We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite place - atomosphere is superb, as is the food and drink”

The Cheshire Cat Pub
Ranked #69 of 2,767 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Favourite place - atomosphere is superb, as is the food and drink”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have been going here for years, but since the renovations after a devastating fire, the menu and beer selection is much bigger. The food is mostly locally produced and the freshness and flavour are remarkable. They are now absolutely packed and some nights you have to show up at 4:30 if you want to eat by 5:30. Not a big problem as their beer selection rivals any other pub in the city, with casks being tapped regularly to public fanfare.

It's a keeper.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cliff w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    80
    23
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome, but hope you have all afteroon”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

OK, first things first. Great if your gluten free, you have to try the cottage pie. The thing to consider is the ingredients are all very fresh and it's all home made. This is worth paying for and makes the meal great value.

Next things next, the beers are good, the service is good, no issues. I've easily eaten here ten times and it's the same every time.

If it has a fault, it's that it's a victim of its own success. The place is -really- slow and incredibly loud. If your in any kind of rush, go somewhere else. These points keep it from getting Excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaques S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Oh my.. wonderful! ”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Love this place! Food and atmosphere are wonderful! Waitress was very attentive, ownercame by to check on us and see how the food was and I must say this place is very cozy and you feel like you are at home when you walk in the door. Definitely cannot wait to go back to eat there.

Helpful?
1 Thank NanCee_Here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worth the drive!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Fantastic menu with a unique twist on typical pub fare. Packed on a Monday night - worth calling ahead. Excellent service and a long list of local brews, including cider.

Helpful?
Thank iSeeiPlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for GF beer and food”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Since the re-opening, I have been to the Cat 5 or 6 times. Each time. The servers have been very helpful and informative. The gluten-free menu options i have tried, have been delicious. The bacon wrapped jalapeno's are great with varying degrees of heat. The chicken dip is so tasty - but always need more pita ! The selection of beers on tap are always excellent and the servers really know their beers. The best item I've tried has been the duck poutine. It was part of a special menu though so i only had it the one time. I think it should become a menu staple, personally!
When the pub is busy, it does get a bit loud, but always an enjoyable dining experience.
I highly recommend you give the Cat a try. PS there's no outdoor patio

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renniferd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cheshire Cat Pub also viewed

Stittsville, Ottawa
 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to The Cheshire Cat Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing