We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a "stay", not a "day"”
Review of Explore Pelee

Explore Pelee
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The eco-tourism based company ‘Explore Pelee’ was established by Anne Marie Fortner 9 years ago to help make your trip to Pelee hassle free. Local tour guides will show you all the secret magical spots of the island and give historical accounts of life in Canada’s most southern community. Southwestern Ontario is scattered with quaint, small communities full of culture, history and peaceful country landscapes. Pelee Island’s magical charm has been coined the Canadian Caribbean. Some travel far to vacation, but Canada’s most southern community, Pelee Island, is right in your backyard.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Baby buggy parking
Paris, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“For a "stay", not a "day"”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I have to say the day was pleasant but there isn't a lot to do or see. A visit to the winery is, of course, a must, but there are not a lot of stores or attractions and only a small handful of restaurants. I regret that we did not go straight to the winery for our lunch. Their garden is lovely. We went on a Wednesday and some places were closed. I expect there might be more happening on weekends but then you need to deal with more crowds, on the ferry and in other locations. Having said all that, if I was in need of a quiet and peaceful place to go to relax and unwind ....... absolutely. the Island has some delightful looking Inns and B&Bs. If you are looking for somewhere just to go sit and chill for a few days, or a week, read a book or two, take some long walks or bike rides, this is your haven.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheila020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    9
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stop over”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Waited for ferry to take us to Leamington in Ontario. Drove car to winery and picked up a couple of bottles of locally made wine. Not much else there. Felt very desolate. Customs officers were friendly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
234 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great Tour!”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We love to take tours whenever we are in a new area to us. This was an excellent way to see the island and our guide was very knowledgeable. It never sounded like she was bored!!! Very important to us. Great gal, two hours well spent!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1946HappyCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenonah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pelee”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Great place to visit. Not commercialized, quaint. Visit the winery, Pelee Places B & B, Pelee Coneheads ice cream, take the ferry from Leamington.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cjarzyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A must do!”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We loved the tour of the island and recommend it to anyone. The guide was vey knowledgeable and took us to many places, getting us accustomed to the island (it was our first visit). She gave us lots of interesting facts and history of the island. She would stop and let us explore different places. Was worth the cost.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OkieDokies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Explore Pelee also viewed

 

Been to Explore Pelee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing