We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food!”
Review of Horn Of Africa

Horn Of Africa
Ranked #801 of 2,773 Restaurants in Ottawa
Restaurant details
Owen Sound
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

My husband and I absolutely love this restaurant. We ordered the mixed platter and it was a lot of food for only $18 for the platter. The service was great and fast. It is truly a dining experience and should be a must when visiting Ottawa.

Helpful?
Thank MarcieEOwenSound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    24
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, WI
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“good food, eaten with hands, shared with friends”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We really enjoyed our meal here. I had forgotten to review this for some time now. We had a great meal here that was served community style. We ordered several dishes and they all showed up on one big platter with the famous Ethiopian "bread" underneath and on the side. Our waitress was very helpful in making suggestions for some of our crew that had not eaten Ethiopian food previously. This is one of those "hole in the wall" places that is a real find. We would all go back again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pcguy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The food is good, dirt cheap and eaten with fingers. It's not finger food.”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

First time at Ethiopian food. Funky affect, eating without utensils. We had mixed, chicken, beef, lamb and vegetables. I thought each was good and the lentils were very good. The "bread" is strange, but doesn't taste that way. It's a spongy pancake. It seems to work as well as many. A fork would have made a lot more sense, but that's not part of the landscape. It was cheap, good and tasty.

Sure, it's as spartan as ancient Greece.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Upperny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Numma”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We went with a large group of friends from Djibouti and they ordered for us. We were served this huge platter just filled with stuff, and the point was to take flat bread and grab a hunk of food from the tray with it... it was messy and awesome, definitely going back!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cnd_Traveller155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“If You're Not Familiar With Ethiopian Food, Tread Carefully”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This is the first time I've ever had Ethiopian food and probably the last though due to no fault of this restaurant. I just don't like Ethiopian food I guess. As soon as we walked in we knew we were out of our comfort zone but hey we felt like being adventurous. We order the platter for two as we had no idea what anything was. What came out was a large platter covered in crepes? and then spoonfuls of different curry type dishes, two hardboiled eggs and two chicken legs. Oh and no cutlery. We tried our best but it was just weird. Nice people though so just want to reiterate that us not liking it was not the restaurant's fault in anyway but I wanted to warn people thinking of trying something new.

Also the bathrooms were not in good shape.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Guncho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horn Of Africa also viewed

Ottawa, Ontario
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Horn Of Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing