We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“cosy comfortable in a good location”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to McLeod House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to McLeod House
33 steps leads ... ... To your cosy home away from home.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Welcome to McLeod House
33 steps leads ...
... To your cosy home away from home.
Living room, kitchen and dining room are ready for you ...
...  And three guests
Relax in the turret with some TV ...
... Or a book ...
... Or watch the world drift by from your bird's-eye view.
Cook a meal or warm up some takeout in your fully equipped kitchen.
Make coffee, tea or toast anytime.
Rest your body on our latex pillowtop spring mattresses ...
... with 750 thread-count Egyptian cotton sheets.
Sunny and bright  bedrooms ...
... With alarm clocks, hairdryer and iron.
Enjoy luxurious cotton towels in the bathroom.
Have your own private balcony to sit outdoors.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ottawa, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bobcaves
Brisbane Region, Australia
1 review
“cosy comfortable in a good location”
Reviewed 9 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My wife and I stayed here in January and despite the cold outside conditions Jackie the owner had the heating set at a very comfortable setting upon arrival and therefor set the tone for a great stay.other hosts should take note of this
Jackie has been thoughtful in the information book that she provides for all the local information that you need for your stay and most are within walking distance
The beds are very comfortable for a good nights sleep and the neighborhood is very quiet
Yes there are some stairs to climb but not many more than other places we stayed on our trip.other reviewers made comment about the uneven floors but you are staying in a 100 year old building and this just adds to the character of the property
Highly recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Ottawa

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2017
It was a pleasure hosting you and glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kkathryne
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
2 reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 5 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We travelled to Ottawa for the Canadian National Figure Skating Championships. Jacqueline's apartment was the perfect spot to rest. Located centrally, it was easy to get to everything - from TD place where the event occurred, to the restaurants and coffee shops to sustain us while we were there. Jacqueline herself was warm and informative. She was very easy to get a hold of with questions and was happy to share her knowledge of local restaurants - a fellow foodie for sure!! On our first night, she suggested Fauna's less than 2 minutes from the apartment and it was love at first bite! We stay in many apartments and houses when we travel and this is pretty much at the top of my list for favourites!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2017
Thank you for your kind words and hope you'll back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A" Capital" Stay”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at this apartment was for 4 nights and we couldn't have been happier. The apartment had everything we needed to make our stay in Ottawa both comfortable and memorable. Jackie welcomed us and gave us all the information we needed, including providing lots of written information for us to read at our leisure. The location of the apartment was great too, with shops and restaurants within a short walk away. We would happily recommend this apartment to anyone. There is a climb up some stairs to the apartment but it's truly worth it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling that it truly was a home from home and had everything we needed
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iempeach
Quebec City, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Great. location . Everything was provided to make it a comfortable stay. It was a bonus to be able to do laundry.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaizeBlue...
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Comfortable apartment within walking distance to downtown”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed for five days during August in this very comfortable and clean apartment which is located on the edge of downtown Ottawa. Walking will take you to most points of interest in downtown. However, the local bus service on nearby Bank Street is so frequent that taking public transportation is easy and inexpensive (about $2 US per ride). The apartment is in an older home in the gentrifying Centretown area, which has many good restaurants and pubs close to the apartment as well as grocery and liquor stores on Bank Street, making for just a short walk for meals and other needs. The apartment itself is on a quiet residential block. The neighborhood was very safe and we encountered no problems from unpleasant people. Of course, this could well be said of most of Ottawa, a place where everybody seems to be polite.

The apartment is on the third floor, presenting the challenge of going up two flights of stairs. However, as seniors, we did not find this difficulr. The beds are very comfortable. Air conditioning was certainly more than adequate during the rather un-Canadian hot afternoon temperatures we experienced in Ottawa during our stay. Being on the third floor, the apartment was especially pleasant in the morning as the cool breezes blew through the third floor, making for having enjoyable morning coffee in the apartment's turret with it's views of Centretown. Parking is provided in front of the building. This is a significant advantage as available parking can be difficult to find in Centretown.

Jackie was a most helpful and friendly host. She has compiled a very useful booklet listing attractions in Ottawa as well as nearby restaurants, groceries, drug stores and other retail offerings in Centretown. Jackie made excellent restaurant recommendations, as we can attest!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent beds, ample kitchen facilities, location near downtown
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger W
Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Excellent apartment with everything you need, very friendly owners, good and quiet location. Thank you.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_t...
Nantes, France
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply top !”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent 2 night at Jackie's apartment in july 2016 to visit Ottawa. Everything is perfect in that place and the owner is very nice. The location also is cool to visit the parlament a downtown's places. Book a night with no hesitation !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing