We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service & very good seafood.”
Review of Pelican Grill

Pelican Grill
Ranked #38 of 2,767 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$39
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A casual seafood bistro with a fresh fish market attached. We are only interested in serving the freshest fish and seafood we can get!
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service & very good seafood.”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had a dinner at Pelican Grill the first time last weekend. The service was super great, they brought our water quickly after we got seated. And they also brought something to entertain our little one to play and draw when we were having dinner there. Our little one likes the apple pieces from the salad in the restaurant, one of the waiter cut some more apple slices for him without any charge. Most importantly, the seafood was excellent at this place. We ordered the daily special (fish pasta) and fish salad, they were so good that I would like to go back there for dinner everyday. Keep up the good work. We will go back there for seafood again for sure.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank lovegoodfood G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    156
    34
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We have eaten there several times and every time the food has been delicious and cooked to perfection. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about the dishes. Reservations are definitely recommended as it is always full.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank susanjpitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Would Return”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

After reading the reviews and talking to friends that have visited the Pelican Grill, I thought it was high time to see for myself. As we decided to have an early dinner, I did not expect the restaurant would be very busy around 5PM on a Wed. The waiter had a full booking but did manage to fit the two of us with the understanding that the table was reserved for 6:30PM. The table server was very good and the food was even better. We started by sharing a shrimp tempura appetizer which was done just right. Our two main dishes consisted of one fish & chips which was done in a crispy and thin batter. Very good. The second dish was salmon on a bed of mashed potatoes and a few veggies. Reasonable selection of wine and beer also available. The restaurant is rather small considering the large crowds that go there and a reservation is your best bet. We'll definitely return, a great seafood dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank db1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“First time dining, and not too impressed”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My fiance and I found a groupon for this place and decided to give it a try due to the many positive reviews it received. We dined in last night, and both of us ordered the Cedar plank salmon meal. Neither of us were pleased with our meal, as we both found the fish to be way too dry and over cooked, not to mention the mashed potato side you get with it, was probably equivalent to two or three fork fulls at most. It was like a toddler sized bit of potato. Pair that with cold carrots and all in all it wasn't a good experience. Our waiter was hardly around, so we couldn't even say a word about it, as by the time he did come back, our meal would have been ice cold for sure if we didn't at least try and eat it. We were both starving, as it also took 40+ minutes just to get our meal to begin with. We asked our server for additional bread while we waited, which we were told would be brought to us asap, but no one came back with it. We asked again, same thing.

I'm not sure if this was just an off day for the staff or what, but we were very frustrated upon leaving. For 24$ per entree, the price was a little ridiculous for what we actually ended up getting. We were both hungry upon leaving, as portion size was very very small.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ashley_howard99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim F, Owner at Pelican Grill, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
We are very sorry that we disappointed you. We will discuss your comments at our staff meeting today to prevent both our service and food issuses. Thank-you for taking the time to comment and I hope that we will have a chance to serve you again. sincerely Jim Foster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Will definitely be back”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My wife and I visited Pelican Grill for the first time on a Tuesday night. From the outside the restaurant doesn't look like much being in the corner of a strip mall, but it is actually quite pleasant inside and was pretty busy for a Tuesday night. The staff were all very friendly. The atmosphere is very laid back. However the food is fantastic. The menu is small... Maybe ten main dishes to choose from. All of the dishes on the menu were seafood/fish based. The only pasta option was one of the specials for that night. We had the calamari and tacos as appetizers. The calamari was so fresh and served so hot, it was probably the best calamari I've had in Ottawa. The fish tacos were small but very good as well. I had the scallops dish which was served with crispy pork belly, mushrooms, kale, quinoa and white beans. It was cooked to perfection and was delicious. My wife had a curry shrimp dish which had a generous portion of large fresh shrimp and a great combination of spices. The prices are very reasonable for such quality food. The nice thing about Pelican Grill is that the dishes aren't simply different types of fish served with the same sides. Each dish on the menu is its own creation. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank SemiAlert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pelican Grill also viewed

 

Been to Pelican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing