We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
66
31
13
9
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
31
13
9
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews friendly hosts great museum other guests within walking distance shared bathroom each morning fantastic location parliament hill siri hari bnb
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2017

We were there for 5 nights in early May and were directed to it by a mutual friend of the owners and us. Siri and Harrimander were great hosts. There was reliable wifi but the password and the user network needed updating on their information sheet; this is only a problem if you're accessing their wifi late at night as you would have to wake one of them up to get the proper wifi access info. On the many rainy days, we were given an umbrella. They gave us restaurant recommendations and even called a taxi for our airport transportation. They accommodated our no/minimal carbohydrate regimen; unfortunately, it was the same meal each morning so not sure if this happens at other B&Bs. Our biggest complaint was how noisy the 6-bedroom venerable home was! Every floor creak and door shutting was easily heard; indeed, we were awoken many times. The B&B was across from the Museum of Nature and was a 20-minute walk to Parliament Hill. Our daily walks ranged from 10 to 18 km which is something to consider. The only time we sought public transportation was when we went to the MacKenzie King Estates in Gatineau.

Room Tip: Look at each room and walk all the floors to check for creaks.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KentWong405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariasantafe, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Bed and Breakfast & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

The WiFi connection information is still and has always been in BOLD lettering on the top of our Restaurant List that you give you with the downtown Ottawa map when you register, so please don't wake us. (But that is better than you having no WiFi.)

I apologize for the noise Kent. We have signage encouraging guests to remove their shoes, but many don't take others into consideration.
You are a top-notch guest, and we hope you slept with good dreams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Very much enjoyed staying here! The atmosphere is very friendly and the spacious room I was in had lots of character. The Location was very convenient. I arrived and left later in the evening and the owners were very accomodating to my schedule. Would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Worldwide-Stefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariasantafe, Dog walker at Downtown Bed and Breakfast & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Stefan,
It was great to host your visit in our very changable spring weather. Sending you Worldwide good thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We stayed at the Downtown Bed & Breakfast for 4 nights and it was an absolute delight! The hosts are very welcoming and wonderful folks- and they have a cute dog, Disney :)
The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable. Most of the main attractions of the city are a maximum of 30 minutes away (by foot), so we saved up on bus fare by walking everywhere...the Museum of Nature is right across the B&B and Elgin Street is a 5 minute walk away!
The bathroom is shared with the rest of the guests on the floor, but we never encountered any bathroom schedules clashes, and the bathrooms are really clean!
Would definitely recommend the Downtown Bed & Breakfast to anyone who loves B&B's and is looking for a centrally located place.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Raveena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariasantafe, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Bed and Breakfast & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Raveenaji, Thank-you for your generous review. We do our best and it is heartwarming to have our passion for the business appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Just returned from Ottawa to Toronto stay at the Downtown Bed &Breakfast location close to Canadian Museum of Nature. I went for business to finish some documents I chose this place and I had a super time: the house was tastefully decorated It is in an old house which has been lovingly restored and furnished to create the feel of a historic mansion house, everything around you Antique which is amazing, My room was on the second floor, very nice and cozy rooms the beds were very comfy The pillows, good reading lights and luxurious, Every room is so unique and beautiful nicely decorated and clean bathrooms, towels were of very nice quality, and the bathroom even came with Shampoo and conditioner, There were complimentary breakfast in the morning, Hari will invite you to the delicious breakfast with Tea coffee toast jam and etc, with fresh juice, the atmosphere was quiet and relaxing no hassle check-in and out. Nice and cool for winter and summer. if you like meditation this is the best for you. My host, the pretty lady Siri and her Husband Hari, was very friendly! very polite people to welcome you will have everything needed on top of that Siri will take you to the wonderful spa with massage and A blissful facial with relaxation in mind, to re-energies and brighten and to restore healthy skin and will complement your ongoing skin care regime. I really enjoyed staying there I will definitely be come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Abby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariasantafe, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Bed and Breakfast & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Abby, thank-you for your very descriptive review! It is wonderful to have your insight to see what we have done. So few appreciate the thought that has gone into restoring the property. New and shiny isn't our style. Beautiful, homey, and real is who we are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

I loved the home and the owners were very gracious. I also had a great massage and facial there. Good information provided for restaurants etc. Comfortable rooms, lovely art work and antiques. Lovely!

Room Tip: Unsure. The owners would better know. My room was quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank dorothyt924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews