We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vietnam Palace Restaurant

Vietnam Palace Restaurant
Ranked #314 of 2,709 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Vietnamese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Viet Nam stretches over a thousand miles from south to north along the south eastern coast of Asia. Its wide climate range and great variety of edibles have made possible the development of a unique array of recipes which have been refined, over the years, into a distinctive classic cuisine. At Vietnam Palace and Palais Du Vietnam you will have a chance to discover it all.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

I eat there at least once a month and the food is always excellent! They have a great selection on the menu and the service is fast.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GuillaumeDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    21
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The best Vietnamese food in Ottawa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

We have been going to this restaurant for over ten years. We moved to Toronto and when we visit Ottawa we always make an effort to go. The spring rolls, curry chicken and calamari are amazing. The owners an servers are nice and the prices are wry reasonable.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jcroyale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
177 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Good Basic Asian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

The food here always tastes great. The value is good. Some of the soups and salad portions are generous even though I feel sometimes that I would like a little more won tons in my won ton soup. The chicken wings are a little on the smallish side.

The service is quick. This place is great in terms of value for money. You can get in and out quickly.

The menu is varied enough and the ingredients are fresh. The dessert menu is a little limited, but the green tea ice cream is great.

While in Ottawa, we use the Vietnam Palace as our go-to place before going out to see an indie movie at the Bytown.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TechLord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Food great, service slow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

We went as a group of six mid week. The restaurant was busy, but not full. They seemed to be little understaffed. We waited 20 minutes to get any attention and then another 20 for our drinks to arrive. The food was also slow and one of our dishes was missing (but quickly replaced). We ordered a variety of dishes and appetizers and they were all really very good. The atmosphere was friendly. Not expensive. I'd go back and give it another try on the basis of the food. Maybe they were just understaffed on the night we were there.

Helpful?
2 Thank plightfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Vietnamese Food in the heart of Chinatown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Vietnam Palace is a family favourite and my large extended family has been going there for years now. The owners are very friendly and the staff are attentive and kind. The food is the best I have tasted in a number of Vietnamese restaurants in several Canadian cities. The weekday lunch specials are very popular. For roughly $10 you can choose between a number of main dishes done up with a variety of seasonings. Each main dish comes with a soup and a spring roll. My personal lunch favorites are the Pork with Black Bean (comes with salad and rice) and the Chicken with hot chili peppers and ginger (comes with salad and rice) but there is plenty to choose from. The regular menu is also quite extensive and offers Buhn (delicious!) Mequong soup (lovely curried soup with thick noodles, shrimp, peanut and sprouts) which is quite filling for a "soup". The spring roll appetizers are amazing as is the "Crispy Quail".

Vietnam Palace is the place to go when you're craving Vietnamese in Ottawa!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CanTravel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vietnam Palace Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Vietnam Palace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing