We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views, historic rooms, and BIG breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pelee Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stonehill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 13 Pelee Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 April 2012

As you pull into the long driveway leading up to this charming historic property on Pelee Island, you'll know you're not on a typical vacation. The lake sparkles just down the lane, the huge porch is the perfect place to watch sunsets, and Becky's massive breakfast will keep you full all day. Tasteful antique collections decorate every room, and you'll sleep under real quilts in the original wood-floored rooms. Curl up with a book in front of the fireplace if it rains, or check out the Heritage Centre just down the road. Jump in the lake for a swim, bring your binoculars for birdwatching, and make sure to bring bikes to explore more of this fantastic island!

Room Tip: All rooms share a common bathroom. Ask for a room at the front of the house if you want to avoid noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

It was my first visit to Pelee Island and so I had no idea what to expect. The Stonehill B&B is located on a large piece of land with a lengthy driveway. It faces the west which was perfect for watching the sunset. The lovely home has a wide and long veranda with comfortable patio furniture and pots of geraniums. Sitting there, sipping wine and conversing with the other visitors was a pleasant way of spending the evening. Breakfast was hardy and kept you going all day till late afternoon. A comfortable sitting room is available during inclement weather. I highly recommend this B&B due to the hospitality, ambience and location. Note that all boarders share the same bathroom.
As for the island, selection for dining is minimal and very expensive. Bring your own snacks as there is one Co-op store on the north road. Not sure if there is an ATM if you run out of cash. Make sure your car has a full tank of gas. Be prepared to stay another day if the ferry is cancelled. The heritage museum is worth a visit portraying an interesting history. This island is worth another visit to enjoy a quiet life and discover nature.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank respite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay at Stonehill. Our hosts warmly welcomed us into their historic stone home, adorned with antiques. Rooms were lovely, amenities great (especially the wrap-around front porch!) Hospitality second to none and breakfast so substantial one doesn't need lunch! Would love to return--such a beautiful setting with a fabulous view of the lake. So peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank canadairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We spent one night at the Stonehill B & B on Peele Island. The house is absolutely charming, the owners are friendly, but stay out of your way. They encourage you to come and go as you please and use the house as you need it, it is a very relaxed atmosphere. If you are coming by car, you will have no problem getting to the house from the ferry dock. However, if you are walking, be prepared for a 15 minute walk from the ferry (go easy on the luggage!).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Ida P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Stonehill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehill Bed & Breakfast

Address: 911 West Shore Road, Ontario, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Pelee Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Pelee Island
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing