We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This place was incredible! And the rates were very reasonable. (Not sure if that is typical or whether they lowered the prices because of construction.) Even though there is construction, the hotel is spotlessly clean. It is right on the edge of the airport but in 2 days/nights we never heard a single plane. Our standard 2-queen room was huge, and the bathroom was even bigger. Tons of counter space to spread out all our toiletries. Comfy beds with adjustable firmness controls and real duvets (not microfiber blankets). The air conditioner worked well and was very quiet. Common areas are very spacious, brightly lit and everything is tastefully decorated. The front lobby was gorgeous, and this is truly a Hilton that lives up to its name. Walk in the front door and there is infused ice water, self-serve coffee, decaf, tea, hot chocolate, a platter of cookies, bowls of mints, a fireplace and tons of comfortable seating. It is not at the heart of the city for sight-seeing, but it is right on the Airport Parkway and we were able to get downtown in 20 minutes. Front desk staff were very helpful, giving advice on where to find free parking downtown and things to see/do. Lots of restaurants fairly close (you need a car), and staff have maps that make finding things easy.

Now for a couple negatives (because nobody is perfect!): #1, the on-site restaurant. Service was quick & courteous, but for the quality of food (just average) it was a bit over-priced. Breakfast is available for an extra fee...it would be nice to have a standard continental breakfast included with all rooms. #2, the Wifi. It was not reliable. We kept losing connections. We contacted the front desk and they said they would notify the service provider. Not sure if the problem was related to the construction, or because we had 3 devices going at one time, or just a bad signal.

In spite of the glitches, we highly recommend this hotel! If we ever have the opportunity to visit Ottawa again, this is where we will stay. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lunchbag917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    304
    75
    28
    10
See reviews for
283
174
82
398
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Honestly, this Hilton has the most comfortable beds I've ever enjoyed in a hotel. Even though it has the standard hotel room layout, the room was large and very comfortable. Perfectly clean, too. Staff are pretty friendly, and the food at the restaurant was very nice. You can basically see the runway from the hotel, so if you're staying over before a flight, the location can't be better....though it's almost worth it to stay longer just to take advantage of the little pool, exercise room, and the fantastic beds. Oh my god, the beds.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware, Ohio
Level Contributor
101 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I love Ottawa and when I decided to stop in the city recently I wasn't sure where to stay. I've stayed at the Holiday Inn Express before and liked it but I decided to try this property because it was a bit less expensive. I'm glad I did because I really enjoyed my stay. Check in was a breeze and the woman at the front desk was very nice and seemed like she was happy I was there. Property is lovely even though they are expanding in a major way adding 100+ rooms, it didn't impact my stay. I did not hear any construction noise. In fact, our room overlooked a runway and I did not even hear aircraft noise. We watched planes take off and land with no noise. Room was big too. Construction won't last forever and it did not impact the quality of our stay. Next time in Ottawa I will certainly give this property a look.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
326 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

If you're reading this review to find how nice this hotel it, STOP! It's a Hilton Garden Inn. It's a standard 3 star hotel give or take a star based on all experiences with the brand. If you're trying to find a hotel in Ottawa that can personalize your stay in an unbelievable fashion, read on. I'm on my way and laying over in Detroit. Food options are at a minimum at DTW at 10:00PM, (I don't know why). I call the hotel in Ottawa and ask them how late I can order. The gal transfers me to the restaurant and they offer me the full menu over the phone so I can pre order. When I arrive at midnight EDT, I'm from the US west coast so 3 hours behind, my dinner is waiting along with two glasses of wine. That's the best part of the story but the service, food and overall attitude at this Hilton Garden Inn were inspiring. They were incredibly helpful with shipping packages, arranging a car for an appt. and a also to take us for a short tour of the city for our 3 hour wait before flying back to Portland, OR. I highly recommend this spot to anyone traveling to Ottowa. The only downside was that it's not city central, that's a short 20 minute ride away. Cheers to the staff. OH, AND THE FOOD WAS EVEN GOOD. Pasta for dinner, Veggie Omelette for breakfast and believer it or not I went back to get my luggage and had lunch, the Turkey wrap.

Room Tip: I always stay on a low floor. This may not be a great tourist spot but it's perfect for busines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grantman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
271 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 530 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This Garden Inn was certainly up to that chain's standards. The room was of excellent quality, with good sound-proofing and a quiet air conditioner. The bar/restaurant area is smart casual and the common areas have the feel of a more expensive place. The construction of a whole new wing next door had no effect on my one-night stay. The front desk and bar staff were excellent, as was the driver of the hotel's free shuttle to the terminal -- about 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NW_Raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
342 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

There is something about that Hilton name… When in a strange place you know that you can get a certain level of amenities and service. It's sort of like finding a McDonald's after a week of adventurous European cuisine (but pricier). Forced by the airline to lay over, we made the "safe" choice and weren't disappointed. Maybe it was the 4 AM departure, or the long walking tour of Parliament Hill, or maybe the adjustable mattress was set just right, but we slept very well. The front desk was VERY helpful, giving us detailed instructions for taking the bus to Parliament Hill and back and giving us the exact change required for the trip. Their only failing was not knowing that on Wednesday, seniors ride free, but that's even better! They have a good restaurant, including a breakfast buffet, and the shuttle service is very efficient.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snochasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Our team is here to make your entire stay memorable and I am glad they did not dissapoint. We hope to see you again perhaps on a planned trip this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Last year I reviewed this hotel and found it favourable. We stayed here again for two nights, then more recently again for a single night, and while it was generally a good experience, there were some shortcomings.

Last year the hotel was under construction and there was a temporary entrance. After a year, the entrance is still a bumpy, single track, poorly signed, dirt road. The path out of the parking area is by another route, but also poorly signed. Surely better arrangements were possible for a year’s construction.

Check-in and check-out were mostly efficient, but somewhat cold and reserved. On our most recent visit, the price was more than $50 more than several weeks before. I was told that rates change - no other explanation. At the higher rate it was not a particularly good deal.
Rooms on one side of the upper floors overlook one runway and taxiways, as well as the First Air and Fedex hangars, and one can see some aircraft movements, without being noisy. Aeroplane afficionados should try for this view.

Our rooms were spacious, with a king bed, and a good work desk, once with a couch and an oversized leather footstool, the other time with armchair, side table and small footstool. Nevertheless, the furniture was small for the size of the rooms. One more easy chair could have been placed to advantage for two persons. Indeed, in spite of the king bed and large room, it seems designed for one person. The 32" television was too small for the room. There was a small refrigerator, much appreciated to store water and beer on a very hot summer night. There was a Keurig coffee system and a microwave, lots of storage space, good bedside tables with particularly good lamps. Overall the lighting was very good, including a good desk lamp and good bathroom lights for shaving.

The bathroom was large, with lots of counter space and plenty of supplies. Oddly-placed toilets meant a very long reach for toilet paper. For safety, the tub needed another grab bar, and some non-skid finish on the bottom. Surprisingly, at the start of the busy tourist season, the bathroom was somewhat battered, needing a paint job and re-grouting and a basin was badly cracked.

There were free WiFi and cable connections to the Internet, efficient enough once one reached it, however the hotel’s website does not come up automatically when one tries to connect. According to the hotel guide, internet instructions were in the desk, but they were in neither room that we had.

The dining room was also a mixed experience. We had several breakfasts and one dinner. One morning, when I had to go out early, I had to order the whole cold buffet just to get an English muffin and coffee. Not efficient or economical. The cold buffet itself is very humble compared to many other hotels, with only some very dry melon and berry choices to make fruit cocktail. There was a do-it-yourself waffle maker, and good croissants, but the pastry choices were very limited. There was no cheese or cold meat. One expected more for the price. The full breakfast was more satisfactory, with interesting specials, and a much better deal.

The supper menu was also interesting, but the halibut special we chose was overcooked. It was served with a very good couscous salad, but the cold salad was not really appropriate on the hot plate. The accompanying grilled yellow zucchini were too heavily peppered, and too few of them.

Service was mixed, although friendly. The dining room itself is casual, but the tables are crowded together and not relaxing. We understand the dining room is being expanded.

Room Tip: If you like to watch aeroplanes, ask for a room facing the runway on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rideau-Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your very for your extensive review. We appreciate your feedback and welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa Airport
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Ottawa Airport
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
1.6 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa Airport
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport
Address: 2400 Alert Rd, Ottawa, Ontario K1V 1S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport hotel in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, you'll find everything you want, right where you need it. The Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Ontario hotel is located five minutes west of the Ottawa MacDonald Cartier International Airport and 15 minutes to downtown Ottawa. The hotel is completely soundproof. The Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Ontario Airport hotel is certain to please the busy executive or leisure traveler. The Hilton Garden Inn in Ottawa is designed with you in mind, and offers the following services: Garden Grille and Bar, Evening Room Service Available, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store, Pavilion Lounge, Complimentary shuttle service and self parking (Park and Fly rates available!), Complimentary business center, Complimentary wired and wireless Internet access throughout entire hotel, including guest rooms, Indoor heated pool and whirlpool, Complimentary Exercise Room, 7,200 sq. ft. state-of-the-art banquet facilities, Complimentary morning paper, Valet and self-laundry available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing