We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breakfast lunch or dinner, one of my faves!”
Review of Stoneface Dolly's

Stoneface Dolly's
Ranked #95 of 2,746 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Contemporary, Fusion
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“breakfast lunch or dinner, one of my faves!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Ive been going to Stone Face Dolly's for years, its in Little Italy here in Ottawa and a great spot for couples, families etc. Ive had business brunch meetings there on the their little patio in the summer, have enjoyed numerous dinner there, good variety on menu for all to enjoy, beautiful dessert and good wine selection. the place always has a good vibe and feel to it, they are really busy for breakfast / brunch on weekends, so best make a reservation. Love the place and always have a good experience there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karina_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    76
    23
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good service but food disappointing”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I had heard great things about the restaurant and was looking forward to it. The room was very smoky probably due to poor ventilation in the open kitchen, so much so that they had to keep the windows open. The service was good, but I did not enjoy the food at all. The salmon cakes looked and tasted like a can of packed salmon was put on a plate. The ribs we tough with so much gristle that they were almost in edible. My companions did like their meals though, but I won't be going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JMM196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value, fantastic menu”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Try the jambalaya it's excellent. Book early if you want a great gastronomic experience. The service was very attentitive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevfins13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Scrumptious brunch spot!!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Loved this place so very happy we found it!! We went both brunches while visiting Ottawa. We loved our waiter David and hanging with fellow Southafrican owner Bob.

The real treat was the great homemade food made with love and care.

Thanks for making our trip to Ottawa a delicious one!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dansam811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hospitality is lacking”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I've been to this restaurant a few times before and the food and service were fine. I visited for brunch today and was very disappointed by the lack of even basic courtesy from the owner. We were a party of three and agree with a previous review that noted a lack of organization with regard to the waiting list. When we were seated by the owner he said 'come on.' The place was very busy with a line the whole time we were there (approximately an hour). The owner walked by our table numerous times looking at us, clearly wanting us to leave. We were made to feel uncomfortable and did leave, never to return. The waiter was great. The food is good but not extraordinary. I'll spend my money where I feel welcome.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tohearncanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stoneface Dolly's also viewed

 

Been to Stoneface Dolly's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing