We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abusive, Rude Unprofessional Doormen and Management”
Review of Heart & Crown

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Heart & Crown
Ranked #12 of 74 Nightlife in Ottawa
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Abusive, Rude Unprofessional Doormen and Management”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My boyfriend and I flew to Ottawa to meet up with my sister who was also visiting to attend her daughters Graduation from Nursing school.
We had a wonderful day and decided to head to the Market area to celebrate. I had 2 beer once we arrived at the Heart and Crown and was on my third beer and
decided to go out for a cigarette outside the front door, i went across the street, while there an unmarked police car was there and i began to have a chat with the policeman
they were very friendly and after a few minutes they drove away. I finished my cigarette and proceeded to walk back in the bar when the doorman told me i could
not go back in the bar because i had too much to drink and i should not be talking to the police. I told them i have no problem with that but wanted to get my boyfriend and
family and also pay my tab (the only good experience that evening was our server JOJO she was a complete sweety)
They would not let me back in to advise my group that we were leaving, i ask to be escorted in the bar to get my people and they refused and
were abusive and rude. I have never been treated so badly by bar staff in my life. Very unprofessional and probably need to get off the steroids, they
were angry and aggressive. My sister came out finally and asked them what i did, then they proceeded to tell her that she was not going back in. She had
left her purse and jacket and also an unpaid tab and wanted to go inside to retrieve her things and pay her tab. The Doorman sad too bad and would not let her back in.
She asked for the Manager and he finally allowed her to get her things and pay her tab. Overall i would never go back there if you paid me to go. We ended up
going to a lovely bar down the street, Cornerstone Bar and Grill, i was a little upset and when we entered the Cornerstone, i spoke to the doorman and
manager there and explained what happened down the street, they welcomed us in there bar and were courteous and friendly. We had a great time there wonderful
staff. Obviously if i had to much to drink they would not of let me in the Cornerstone or served me. I recommend the Cornerstone its a lovely little place with
great staff and friendly doormen.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Ashley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    8
    3
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good depending on the night...”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I went there on several occasions.

Sit down for lunch: the food was not that great, definitely not my first choice if i want pub food. They have a variety of drinks, and they are pretty good.

Late night: If you go for drinks or food on a late night (10ish), doubt you will ever get what you ordered. They are just way too busy. And the place is way to big for the amount of staff there.

BUT, it is a lot of fun (especially during summer when the patio is open) for the bar scene. They have live bands on one side and dj on the other. Super fun on a good night. I suggest going at this time.

Variety of social groups and ages. good for anyone who can handle their liquor properly obviously. I strongly suggest this place only on the late nights.Best for music/drinking scene.

day time: 2.5 / 5
late night: 4.5 / 5

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Therese M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Staff too busy....”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Not sure if this is the right address but the pub we were at had 4 Irish pubs in one. We tried a couple of them over the course of the 4 days in Ottawa. Day time staff in the large pub were awesome. Spotted a football shirt for my son the 1st day. Went back on our last night to buy it- big problem. Mgr said last shirt- took forever to find key to get it - then practically threw it at me stating I owed him 65 or 85 bucks. Went to tip him - he said no or just add it on our drink tab. What a jerk! Them he went behind the bar & was all smiles to the young girls sitting there. Not impressed. For all the time & money we spent. Wish I'd told him to stuff the shirt u know where. Am Irish gal & pub owner. I'd fire that guy or put him in the back of the house peeling spuds.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GrandPub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario Canada
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Does this place ever stop? We sat and enjoyed cocktails and snacks on the street side patio watching the action of Byward market! But heading inside we were surprised to see one bar after another different music and atmosphere in each! They have it all

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luv T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good pub food.”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Great food, The fish and chips is amazing with reasonable price!
Service is good. The problem is that it is really too noizy in the evening on weekend!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank LudoSson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heart & Crown also viewed

 

Been to Heart & Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing