We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced food. Forced tip. Not Italian at all.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vittoria Trattoria

Vittoria Trattoria
Ranked #121 of 2,710 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced food. Forced tip. Not Italian at all.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

My work team choose to lunch yesterday at this restaurant. I had a Carbonara that did not taste at all like one. I had many times that dish in Italy. I was introduced to it by a family that was for many years in the restaurant business. Other thing I didn't like was that the tip was already included in bill. The tip serve as a way to reward or not the service. Imposing it is dictatorial a self rewarding.
I'm not returning to Vittoria Trattoria voluntarily.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AFdez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    68
    23
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it and certainly want to back and try what my sister in law had.... looked amazing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

This was my first time at this location.... invited to celebrate my sister-in-law's birthday. Had great service, good food and wonderful wine. Found good value for the money. Will certainly go back and try some of the other tempting dishes. Made for great evening... !



  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ginette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine
Level Contributor
114 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Too noisy for conversation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Very noisy due to hard surfaces with no sound absorption, making conversation difficult. Additionally, hard wooden chairs arre very uncomfortable for remaining seated for any length of time. Perrhaps a strategy intended to turn over the tables. Food is only slightly better than ordinary, but not exceptional. Service was mediocre, with little attention once the food is served.

Had greater expectations based on other reviews, so would not return based on today's experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald_O-Canard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not really worth it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

The menu has not changed for years. Owners have made millions from average, over priced food. Won't recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“So good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Went to this restaurant for a group dinner, small group of 7. I had an amazing dinner!

I had a garden or house salad, pizza and creme brule for dessert. It was all so good from start to finish. The portion sizes were good, I had pizza to bring home. Everything tasted fresh & perfectly made. Out of our table of 7, everyone was happy with out meal. The service was great too, our waitress was very friendly and someone was often around topping up water or asking if we needed anything.

I'd recommend this place for sure!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sailor77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vittoria Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Vittoria Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing