We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxed visit to the Wandering Pheasant and Pelee Island”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pelee Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Wandering Pheasant Inn
Ranked #4 of 13 Pelee Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was our first visit to Pelee Island and we loved the experience. We stayed in the main house and were nicely accommodated by the proprietor who was friendly and welcoming. The guest rooms in the main house are smallish however there is easy access to the rest of house and property - there is a large screened in porch and an outdoor one as well. There are large sitting rooms for chatting and making new friends in a laid back atmosphere.We checked in early and had the day to explore the island, have lunch and visit the winery. A step back in time with no schedule! Breakfast was home baked banana and fruit loaf to go so we could make the 8am ferry. It is worth it to stay at the Wandering Pheasant if you are looking for a friendly and relaxed stay on the island where you are close to nature, the beach and want to have a fun time with friends.

Room Tip: When you book be sure to explore the options so you can choose what works for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

The rooms at the back are very nice, large with a private screened in veranda with fridge and hammock. We enjoyed the hot tub as well. The only downfall we found was that the breakfast only consisted of muffins and fruit salad. This is not what we expected considering there are not a lot of options on the island for food and if you are planning on biking, hiking or swimming it would be nice to start the day with a hearty breakfast. As for value, it is a little pricey for the private rooms in the back but looks like it is one of the best places to stay on the island.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rudy325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I have been on Pelee Island many times, and comfort and good food were not part of my memories of those times, but rural and interesting would describe those visits. In 2013, we attended a meeting at the Wandering Pheasant and I was a little unsure of what to expect. The reviews were largely favourable, but some guests were less than pleased. Reading closely the negative reviews seemed to be from people expecting a 5-star hotel on their rural adventure, but the positive reviews were so exultant that I was still dubious based on my past experiences. However, I can report now that the exulters were right. This Inn is a gem set in the woods, near the sandy shore of lovely Lake Erie. Well, it looks lovely here anyway. As our meeting was for biologists, we were swept away by the marvelous diversity of birds and for the first time in years I heard a real 4-5 am dawn chorus. Orioles fed on the porch, barn swallows battled over and under the eaves, with the territorial male claiming the Canadian flagpole outside the window. Down at the beach I even saw an endangered lake erie watersnake emerge with a nasty invasive round goby (a fish) clenched in its jaws. Exciting stuff. Our room was roomy, nestled under the trees, with a screened porch, and a hammock on the porch. The entire setting was superb. The surrounding milieu provided a trip back into a quieter time. It was early June and one could drive or stroll for 20 minutes and not see another car. All the famous Pelee landmarks were there, Fish Point, Lighthouse Point, Lake Henry, the Pelee Winery. It was great fun. And the winery was even more fun; take a designated driver. The WP Inn's hostess was as friendly as could be, cheery, helpful, especially kind to me. She has done a commendable job setting up this hideaway. Pelee Island has changed to embrace tourism, and it makes a stay there far more enjoyable than in the past, and it is still generally "unspoiled". The food at Wandering Pheasant was catered by chef Matthew, a burly cheery man . It was large portions, well prepared and tasty.The soups were paralyzingly scrumptious. Matthew was endlessly accommodating. The rooms each featured a unique decor. Ours had ladies' hats as a theme, another room was African, another grandma's room, and one guy had a little girl's decor. These variations led to amusing discussions. Our bed was comfortable. My only negative is that the attractive hostess insisted we not use the Inn's towels in the hot tub or at the beach. We were supposed to bring our own. This seemed odd to me, and in fact none of us used the tub or went swimming. But if you go in warm weather or want to pile in the hot tub, bring your own towels. Prices are a bit steep for my budget, but well worth it especially if compared to what one might get for the same costs on the mainland. All in all a restful, yet stimulating experience and I am quite ready to go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the separate section are great, but more expensive. I did not see rooms in the main buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ronbo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We (a group of 14 friends) began our annual cycling adventure here on May 26th, 2013. We stayed two nights at the Wandering Pheasant Inn taking all the suites in the back area (huge comfortable basic clean rooms decorated in varying themes), and three rooms in the main house. Sandra, our host, was very accommodating, helping organize a caterer for our dinners (Chris Watson did our meals and we highly recommend considering this option if organizing a group). She gave us great suggestions for touring the island, and even washed and dried our clothes upon returning from a rather wet day. We appreciated the hot tub after long days of cycling and hiking. Her two summer students are wonderful and always helpful. Breakfast was a little disappointing (no eggs) but in no way deters our plans to return again someday! The inn and island are a relaxing oasis in this chaotic world.

Room Tip: for privacy the suites at the back are a lovely option, each having a screened in porch with small f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The room was spacious, comfortable and modern yet the main house and the grounds were charmingly rustic; a wonderful combination. The covered porch was a terrific place to enjoy the sounds and smells of the country without being plagued by bugs. The hammock was a favourite of the BF.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed at a charming inn on Pelee September 19th. The grounds were lovely, the breakfast great and the suite with private bath well worth the extra cost. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom had high end shampoos and creams. Our host, Sandra, was warm and welcoming. She's also an amazing decorator; each room and suite is different and beautifully decorated. She also is an excellent cook, and she accommodated my dietary needs. It was a relaxing and enjoyable mini vacation for us. We strongly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Suites are well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love_to_Travel775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We were able to partake in the very hospitable B & B. Our host and owner Sandra made our stay very enjoyable. The property just off the beach is spacious, hot tub easily enjoyed under the oak trees, breakfast bountiful and varied each day of our stay, very tasty. Sandra made us very welcomed and provided expert tips on touring the island.

Room Tip: The suites in the back section are quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaliki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pelee Island
17.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Leamington Hotel & Conference Centre
19.1 mi away
Quality Inn Leamington
Quality Inn Leamington
#3 of 9 in Leamington
189 reviews
11.9 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#7 of 7 in Put in Bay
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Days Inn Leamington
Days Inn Leamington
#2 of 9 in Leamington
381 reviews
20.0 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingsville
113 reviews
12.7 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wandering Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wandering Pheasant Inn

Address: 1060 East West Rd, Ontario N0R 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Pelee Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Pelee Island
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
My vintage Inn is on the most southeast shore of Pelee Island, it is set in a unique country setting just a pebbles throw to the beach. It's perfect for a romantic getaway or a cozy overnight stay with a loved one, while enjoying the serenity of Pelee Island. We offer an adult only atmosphere, asking that children be nineteen years and older. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wandering Pheasant Hotel Pelee Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing