We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will forget Ottawa's harsh winters just by taking in the view”
Review of Shaw Centre

Shaw Centre
Ranked #40 of 267 things to do in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Shaw Centre,Canada's Meeting Place. (formerly Ottawa Convention Centre)
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“You will forget Ottawa's harsh winters just by taking in the view”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I remember with great disgust the previous ottawa congress center. An awful brutalist concrete box, the place looked like a bomb shelter from the outside and felt like a giant mousetrap from the inside. I did not return to Ottawa until after the new center was completed and had my fist event a couple of weeks ago. The new place is magnificently designed with beautiful vistas thanks to the innovative use of glass as part of the structure. I went for my university reunion celebration and the setting provides great spaces to celebrate. Looking through its glass panes, I could almost feel transported to Parliament Hill and the river beyond. You'll feel as if you're floating along the canal below. I don't think there's much to do at the center if you're not attending a specific event. I think it'd be great if they hosted temporary exhibits or some other activities maybe even some performance art. Overall, a great place with a great future ahead of it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank windfootsteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    42
    7
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
183 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“The Vista of Parliament Hill will Blow you away!”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My cousin & dear friend had THE First Wedding ever hosted by the new improved Congress Centre & they did not disappoint. The biggest impression was that view towards Parliament Hill as dusk comes on -its a WOW experience - Food was top shelf -lots of bathrooms - Great for Weddings -

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Big events in this New venue are awesome!”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Most Recently attended the Wine and Food show, and had a blast! I would recommend going earlier in the aft, as evenings mean LONG lines. They really do put on some top notch events, and i like the huge windows and the view into Ottawa. Last year also went to the Ottawa Race Day event and had a good time as well.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank bmark091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moose Creek, On
Level Contributor
162 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very Impressive”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We attended the Spring Craft Show and I was very impressed with the location. The Ottawa Congress Centre is very impressive and the venue was very nice. The location is large but I found the banquet room very warm.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AMFMooseCreek_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“gorgeous”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

the new Congress Centre is a jewel, absolutely gorgeous. Well laid out, stunning views of the heart of Ottawa. Too bad parking is so poor, and spaces limited.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shaw Centre also viewed

 

Been to Shaw Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing