We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B I've stayed so far.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 53 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 March 2009

As is written on the title of this review, it was the best B&B I've stayed so far, and I've done many travelling within Canada and throughout the world. The owners were very friendly and accomodating, that I almost felt like staying at a family's place. The room was cozy and charming, with a window facing the quiet street, and the private bathroom was very clean and well equipped. Across from the hall, there's a room with a fridge with drinks and waters, as well as home-baked cherry cookies and oatmeal cookies!!! You can also get plenty of information about the city by going through the travel guides and maps they provided in this room, or directly ask Cynthia and Paul.
The breakfast was absolutely fantastic: coffee, grapefruit juice, yougurt with rasberry, muffin, scone, peace chutney, and a very fancy plate which I forgot the name (Oops.)
The location is actually very convenient, right off the Cummingroad bridge, which is maybe 10 mins bus ride from Rideau Centre. The bus runs very frequently, and it's in a very safe neighborhood. I walked from the bus stop at around 22H45, and felt totally safe.
I've decided to return to the same B&B during the Tulip Festival, and I look forward to it. It's an excellent place, for a weekend get away from your hometown. I would highly recommend this place to anyone travelling there. Thank you Cynthia and Paul for your wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shakira2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2008

The perfect home from home. This is an absolutely fab bed and breakfast. The beds are extremely comfortable and the Maple room is gorgeous. Paul and Cynthia make you feel really welcome and helped us from the moment we booked. As mentioned in other reviews thae baking is amazing. I'm sure the smell is piped through the air conditioning. A wonderful smell to wake up to. We would definately recommend it.
K and M, Devon UK

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjs1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2008

We highly recommend this B&B
The hosts Cynthia and Paul where very gracious. "Gotta love the homemade cookies in the Study". A wonderful collection of art.. A very delicious breakfast, with elk sausage and maple syrup. Thanks for tracking down Len, after he forgot his shaving kit. Imagine finding us at Montana's. That's why we like to stay in B&Bs, they go the extra mile. Thank you Len & Sandy, Alberta

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank SandyWhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2007

Cynthia and Paul have a lovely home that they keep scrupulously clean and comfortable. Cynthia puts on lovely and interesting breakfasts, is full of good advice and bends over backwards to help with all the things that a visitor to Ottawa might need. There are all kinds of little surprises and treats in store too (even a home made cookie jar if you need a late night snack).

A real gem of a B&B at a bargain price.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AnAlbertaTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2006

Alberta Visitors - My wife & I enjoyed our stay at Shirley Samantha's as the owner Cynthia lives on site & was very helpful. Our room was very clean, comfortable & bright. & the food was delicious & varied daily. It was within walking distance of the major attractions & easy to locate. Definetly a bargin in Ottawa.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G&STouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2006

Its not just the the lovely home and room that made our visit so wonderful. It was the care our host and hostess took to make sure we were comfortable. Turkish robes in our rooms to wear, CDs next to the player for quiet sleeping music, bus tickets available. But the most amazing thing was the breakfasts to start our day. The hostess is a gourmet, and conjures up a delicious, wholesome meal which satisfies. If the weather is nice, we sat outside in her beautiful yard.

The house is a 10 minute bus ride to the downtown area. The bus stop is just down the street. Also near the house is a lovely park on the Rideau Canal, lovely for walking or picnicing. I'd higly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ash067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.8 mi away
Auberge The King Edward Bed and Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Rideau Inn
Rideau Inn
#10 of 53 in Ottawa
64 reviews
17 mi away
KC's Country Inn
KC's Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Vars
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport
1.4 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#9 of 68 in Ottawa
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 28 Carlotta Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1L 6S6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range: £50 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be warmly welcomed to our traditional home, furnished with a mix of antique and contemporary pieces, accented with the work of Canadian artists and artisans. We are located on a quiet street, within walking distance of downtown, close to public transportation and half a block from the Rideau River Cycling Path. Delicious breakfasts featuring local produce and home baking are served in the formal dining room or on the deck, under the maple tree. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing