We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pelee Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Wandering Pheasant Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Pelee Island B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful week”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the suites at the back of the property. We got the quiet vacation we were looking for. Sandra along with Lisa and Colin looked after whatever questions we had. Pelee Island is a hidden gem. We were lucky to find the island and the Inn for a perfect getaway. Looking forward to return trips.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    17
    10
    0
    6
See reviews for
5
72
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

This is the most amazing bed and breakfast i've ever been to. With super friendly staff and rooms so clean...you can eat off the floor. The outside jacuzzi and the open firepit i really enjoyed. Plus the best beach on the entire island is within walking distance too. I couldnt believe how quiet, calm, and relaxing it was during my stay. I stayed 2 nights...and didnt want to leave at all. Im comming back...and staying a lot longer next time. I highly recommend the wandering pheasent. It feels like your in a different world. Im speachless. I give it a 20 out of ten. You've got to come here and see for yourself.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Love this location and we will definitely go back. We stayed in a Suite and it was gorgeous. Loved our private porch and used it each day. Sandra is wonderful and her Inn beautiful. The silence was refreshing and enjoyed meeting other guests. We can't wait to return :)

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite (named Lighthouse Point) and loved everything about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The first thing you notice about The Wandering Pheasant Inn on Pelee Island is that you get an immediate sense that you will never want to leave.

Upon arrival we were met by one of the young and engaging inn staff members, who checked us into our very pretty and comfortable room (named “The Ruby Room” due it’s theme of, well, rich ruby and red colours throughout). We explored the inn and were impressed by the comfort and character of the main entrance and parlor, and the wrap-around enclosed deck is the perfect place for enjoying one of owner Sandra Laranja’s tasty breakfasts.

We met Sandra shortly after checking in and we were immediately made to feel welcome in the most sincere way, certainly not the kind of greeting you would get in a chain hotel back on the mainland. Sandra is energetic and engaging and has copious tips on what to see on the island.

We explored the island from end to end and side to side (we found the winery in minutes flat!), and loved coming back to the inn to cool down in the gazebo or heat up in the covered hot tub. At night, we enjoyed sitting around the fire pit and checking out the stars. Life moves slowly on the island, reminding us of the importance of dialing life back from time to time.

On more than one occasion we felt like were in the setting of a "Clue" game when we spent time in the parlor, with its rich wood and antique appearance and overstuffed comfortable chairs and sofa, the perfect room to read, knit and play some Yahtzee. On the one cool day that we had, we passed most of the afternoon in front of the parlor fireplace enjoying the easy-going pace of life that typifies the island and the inn.

The Wandering Pheasant also offers individual cottages (linked but private) that are decorated in a range of themes (just like the other rooms in the main inn) and are ideal for families or couples wanting a little more privacy. And the young and dedicated staff keep the place so spic and span, that, as I joked with one of them, “you can eat pepperoni off of the floors!”.

I could go on, but I have to leave something for you, Dear Reader, to discover. Get to Pelee island and enjoy a memorable stay at The Wandering Pheasant Inn. You will be happy you did.

Room Tip: The rooms all have distinct themes, very fun! And, there is a BBQ available to cook your own food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The wandering pheasant is the absolute best place to stay on Pelee. Sandra is a great hostess and you will be very pleased with your stay. Highly recommend purchasing a suite! There is also a hottub and a beach within walking distance! Take the ferry and go straight to the wandering pheasant!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingersoll, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Pelee Island is a slice of heaven pie! The minute you step on the ferry it feels like you are entering a different world. It is the land of thousands of fireflies, numerous species of birds (including wild pheasants) and fantastic wine and hospitality at the winery. We have returned to the Wandering Pheasant for four years and stayed in the suites. They are lovely self-contained rooms with hammocks, screened porches, a fridge and lovely décor. If you can't be happy in a room like this, you would not be happy anywhere. Sandra and her crew are fabulous and made us feel totally at home. We miss them already! We recommend you get the Pelee Island vibe by staying at the Wandering Pheasant and getting to know all the interesting people that make Pelee Island so special. Heather and Brad

Room Tip: There is a barbecue available, so bring some snacks if you wish.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have been too Pelee Island three years in a row and have stayed at the Wandering Pheasant Inn all three years. Sandra and staff are wonderful and take care of all your needs. The Inn is beautiful and well kept and everything is so clean. The wandering pheasant is very close to the winery and is within a 2 min walk to a lovely sandy beach. We have stayed in the Inn and the cottage like suites and would recommend either to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pelee Island
17.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Leamington Hotel & Conference Centre
11.9 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#7 of 7 in Put in Bay
8 reviews
20.0 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingsville
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Quality Inn Leamington
Quality Inn Leamington
#3 of 9 in Leamington
180 reviews
18.6 mi away
Seacliffe Inn
Seacliffe Inn
#2 of 8 in Leamington
131 reviews
12.5 mi away
Commodore Resort
Commodore Resort
#5 of 7 in Put in Bay
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about The Wandering Pheasant Inn

Property: The Wandering Pheasant Inn
Address: 1060 East West Rd, Ontario N0R 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Pelee Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Pelee Island
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
My vintage Inn is on the most southeast shore of Pelee Island, it is set in a unique country setting just a pebbles throw to the beach. It's perfect for a romantic getaway or a cozy overnight stay with a loved one, while enjoying the serenity of Pelee Island. We offer an adult only atmosphere, asking that children be nineteen years and older. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wandering Pheasant Hotel Pelee Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing