We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderul hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 53 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Never really wanting to stay in a city this B&B had a lovely welcoming feel and great facilities. We walked into and back to the main centre and loved the markets. Our room overooked the
back garden and we loved seeing the squirrels flit along the tree branches. Our host did offer us bus tickets but we love to walk. Breakfast was amazing and I have tried to replicate but not with such success. The only thing I would have liked was two chairs in our bedroom rather than just one. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank highlight24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

My fiancé and I stay for two nights in October and loved it! Breakfast was served with the elegance of an evening meal, complete with candles!

The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the linens were so lovely that we found the label and then went looking for them in the shops.

It's a short walk to all of the tourist sites and it's across the street from the walking/biking trail along the river - so we had a wonderful time enjoying that. We also loved the conversations we had over breakfast with the other guests.

We highly recommend Shirley Samantha's if you want elegant, convenient comfort and warm, knowledgeable hospitality in Ottawa.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Explorers_Rest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Gorgeous little b&b. Cynthia & Paul are wonderful hosts and have gone a long way to make this place special with a lot of those little extras. Homemade cookies and soft drinks from a fridge. A study full of books for reading. Bath robes to wear when using the bathroom. Tea served from a variety of china teapots and china cups. Even a suitcase rack to stand our cases on rather than the floor.
Our bedroom was decorated in a lovely way with character furniture as was the the whole house. Everywhere was very clean.
If there is one thing you will remember this little b&b is the breakfast. I am not going to say too much but everyday was different and truly scrumptious.
Location wise we were about 1/2 hour walk to the city centre or a short bus ride. There are some lovely walks along the river or canal, bike rides as well.

I would definitely recommend you stay here. Cynthia & Paul are a lovely couple and have a lovely b&b

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LollyPops57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Gorgeous place to stay, lot's of interesting arty craft around the house. We had a lovely big room, easy chair, bathroom with all you could want provided. There is also a study with books and info, plus fridge you can use. Also glasses and home made cookies. Full supermarket close buy. The breakfast Cynthia put's on is unreal, many courses of very yummy food. Teapot and china changes daily so always a supprise. Check out the beautiful chandalier lamp over the table, you will recognise more and more each time you look. Don't want to say what's it's made of as will spoil it for you. Cynthia is a very helpful kind and gentle lady, and very happy to help find solutions to anything. We truely loved it here and would highly recommend if you want lovely surroundings, yummy food and excellent location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank almya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We went there for 2 nights with my boyfriend in July 2012. We chose this bed and breakfast because all the reviews were excellent,,,and we know why!
Cynthia and Paul were just adorable: we've been served like kings! The room (the green one) was huge, clean, and so well decorated!
When we woke up the first morning, we could smell from our room the homemade muffins that Cynthia had prepared for our breakfast. The breakfast was so fabulous, everything was homemade and freshly prepared. The second morning, we had the chance to take our breakfast outside, on their terrace behind their house. It was just magic.

We do highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast which is besides ideally located in the city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relikette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at Shirley Samantha's for two nights in May (Maple Tree room). We had never stayed at a B&B before, but because Shirley Samantha's had great reviews in TripAdvisor, we decided to stay there rather than renting an apartment.

However great reviews the other travelers had already submitted to TripAdvisor, it is better still! Cynthia and Paul were always kind and helpful, and they took care of every single detail to make our stay pleasant and remarkable.

We arrived in Ottawa by train and it took only about 5 minutes to get to the B&B by cab. We were welcomed by our hosts, Cynthia and Paul, who showed us our room and the adjoining room where there were homemade cookies, pops in the fridge and lots of leaflets with tourism information and bus itineraries.

Breakfasts were simply the best we have ever had. Everything was homemade and served in a very charming atmosphere. When we booked (by e-mail) Cynthia asked us if we had any special dietary requirements or any preferences.

Their place was absolutely clean, neat and very well kept. It is also very well located. It takes only a 20-minutes walk to get to the Byward Market and other tourist attractions. There is also a bus stop nearby.

When we were going back to the train station, we decided to walk (about 20 minutes) and Paul gave us the directions.

Staying at Shirley Samantha's was definitely a wonderful experience. Cynthia and Paul were absolutely great! We would surely stay there again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fpereira76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here on our vacation in Ottawa. The hosts, Cynthia & Paul, are very friendly and welcoming, and have a very lovely home. We stayed in the Crab Apple Room, and while the room does not have an ensuite, there is a private bathroom just a couple of steps across the hall. They even supply bath robes. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The delicious breakfasts provided were some of the best I have ever had. The B&B is within a short walk to bus stops, which will take you into the city centre in about 10 minutes. I would most definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnetteB52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.8 mi away
Auberge The King Edward Bed and Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Rideau Inn
Rideau Inn
#10 of 53 in Ottawa
64 reviews
17 mi away
KC's Country Inn
KC's Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Vars
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport
1.4 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#9 of 68 in Ottawa
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 28 Carlotta Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1L 6S6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range: £49 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be warmly welcomed to our traditional home, furnished with a mix of antique and contemporary pieces, accented with the work of Canadian artists and artisans. We are located on a quiet street, within walking distance of downtown, close to public transportation and half a block from the Rideau River Cycling Path. Delicious breakfasts featuring local produce and home baking are served in the formal dining room or on the deck, under the maple tree. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing