We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel and location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Metcalfe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Metcalfe Hotel
Ranked #19 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel and location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I'm just back from a week-end in Ottawa to celebrate my birthday. We have stayed at this perfect hotel. Clean, modern, quiet, well maintained and perfectly located (you can walk to most attractions in 30 minutes or so). Very helpful and polite staff. Couldn't ask for more! You got my vote guys!

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the outside, not the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Legal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    455
    142
    37
    17
See reviews for
199
345
59
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Had a great room very clean and comfortable, good breakfast, staff very helpfull close to tourist sites and lots of restaurants, lots to see all within walking distance, tour buses stops close by, boat trips also close, great tour of the Canadaian parliament which is free also in the evening a free light show at parliament hill.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renr423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigo08, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Renr423,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo for your recent trip to Ottawa and for taking the time to share your stay experience on Tripadvisor.

Our goal is to deliver an inspired stay experience for all of our guests and I am delighted this was the case for you. I have shared your comments with our housekeeping and guest services department. We have an amazing team and I love when our guests recognize all they do.

Thank you again and we look forward to inviting you back on your next visit to Ottawa.

Best,
Kim Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We took advantage of a buy 2 nights, get one free deal. The staff were all very nice and helpful. They get a "5" rating. But the room was a little tired - some black mould in the tile grout in the bathroom which was a little bit off putting. I am a stickler for a spotless bathroom so this is the only reason I gave the hotel a lower rating. Otherwise very good and the staff were super.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimscowdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigo08, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Kimscowdogs,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo for your recent stay in Ottawa and for taking the time to share your stay experience on Tripadvisor. The feedback we receive from our guests allows us to continously improve upon our product and serivce.

I am delighted to read you rate the staff a 5 Star! We have an amazing team that I am proud to work with everyday. Please accept my sincere apologies for less than satisfactory cleanliness in your guest bathroom. This is below our standards of acceptance as well and has been followed up with by our housekeeping department.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you back again on your next visit to Ottawa.

In Hospitality,

Kim Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel is located centrally in Ottawa and within easy walking distance of all the main attractions. We requested a quiet room and were given an internal room which overlooks the atrium - was really quiet so recommend you ask for this if you are light sleepers.

The room was spacious and contained everything you needed including free wifi which was useful for looking up local places to eat etc.

The breakfast was good but my hubbie struggled as there wasn't actually any cereal as an option (he has to have a high bran diet for medical reasons), they eventually provided some special K but it didn't really hit the mark.

Front desk people were very friendly and full of advice on where to eat and what to see.

Would definitely recommend staying here if you want to be central.

Room Tip: Ask for an atrium facing room if you want a quiet room - you don't get the external view but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigo08, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo for your recent stay in Ottawa and for taking the time to share your stay experience on Tripadvisor. The feedback we receive from our guests allows us the opportunity to improve upon our product and service.

I am happy to read you would recommend our hotel as that is the best compliment for us. Our location is in the heart of all our neighbourhood has to offer and it sounds like you were able to take advantage of this and explore. I appreciate you found your room suited your needs with being quiet and you found our staff friendly. I have shared your comments regarding the breakfast menu with our F&B Manager so that can be rectified.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again at Hotel Indigo Ottawa.

In Hospitality,

Kim Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We chose the Hotel Indigo for our recent trip to Ottawa and were so pleased we did! The hotel is centrally located and is in walking distance to a ton of great tourist attractions. Upon checking in, the hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. They helpfully explained how to park the car and get back to the hotel as the parking is actually attached to another hotel. The room itself was very clean and cozy. The bathroom was a bit small, but worked well enough for the two of us. My only (very minor!) complaint would be that the door to the hotel rooms don't seem to have anything to slow them down when they shut, so each time a door closed it would slam shut instead of closing softly. But, that's a very minor complaint for an otherwise lovely stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LHoppins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigo08, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear LHoppings,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo Ottawa for your recent trip to Ottawa and for sharing your stay experience on Tripadvisor. The feedback we receive from our guests allows us to continuously improve upon our product and service.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt we deserved a 5 Rating on Tripadvisor! We are in a wonderful location to explore all our neighbourhood has to offer and I'm glad you were able to find time to do so during your visit. We have an amazing team at Hotel Indigo and we have shared your comments regarding the friendliness of our front desk staff and the cleanliness of your room. We never tire of positive feedback!

Regarding our doors, you will be pleased to know we are currently researching different door closures to eliminate the slamming.

Thank you again and we look forward to inviting you back to Hotel Indigo on your next trip to Ottawa.

Best,
Kim Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We are staying at Hotel Indigo for the second time. We are very impressed by its cleanliness, the friendliness of the staff, the amenities on site and the quiet of the building. Any question or request has been addressed promptly and the staff has been tremendous during both of our stays in making us feel welcome. We haven't tried the restaurant, as it doesn't look particularly welcoming. However, it is a short walk to whole variety if restaurants, parks, etc. We have booked a king room both times and have been very happy with our bed and room size.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carriebomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigo08, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Carriebomb,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo on your return trip to Ottawa and for sharing your stay experience on TripAdvisor.

Our goal is to deliver an inspired stay experience to all of our guests and we are delighted this was the case for you both times you have stayed with us. Our team works very hard at providing a clean and friendly home away from home for our guests and are pretty excited when a guest scores us 5 Stars!

Thank you again and we look forward to inviting you back to Hotel Indigo on your next visit to our neighbourhood.

Best,
Kim Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Good location downtown and very pleasant and accommodating staff. The room itself was clean and the mattress was very comfortable - we slept like babies. Considering we were on the second floor on a busy street, the noise was negligible. The room itself didn't show a lot of wear and tear, and the lobby is quite attractive.

The rate itself isn't good value considering the quality of the room. Since my husband is a platinum member we were told we were upgraded to a "large king executive" - I would have loved to see the standard room as I thought the king executive was small and underwhelming considering the sales job we were given at the front desk. The room itself needed maintenance. The shower stall leaked and the hooks on the back of the door were falling off so you couldn't hang up the towels without them falling to the floor. Shower pressure was terrible - very weak.

The housekeeping was spotty. The first day there was an error made by the front desk and they told housekeeping we had checked out - so they knocked on our door first thing in the morning and then didn't return that day when we had left to sight see, despite our touching base with the front desk about the mistake before we left. The next day they didn't come at all and we had to ask the front desk at about mid-morning for someone to come - they did, but it was a very poor job. For example, they didn't take any of the towels in the bathtub and did a terrible job making the bed (it looked like a child had done it). The final full day was fine. There is a lot of promotion of reusing towels and not having housekeeping - but they don't give you anywhere functional to hang the towels.

The parking is a bit of a trial. Finding it requires a map and solid nerves, if you are not used to underground parking in large cities. The elevator broke down so we ended up lugging our luggage up three flights of stairs. They charge $21 for parking which seemed really high to me - since we are already paying a lot for the room.

Make sure you check your bill. We booked online for certain rates and then our actual bill was way off. While they were very accommodating about changing it

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GwenAndGrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigo08, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear GwenandGrem,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo for your recent stay in Ottawa and for taking the time to share your stay experience on TripAdvisor. The feedback we receive from our guests allows us to continuously improve upon our product and service.

Our goal is to deliver an inspired stay experience and I am terribly disappointed this was not the case for you. Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems you encounted during your stay with us. Our room attendants take great pride in their work and I assure you this is not a typical situation that occurs. Your comments have been brought to our Executive Housekeeper for follow up with her team.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay experience further with you should you wish to contact me directly at the hotel by email at kjones@ottawadowntownhotel.com or by phone at 613.231.6555.

Thank you again for your feedback and i look forward to hearing from you.

Best,
Kim Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#16 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metcalfe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metcalfe Hotel

Property: The Metcalfe Hotel
Address: 123 Metcalfe St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5L9, Canada (Formerly Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#23 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#23 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Metcalfe Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metcalfe Hotel is a trendy boutique hotel located in downtown Ottawa and is ideal for those traveling for business or pleasure. Discover what our vibrant neighborhood has to offer! While staying at The Metcalfe enjoy our indoor pool, 24 hour fitness centre and complimentary high speed internet. Leisure travelers who are seeking a unique hotel experience can escape to our Ottawa hotel, which is conveniently located near a variety of local attractions. The Metcalfe Hotel, located in the Ottawa City Centre, places you within walking distance of Rideau Canal, the National Arts Centre and Parliament Hill. Our hotel is just minutes from many local parks, outdoor malls and shopping centres. The Metcalfe Hotel is ideal for business travelers since we're located just minutes from companies such as Shopify, Bell Canada and NAV Canada, as well as many government offices and the Shaw Centre. Our hotel in downtown Ottawa is also convenient to the British High Commission, the Ontario Court House and the World Exchange Plaza. Guests of the hotel can enjoy our onsite restaurant, The Rox, where the food is locally sourced and the service is inspiring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Metcalfe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottawa Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing