We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cancelled a month in advance and still charged full rate.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Peterborough
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I had paid online on their official website. After finding a better hotel and rate at the Peterborough Inn, I cancelled my res a month in advance. They still charged me a penalty of the full rate!!! I have stayed in many hotels in many countries and this is some bull! I will never stay with them again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent booking experience with us. Based on what I am reading in your comments, it sounds like you may have booked the Advance Purchase rate, which is a non refundable rate with payment taken at the time of booking. Unfortunately with the cancellation of guestrooms booked under this rate, refunds are not provided.

We do appreciate your comments and we sincerly hope that you will give us a second chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed here on a business trip. The bed was comfortable, there was plenty of options for food and shopping locally. There is a Mac's convenience store right across the road.

When I checked in it was very quick, the lady working was super nice, she even looked up directions for me.

My only issue is that I went when it was raining and I had to trudge through a large water puddle to enter the building. And the fact that I could hear people walking through the hallway. Maybe a piece of rubber under the door could have dulled the hallway noise a bit.

It isn't the fanciest of places, but it is clean and in a convenient location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsLeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for the time you took to write a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Peterborough Waterfront! We appreciate your feedback and I will pass your comments and suggestions along to our Maintenance Manager.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I staying at this hotel few time a year for work. It is well located in the center of the city and near the river. Unfortunatly, this time, it was very noisy. I was in the business section but Kids were running in the coridors and smalling doors most of the evening. I could also hear the TV next room...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricMToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for taking a moment to write a review of your recent stay with us. We appreicate your continued business. We do apologize that your stay wasn't as enjoyable as it has been previously. It sounds like you may have visited us over a hockey weekend and unfortunately with all the teams we in on those weekends, it can tend to be a bit more noisy. We do have continued monitering of the hall on these higher occupancy weekends to try and keep the noise level to a minimum as well a curfew is in place for when the halls need to be vacated.

Again, we do apologize and hope we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel during a week long business trip in late Sept 2013. It is most comfortable with a good range of facilities and centrally located for all that downtown Peterborough has to offer (restaurants, ice hockey, Little Lake, Lift Lock etc). Without exception all staff were very polite and I was made to feel most welcome. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Many rooms have a great view of Little Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a_garside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Peterborough Waterfront!

We're thrilled to hear that you had such a great stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel this past weekend with 15-17 other families for a hockey tournament. While the indoor/outdoor pool is great for the kids and the location is scenic on the water side, the whole area where the hotel is located is generally very run down and seedy. Huge gangs of young men seem to like to hang out at the Tim Hortons parking lot directly across the street well into the night which was not very comfortable for the young families coming and going from the hotel. Generally we found the hotel to be very run down, dirty, smelly (especially the stairwells) and badly in need of renovating. Our entire party was located on the third floor, mostly facing the street - unfortunately the balconies off of these rooms are badly designed and flood in a rainstorm. Two nights in a row, we woke up to find at least an inch of water on the balconies and water seeping into the rooms through the closed balcony doors. The carpets were soaked for several feet in front of the balcony doors. Being fully booked, there was no where else to go, so the staff gave us small fans to blow over the carpets which were ineffective. A request to the front desk that perhaps a discount on the room might be in order, fell on deaf ears. We were charged the full amount plus charged for an extra $100 damage deposit on check-in without being informed and had to call the hotel on our return home for this to be reversed. In addition, when we asked for an empty conference room for a team function one night, we were kindly offered a room at no charge but on arriving found that it had not been cleaned up from the previous function. There was food spilled all over the dirty tablecloths and carpet and leftovers still in the room. We had to strip the tablecloths off the tables ourselves, leaving us to eat off of bare plywood tables. Needless to say we will not be going back here.

Room Tip: Do not stay on 2nd or 3rd floor facing street in a rain storm. Balconys flood and leak into rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank restaurantcritic_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback of our recent stay at our hotel. We apologize that your stay didn't meet your expectations. You are correct, the Tim Hortons across the street can at times tend to attract all sorts of individuals including those you refer to. We do work with the owners and the police to ensure regular drive bys to constantly check on that area. Those that are causing issues are moved along.

With respect to the meeting room, on large city wide tournament weekends such as The Nationals tournament last weekend, we offer a common meeting room for all teams to use. We do expect each of the teams to utilize the garbage and recycling bins in the rooms to clean up after their event. We do have members of our staff visit the room two to three times per day to also assit in keeping the room tidy. Some teams are more respectful about this than others. We apologize if you're team visited inbetween the time that our staff serviced the room.

In severe rain storms, it is true that some of our balconies were not sloped correctly upon installation 40 years ago. This is something we will correct in 2015 when we undergo a multi million dollar renovation, which will also update the look and feel of the hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope that you will reconsider your decision to visit our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Great location, right on the river, directly adjacent to Little Lake. In the summer you are two blocks from downtown and one block to Peterborough's Festival of lights. (and there is a Beer Store directly across the road) The staff are professional and friendly. The pool area is ample and clean. Pretty much everything you'd expect from a Holiday Inn with the added bonus of a great patio bar and deck area with some great views.

In the winter you are central to all of Peterborough's Hockey Arenas for all of you tournament trip searchers.

I have stayed in plenty of Holiday Inns in my day, and while they generally do not vary too much in services presented, room size or beds, Peterborough is in the upper level of these hotels. You're close to everything you need and can be assured a comfortable stay.

Cheers from Canada!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Holiday Inn Peterborough Waterfront! We appreciate your business!

We are situated in a great location for both summer and winter activities and we are happy that you have enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Good location overlooking the river. Great staff. Bar had some pretty good burgers. Rooms were renovated at some point, but more work needs to be done on the washroom and the carpet. Building exterior requires a fresh coat of paint. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickidee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us!

The hotel is slated to undergo a property improvement plan towards late 2014 and this will create a more modern and updated feel to the hotel. We do hope that you will come back and stay with us again.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterborough
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
577 reviews
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Peterborough
Super 8 Peterborough
#2 of 12 in Peterborough
1,676 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Peterborough
Quality Inn Peterborough
#7 of 12 in Peterborough
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Peterborough
221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
#5 of 12 in Peterborough
206 reviews
9 mi away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#2 of 2 in Lakefield
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Peterborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Peterborough

Address: 150 George St N, Peterborough, Ontario K9J 3G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Peterborough
Price Range: £86 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Peterborough 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Friendliest Service Among Peterborough, Ontario Hotels Located In the heart of the Kawarthas, the Holiday Inn Hotel Peterborough Waterfront is ideally situated along the Trent Severn Waterway in the downtown business and shopping district with 60 restaurants within walking distance. Our hotel's central location puts you near the world's highest hydraulic lift lock and Canada's only Canoe Museum, 1.5 km from our hotel. Peterborough hosts numerous festivals throughout the year, such as summer's Festival of Lights and is home to popular arts facilities, like Showplace Performance Centre. You'll also find some of the best shopping opportunities in downtown Peterborough. Lodging here puts business travelers near GE Canada, Siemens, Pepsi-QTG, De Laval, Ministry of Natural Resources and other businesses in Peterborough. Our hotel's amenities include over 650 sq. m. of meeting space, catering services and a 24-hour Business Centre. From the indoor/outdoor pool and whirlpool to the kid's playroom and recreation room, our Peterborough hotel's amenities keep you entertained. Enjoy a meal at the Riverside Grill, visit the Fitness Centre and relax in a 100% nonsmoking guest room or suite featuring comfortable beds with triple-sheeted mattresses, work areas with free high-speed Internet access, a 32-inch LCD TV and more. We invite you to stay at our hotel in Peterborough, where the only thing we overlook is the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Peterborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Peterborough Hotel Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough Ontario
Peterborough Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing