We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for an airport hotel, not as good as a base to visit Ottawa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We've stayed here twice before as a place to crash before and after flights. This time, we came back to visit family. We chose a suite this time since we would be here longer and more space is better when travelling with a 4 year old.

Once again, the rooms are immense - unlike some suites, no room is cramped. The hotel is very quiet. The bed is comfortable. Breakfast is totally fine - not exciting, but fine. The staff is super-friendly, and very kid-friendly.

As a base to visit Ottawa, it's conveniently located to get on major roads to get from one end to another. However, it's not actually really near anything - parks, coffee stores, stores, etc. Everything involves a drive, which is a pain when you're having to strap a kid in a carseat everytime. We miss the downtown core for that, so we'll probably go back there next time.

Otherwise, though, no complaints!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCGKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,055 - 1,061 of 1,172 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

I have stayed at this property for 4 weeks over the last 6 months, so I know this hotel well.

It is REALLY close to the Ottawa Airport, I think it's like 1.5 km away.

Parking is outside (which is a bit of a pain if it is icy or snowing), and the hotel is taller than anything around it, so it's actually pretty easy to find.

I thought it might be really noisy, but they have done a great job insulating the rooms from airport noise. It is VERY quiet! Nice!

The staff is fast, efficient, friendly and knowledgeable. They always process you very quickly and are very polite.

The rooms are nicely appointed... not super-luxury, but sensible, newer furniture and enough lights to make it seem fairly bright (anyone who has stayed in Ottawa in the winter knows how dreary it can be with the short days and cold weather).

The proximity to the airport makes it REALLY to take early-AM flights out without needing to get up super early.

The restaurant is run by a fellow named Richard. He's pretty responsive. One time when we got a really bad in-room meal (awful fried chicken), he comped it for my co-worker. When I filled out a comment card telling him how lousy the pancakes were, he sent me an email apologizing (I note he didn't actually do anything else - he just asked how he could help and offered to meet me the next day). I would have preferred something more proactive - like actually comping a meal, changing the awful pancake mix and inviting me to try again. At least he responded.

That said, the wait staff in the AM is really good. I don't remember all the names, but Laura is always very cheery and tries to remember you when you show up again. The omelet and fruit are OK.

The rooms are really large, and you don't feel cramped. I used their laundry machines. They are clean, well-kept, and reasonably priced.

Hallways are very bright and wide.

Hotel cleaning staff are friendly. During a 2-week stay, they made a point to remember my name, and although I tipped them (and I DO recommend that you tip the housekeeping staff, they work pretty hard!) they are friendly and efficient even when I forget to. They do a great job.

Overall, I'm sure you can tell I am a big fan of this hotel. Now, if they would just improve the food, I would give them the full 5 stars!

Room Tip: I like rooms that are lower - it's easier to get the elevator, or you can just walk up and down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesJohnson234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Have stayed here twice now, am always extremely impressed by how clean it is. It's the most important quality in a hotel for me and very happy with this hotel. Is also very nicely decorated, etc, some hotels are pretty crummy looking but this has the feel of a very nice hotel. All staff is very friendly, the waiters, etc. in the restaurant downstairs are really great, they obviously take care to make sure they hire great people. Got a suite for a great price, will be returning for sure!!

Room Tip: Get a suite, it's not much more expensive but having the extra room is great, especially if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popcornsupernova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed here for one night after the late night arrival of a family member from Europe. Very clean hotel. No evidence of any bed bugs. Large spacious rooms. Shuttle was available on demand. Did not use the shuttle though. Very close to airport. A little far from downtown Ottawa, but some restaurants and shopping within 5-10 minutes driving. Free parking and coffee and cookies. Seemed like it had a nice restaurant but did not eat there. $179.00 a night including taxes was a bit steep so far from downtown but I would stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ironleague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night for a stop over flight. Check in/out were smooth and quick. Free shuttle to/from airport. At the airport we called the hotel for the shuttle and it was there in about 15 minutes. Best part of this hotel is that it was quiet and we both got a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

There are two words which, when combined, usually strike a chill to the heart - 'airport hotel', normally suggesting grubby carpets, threadbare furnishings, plastic food, and noise. Not so with the Hilton at Ottawa Airport. A clean, modern and quiet facility with helpful staff, very generously sized bedrooms, and a surprisingly good restaurant with talented chefs who put out good food (and lots of it, so forget the diet). The on-demand shuttle is available from 4am, though by the hotel's own admission is not disabled-friendly and will not take children unless you supply your own car seat. This is not well-placed for downtown Ottawa visitors unless you have a car, in which case typical journey time is 20' but in terms of hotel performance would stand up well against any other chain hotel in the city, let alone the average airport hotel

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horsekeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I have previously posted about why having been lied to by the duty manager at the Holiday Inn Express at Ottawa airport, that I would not stay there again. I have been looking for an alternative and this report reflects my recent visit to the Garden Inn at Ottawa airport.

As far as airport hotels go, this is very convenient for the airport. Although it is just beyond walking distance to the terminal they do have a shuttle.

The service was excellent, I only had a couple of queries and they were met very efficiently.

The room I had was very spacious, but could have done with some furniture to fill the space! The bed was very comfortable and the decor was not as dated as I had been led to expect from some other reviews. Importantly the room was spotlessly clean.

The pool and gym area were good and very much of the standard that one would expect from this level of hotel.

All in all a great airport overnight stop, but not recommended for families as a base for visiting Ottawa. This is my new airport hotel in Ottawa.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pzfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa Airport
1.6 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa Airport
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
6.7 mi away
Delta Hotels Ottawa City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport

Address: 2400 Alert Rd, Ottawa, Ontario K1V 1S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: £82 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport hotel in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, you'll find everything you want. The Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Ontario hotel is located five minutes west of the Ottawa MacDonald Cartier International Airport and 15 minutes to downtown Ottawa. The hotel is completely soundproof. The Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Ontario Airport hotel is certain to please the busy executive or leisure traveler. The Hilton Garden Inn in Ottawa is designed with you in mind, and offers the following services: Garden Grille and Bar, Evening Room Service Available, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store, Pavilion Lounge, Complimentary shuttle service and self parking, Complimentary business center, Complimentary wired and wireless Internet access throughout entire hotel, including guest rooms, Indoor heated pool and whirlpool, Complimentary Exercise Room, 7,200 sq. ft. state-of-the-art banquet facilities, Complimentary morning paper, Valet and self-laundry available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing