We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally Satisfactory - Some Disappointments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Last year I reviewed this hotel and found it favourable. We stayed here again for two nights, then more recently again for a single night, and while it was generally a good experience, there were some shortcomings.

Last year the hotel was under construction and there was a temporary entrance. After a year, the entrance is still a bumpy, single track, poorly signed, dirt road. The path out of the parking area is by another route, but also poorly signed. Surely better arrangements were possible for a year’s construction.

Check-in and check-out were mostly efficient, but somewhat cold and reserved. On our most recent visit, the price was more than $50 more than several weeks before. I was told that rates change - no other explanation. At the higher rate it was not a particularly good deal.
Rooms on one side of the upper floors overlook one runway and taxiways, as well as the First Air and Fedex hangars, and one can see some aircraft movements, without being noisy. Aeroplane afficionados should try for this view.

Our rooms were spacious, with a king bed, and a good work desk, once with a couch and an oversized leather footstool, the other time with armchair, side table and small footstool. Nevertheless, the furniture was small for the size of the rooms. One more easy chair could have been placed to advantage for two persons. Indeed, in spite of the king bed and large room, it seems designed for one person. The 32" television was too small for the room. There was a small refrigerator, much appreciated to store water and beer on a very hot summer night. There was a Keurig coffee system and a microwave, lots of storage space, good bedside tables with particularly good lamps. Overall the lighting was very good, including a good desk lamp and good bathroom lights for shaving.

The bathroom was large, with lots of counter space and plenty of supplies. Oddly-placed toilets meant a very long reach for toilet paper. For safety, the tub needed another grab bar, and some non-skid finish on the bottom. Surprisingly, at the start of the busy tourist season, the bathroom was somewhat battered, needing a paint job and re-grouting and a basin was badly cracked.

There were free WiFi and cable connections to the Internet, efficient enough once one reached it, however the hotel’s website does not come up automatically when one tries to connect. According to the hotel guide, internet instructions were in the desk, but they were in neither room that we had.

The dining room was also a mixed experience. We had several breakfasts and one dinner. One morning, when I had to go out early, I had to order the whole cold buffet just to get an English muffin and coffee. Not efficient or economical. The cold buffet itself is very humble compared to many other hotels, with only some very dry melon and berry choices to make fruit cocktail. There was a do-it-yourself waffle maker, and good croissants, but the pastry choices were very limited. There was no cheese or cold meat. One expected more for the price. The full breakfast was more satisfactory, with interesting specials, and a much better deal.

The supper menu was also interesting, but the halibut special we chose was overcooked. It was served with a very good couscous salad, but the cold salad was not really appropriate on the hot plate. The accompanying grilled yellow zucchini were too heavily peppered, and too few of them.

Service was mixed, although friendly. The dining room itself is casual, but the tables are crowded together and not relaxing. We understand the dining room is being expanded.

Room Tip: If you like to watch aeroplanes, ask for a room facing the runway on an upper floor.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rideau-Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your very for your extensive review. We appreciate your feedback and welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,097)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

706 - 712 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

I'm surprised the reviews are so good. The bed was very uncomfortable. Mattress is supposed to be adjustable but it didn't work. The hotel is under construction and I heard noise all night - I think they worked right through. I woke up in the middle of the night to the smell of natural gas. Front desk was unconcerned and unhelpful. I realized in the morning that the smell was coming from the mattress itself; this is quite disconcerting.

Hotel shuttle is convenient.

Restaurant is ok, not great.

Staff were reasonably friendly but non-responsive to my concerns at checkout.

Room Tip: Ask to be far away from the construction.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BCBusinessTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Please allow me to address your concerns. In regards to the matress, we would love to know your room number so that we may investigate. If the matress is broken, we would like to repair it promptly. Regarding the construction, I can assure you that they do not work past 5pm in the evening with the majority of them going home at 330pm everyday, so my apologies for the noise you heard, but it was definately not construction related. I would like to apologize for our team not being attentive to your concerns regarding the smell of natural gas. It was in fact a grease trap that needed to be emptied and has since been done, however, i can completely understand your fear and lack of action by our team to alleviate your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I travel to Ottawa from the US about four times per year. I always stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport. The hotel is clean and the restaurant is above average. I find their front desk staff very friendly. I have gotten to know some of them and one in particular is awesome and her name is Monica Licari. She is very friendly and seems to be a genuinely sweet person and is very attentive to the guests needs.

Room Tip: I have not had a bad room at this hotel and I have stayed here over 20 times.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and thank you for your loyalty. We know guests have more choice than ever these days. I will be sure to pass along your comments to all other managers and staff as well. Look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I travel every week for work, the staff overall is friendly and helpful, very clean rooms, very helpful housekeeping. I find this to be one of cleanest hotels I stay at. However, don't ask the front desk to have the shuttle drop you off anywhere but the airport, you'll receive a very curt "no". Nothing is located within walking distance of the hotel so it's a bit isolated.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Randall P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for your great comments regarding our team and our cleanliness. In regards to our shuttle, you are correct, it is only insured to do airport runs to and from the hotel. Also, you can imagine if we took someone to the shopping centre and got a call for the airport, we would not want that guest to have to wait longer than necessary. Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed for a weekend while in Ottawa area. Service was very good and hotel was very clean. Clean rooms and facilities. Overall, a very good experience and would recommend this hotel. It did not disappoint.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CanTraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We take pride in the cleanliness of our building and we are always pleased when others notice. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Very little suitable parking due to major construction on the site. The actual stay was good and the hotel was clean and secure. Grounds were dirty due to construction. After construction is over it will be a good place to stay. Check in staff were very polite and accommodating.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Travel4FunCDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

We are sorry that you did not feel there was suitable parking. We are currently ordering some more signage to help better direct people as we have lots of additional parking at the back of the building. Thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed in this property for 02 nights last week June 2014; located at a peaceful area near airport but decent distance from Downtown Ottawa with easy access to roads. Hotel undergoing some construction for a new wing but no disturbance.

The staff is excellent, helpful, nice and caring. Lobby area as usual clean and spacious.

Room well appointed, clean, good linen, clean spacious bath and everything was in place as we expected..

Hotel has free parking and adequate spaces. Breakfast at an additional price but worth.

We enjoyed our stay and love to return if we happen to be around.

Thank you Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport;

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Asoka B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are indeed expanding another tower to the hotel and thank you for pointing out that it did not impact your stay as that is our top priority. We welcome the opportunity to welcome you back when our expansion is complete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
6.7 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa Airport
1.6 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
6.8 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#7 of 68 in Ottawa
343 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport

Address: 2400 Alert Rd, Ottawa, Ontario K1V 1S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: £88 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport hotel in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, you'll find everything you want, right where you need it. The Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Ontario hotel is located five minutes west of the Ottawa MacDonald Cartier International Airport and 15 minutes to downtown Ottawa. The hotel is completely soundproof. The Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Ontario Airport hotel is certain to please the busy executive or leisure traveler. The Hilton Garden Inn in Ottawa is designed with you in mind, and offers the following services: Garden Grille and Bar, Evening Room Service Available, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store, Pavilion Lounge, Complimentary shuttle service and self parking (Park and Fly rates available!), Complimentary business center, Complimentary wired and wireless Internet access throughout entire hotel, including guest rooms, Indoor heated pool and whirlpool, Complimentary Exercise Room, 7,200 sq. ft. state-of-the-art banquet facilities, Complimentary morning paper, Valet and self-laundry available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing