We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very very bad service... très mauvais service”
Review of Saint-O-Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Saint-O-Restaurant
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Gatineau, Québec
2 reviews
“very very bad service... très mauvais service”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Went on a Saturday night with husband.... there was a group in the restaurant... We were advised next visit to call in advance to check if there is a group because the service is slower then... SLOWER... took over an hour to get our soup.... We both took the filet mignon and the lady serving us mentionned that they have beautiful vegetables served with it and emphaized that they had brussel sprouts that night!!!! WELLLL our plate finally came oiout after another hour.... very small... and i mean SMALL filet mignon... and very thin... accompanied... get this..., by: ¼ tiny potatoe, ½, yes ½ a brussel sprout, a 3 inch carrot split in half and two violin head....now really....WILL NEVER RETURN TO THAT RESTAURANT. Bad service, nothing in the plate and it did not taste th at great either...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marida1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    6
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“C'est super-sympa !!”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We went with family to dine at the Saint-O on a Saturday night to celebrate a birthday. I was surprised that the place was not busy as it seems to be all the time. The service is unhurried; I would call it relaxed, although the service at times was a bit awkward and distant. To me, it is like going to a dear aunt for supper and trying to impress. This is what I call “super-sympa”.

The selection of plates is varied as is the wine list, served very elegantly and generous portions. They provide a great effort and personalize the service and plates to our desire. The flavors are sublime and well balanced. Ordering quail, you get the whole quail, ordering the char, you get large piece, ordering the elk rib, you get a real piece of rib. Just to say that the food is honest. I have been at other establishment where the quail was served rolled… which amounts more to a sausage. The food is not over processes, over prepared; it will have some bones in it. Just like dinning at a dear aunt’s.

We love the place and will return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank LikeABigPizzaPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“A quiet lunch”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We went to the Saint-O for business lunch with two clients. We had a quick lunch but ended up staying a few hours. A friendly relaxed location away from the trendy hub-hub. The food is very good, the portions filling and the staff professional.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Boring and mediocre”
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

Snobby, pretentious with lackluster food. Price is reasonable but many other better french restaurants to visit.

The atmosphere is quite bland with nothing in particular to look at. The staff was at best icily polite and disinterested.

I had lamb, but it was just so bland. (And overly fatty.) Neigbor customer complained of the same problem.

If you are looking for tasty food, nice decor, music and space to enjoy your meal, do not bother with this place. They seem to cater to retired old snobs who spends their evening debating on unbelivably unimportant issues.

If you have a gift certificate like I did, prepare to fight with the waitress for the balance.Luckily, the manager was "gracious" enough to give me anotger certificate. Perhaps, it is for this reason I didn't get a rose?

Also, that chocolate they hand out with your receipt comes from Costco. Here's a hint: Get your chef to make homemade truffles. Yes, it costs more and a hassle, but is this not a gourmet restaurant?

All in all, a poor choice for a restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tainna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germain B, Owner at Saint-O-Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for your review. It's a learning opportunity for us and our staff, and a chance to serve you better. After many customer requests, we had to extend the Valentine's Day festivities to cover the week-end.

It is our policy not to exchange gift certificates for cash. Upon payment of your meal, we provided you with a gift certificate that represented the balance of your original gift certificate. This is standard policy in most establishments.

In view of this special Valentine's day week end, all our clients were given roses to underline the occasion. Please contact us and we will be more than happy to provide you with your missing rose.

And thank you for your constructive comment pertaining our truffles. I was unaware that Costco (a wonderful establishment) had copied our home made truffle recipe included in our Valentine's 7 course special. And yes we do include small chocolates, from Costco, with the bill as a replacement for the traditional candy provided by other establishments. Customers feedback has been positively to this added touch that sweeten the palate.

The next time you are in our restaurant, please do not hesitate to pass by and look into the kitchen.

Germain Brunet & Annie Durand-Brunet
Owners of Le Saint-Ô Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great ambiance and live music”
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Dropped in on a Sunday evening with my wife and was pleasantly surprised to find an accordion player singing some of my favourite French songs of all time. Unfortunately we were seated in a rather awkward location but could still hear well enough to enjoy the music. As always the food was delicious and the service exceptional. If you need a little Paris in your life, this is the place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saint-O-Restaurant also viewed

 
Stittsville, Ottawa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing