We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location and simple staying”
Review of The Metcalfe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Metcalfe Hotel
Ranked #18 of 69 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I have read in the IHG site and other magazines saying this is a BoutiqueHotel. For me it can not be defined as a Boutique Hotel. It is too simple, breakfast room looks like a Starbucks. Besides being upgraded to a Suite, it is still very simple. However I do recommend to stay there.

Room Tip: Stayed in a suite on the third floor. Room is simple, has the minimum for the rated level. Do not ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcioPalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigo08, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear MarcioPalma,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo for your recent stay in Ottawa and for taking the time to share your stay experience on TripAdvisor.

I am happy to read you found our hotel to be centrally located and that you would recommend our hotel to other guests. We are a branded boutique hotel in that we have the consistency of a brand, however, we offer a unique design and product representative of our neighbourhood.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Ottawa.

Best,
Kim Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

510 - 516 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Good service, clean, comfortable. Come here often. Great location. Close to great restaurants on Elgin Street. Love the Aveda products. Good selection of pillows and includes a coffee maker. Always quick check in. Nothing more to say! Recommend it!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank JG F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigo08, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear JG F,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo for your recent trip to Ottawa and for sharing your stay experience on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate all feedback we receive from our guests, especially regular guests like yourself as we know it is based on consistency. I delighted to read your comments about the service, the cleanliness, the product and the location. I am happy that you love it all and that you would recommend our hotel to other TripAdvisor readers!

We look forward to inviting you back!

Best,
Kim Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I spent 5 nights with business at the Hotel Indigo Ottawa last week. I had a nice but smallish room overlooking the noisy main road. On the second floor the room was rather near street level & didn't get any sun all day long.
The staff were helpful especially in the Phi restaurant but yet again the visit was spoilt by a lack of upgrade. The longer you stay, the more you spend, the less likely you are to get an upgrade despite being a IHG Platinum member.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Julian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigo08, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Julian A,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo for your recent trip to Ottawa and for taking the time to share your stay experience on TripAdvisor.

Our goal is to deliver an inspired stay and I am disappointed this was not the case for you. Although you found our staff to be helpful I apologize that you did not receive an upgrade during your stay. We have a very limited number of upgraded rooms in our hotel and this unfortunately often causes a lack of upgrades available for our Platinum IHG Rewards Members. We do provide upgrades to our Platinum members upon availability, however if your preference is an upgraded room type my recommendation would be to reserve that room type to guarantee the availability.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to inviting you back to Hotel Indigo on your next visit to Ottawa.

Best,
Kim Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Location, value and convenience are the order of the day. Literally just steps from Parliament hill, the Rideau canal and the Byward market. Stayed for a couple of days in July and can't think of any reason we would stay anywhere else on a return trip to Ottawa. Staff were efficient and courteous, pool was a refreshing siesta for cooling down in the middle of the day. Was great to be able to park the car and have the freedom as a pedestrian in a city that provides so much to see on foot.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigo08, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Brad D,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo for your stay with us last year and sharing your stay experience on TripAdvisor.

Our goal is to deliver an inspired experience and I am delighted this was the case for you. I amso happy to read that you enjoyed our hotel from the staff to the value to the location. You are so right in that our city has so much to see and do and it is right in our neighbourhood, all within walking distance. Perfect for a sunny summer day!

Thank you again and we look forward to inviting you back on your next visit to Ottawa.

Best,
Kim Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Lovely hotel; small and intimate. Service was above and beyond, with the whole hotel (and another guest company) participating in what was to be a special homage within our board meeting. Like family! Hoped to try the restaurant, but am leaving early. Next time!

Room Tip: I asked for a room close to the elevator; and ended up being right beside it. And the room had a fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigo08, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Sylvia W,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo for your recent trip to Ottawa and for taking the time to share your stay experience on Tripadvisor. Our goal is to deliver inspired service and I am so happy this was the case for you.

Thank you so much for your kind words. We were all delighted and touched to be able to participate in the homage that your board planned. We often feel like our guests are part of our family and I am touched that you felt the same.

We will look forward to inviting you back on your next trip to our neighborhood!

Best,

Kim Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Fine location and good service. Very clean and comfortable. Check-in was friendly yet efficient. Beds were fantastically comfortable and despite other reviews, the room temperature was perfect.

One small concern is that noise seems to carry in this hotel. Perhaps the doors need some controlled closing mechanism to prevent them from slamming shut.

Will stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Professor04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigo08, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Professor04,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo for your recent trip to Ottawa and for taking the time to share your stay experience on Tripadvisor. Our goal is to deliver inspired service and I am delighted to hear this was the case for you.

We appreciate your positive comments from the service to the cleanliness to the location of our hotel. You will be pleased to hear we have ordered new closures for our guest room doors that we are positive will help eliminate the sound of slamming doors.

We look forward to inviting you back on your next visit to our neighborhood.

Best,

Kim Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I've never tried a Boutique hotel before, but since my usual choice was unavailable and the Indigo was next door I gave it a try. The place is immaculate, the rooms are off an inner multi-story inner space with a glass roof. the rooms are nicely fitted with a hardwood like floor, not scruffy carpet.. and the walls are mural covered.. All very nice.
Breakfast is reasonably priced in a small area that also support the bar, though It didn't try the evening fair.
Over all a very nice hotel at a reasonable rate, excellent located near Sparkes street, the war memorial and other central Ottawa attractions. I'd stay there ain.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavSen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigo08, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear DavSen,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo for your recent stay in Ottawa and for taking the time to share your stay experience on Tripadvisor.

Our goal is to deliver inspired service and I am delighted this was the case for you. As you mentioned, our flooring is certainly a hit for those guests who do not like hotel carpeting. It sounds like you were able to explore our neighbourhood. We are within walking distance of all the wonderful things downtown Ottawa has to offer.

Although I am sorry your usual hotel was not available for this stay, we are happy you gave us a try and we will look forward to inviting you back!

Best,
Kim Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#9 of 69 in Ottawa
448 reviews
ARC The Hotel
#23 of 69 in Ottawa
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#11 of 69 in Ottawa
2,218 reviews
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#26 of 69 in Ottawa
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metcalfe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metcalfe Hotel

Address: 123 Metcalfe St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5L9, Canada (Formerly Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#20 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#23 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: £98 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Metcalfe Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metcalfe Hotel is a trendy boutique hotel located in downtown Ottawa and is ideal for those traveling for business or pleasure. Discover what our vibrant neighborhood has to offer! While staying at The Metcalfe enjoy our indoor pool, 24 hour fitness centre and complimentary high speed internet. Leisure travelers who are seeking a unique hotel experience can escape to our Ottawa hotel, which is conveniently located near a variety of local attractions. The Metcalfe Hotel, located in the Ottawa City Centre, places you within walking distance of Rideau Canal, the National Arts Centre and Parliament Hill. Our hotel is just minutes from many local parks, outdoor malls and shopping centres. The Metcalfe Hotel is ideal for business travelers since we're located just minutes from companies such as Shopify, Bell Canada and NAV Canada, as well as many government offices and the Shaw Centre. Our hotel in downtown Ottawa is also convenient to the British High Commission, the Ontario Court House and the World Exchange Plaza. Guests of the hotel can enjoy our onsite restaurant, The Rox, where the food is locally sourced and the service is inspiring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Metcalfe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottawa Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing