We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for meetings and over-nighters”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Peterborough
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were at this hotel on May 22 and 23, 2014, to attend a meeting that included participants who came from a wide areas of Ontario.

It's located along a river and, as requested, we had a room that gave us a close view of the water, foliage and ducks. The small balcony, requested by me when making the booking, was a nice inclusion.

Located on the top floor of the two-floor structure, the room itself, while comparatively on the smaller side, was quite ample for our needs -- clean and well appointed. The king size bed was very comfortable. There was daily attention given to the room by the maid.

Wherever we went within the hotel, staff members were friendly, helpful and smiling. There were no issues with the room or staff. We did run into a small glitch with opening a stubbord outside door with our key card but that was settled fairly quickly when the front desk was advised.

The last night of our stay included supper for our large group (over 100) in the banquet room. While that room itself is well appointed, it was on the crowded side for so many of us. In fact, at our table there were three chairs that could not be used because they were so close to chairs behind them and therefore could not be pulled out from our table and sat in. Evidently, the hotel incorrectly thought it could accommodate our numbers, but we managed.

Unfortunately, the meal itself was somewhat of a disappointment because the main course consisted mainly of something called "beef tenderloin with peppercorn au jus" but which more closely resembled a large and strange-looking hunk of brown whatever. There was too much and we noticed many others leaving most of that item on their plates. If one could get past the beef's appearance, one might even like the taste, although that, too, was questionable. However, our table gave points to the chef who, it appeared, was either brand new at his/her job or was trying out a new recipe. In any event, we didn't starve because the meal included oven roasted potatoes, market vegetables, fresh rolls and, the highlight, a choice of chocolate or vanilla cake, the latter being very popular.

Speaking of meals, we (the two of us) had a small supper our first day there in the hotel's restaurant. Again, it was well appointed, staff was very cordial and the food we chose was quite good. Prices, however, are rather steep. There are a couple of eating establishments across the street.

Would we stay here again or recommend it to friends? Quite possibly, because the positives outweigh the negatives. Note my remarks above regarding our hotel room. However, we might first look into the attractions of other local hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob&Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. All the feedback we receive from our guests in very important to us and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff are dedicated to providing a high level of customer service and it's great that you experienced this.

I will be sure to pass along your comments regarding the banquet room and the meal to our Catering Sales Manager and our Executive Chef. They will both want to hear about your experience.

Thank you again for comments and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Peterborough
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

I recently attended a conference here. The staff are fantastic - diligent, friendly, helpful, and professional. The rooms and facilities are a bit tired, and the noise on the highway side of the hotel is quite loud at night, even with the white noise from the air conditioner. However, the rooms are very clean, each has a fridge and plenty of outlets, and there's good water pressure. The wi-fi was terrible though - it continually cut out and was quite frustrating. I understand a renovation is coming soon, perhaps internet issues will be addressed at that time.

Room Tip: Request a room on the river side, or bring earplugs to facilitate a good night's sleep if you ar...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaLike2hike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank for your taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Peterborough Waterfront! I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us!

Our staff are amazing and I will be happy to share your comments with them. Our service culture is very important to us and it's great when that is recognized.

We will be undergoing a multi-million dollar renovation begin in 2015 which will give the hotel an much more modern and updated look. We are very excited about it! In the meantime, I will mention the wi-fi issues you experienced to our Maintenance Manager to see if others were experiencing the same problem.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This has been over the years one of our favourite places to stay. It's usually because for one reason or another such as getting caught in traffic in Toronto, we need to stop to rest. Our first impression when got to our room this time was "Really!?" As it was mentioned in another review the place has aged and it is in need of some renovations and updates. ( We were told that Holiday Inn is planning renovations in 2015) But after a couple of drafts on their beautiful new outdoor patio, we were fine. The big plus of this hotel is that they have the friendliest staff and location, location, location. It's on the waterfront and with the free parking they provide you don't need to get back in the car until it's time to leave... everything is walking distance. If you can, try to get a room facing the water... and enjoy the view on your balcony. Thanks again to the management and staff for your awesome hospitality and the delicious birthday desert and card.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy's S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Peterborough Waterfront! We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and keep coming back!

As you mention, we will be undergoing a multi million renovation beginning in 2015 which will completely modernize the hotel and provide us with a much more updated look.

I will definitely pass along your comments and thanks to the staff...they will love reading that!

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here on the first leg of a 4 day motorcycle trip. This was a good decision. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable even with a cot on the floor as there were 3 of us in the room. Unfortunately for myself I forgot to pack a bathing suit so was unable to take advantage of the pool / hot tub. The waterside restaurant was a nice touch. The one problem we had was a minor one we ordered the fish and chip basket which comes with 4 fish sticks. The waitress came back and said that one us would have to take 1 chicken strip instead. No problem I took the chicken strip and my 3 pieces of fish however one of my travelling companions still only got 3 pieces of fish. We mentioned this bad we got a smile and a sorry and no offer of restitution. That aside it was still an enjoyable stay and if In the area again I would stay there with no hesitation

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solocamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for taking a moment to write a review of your recent stay the hotel Holiday Inn Peterborough Waterfront! We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

I am sorry to hear about the issue you had on the Gazebo. I will definitely pass that along to our Outlets Manager for her to follow up on.

I hope you and your group enjoyed the remainder of your motorcycle trip and we hope to see all of you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I've stayed at this location several times. The staff are quite friendly and helpful. The views of the water are lovely. The best sweet potato hash I've ever had is on the breakfast menu. The breakfast wait staff are always wonderful.

On about half of my stays, I get to my room and the keycard does not work. The problem is rectified quickly, but still a pain to have to do.

The interior of the hotel - rooms, hallways, lobby - are all in desperate need of updating. Very old carpets, some musty smells. Interior rooms with pool views are stuffy and dark. First floor rooms have doors leading to the outside. Bathrooms seem to have never seen renovations since first installed, many decades ago. Please consider providing updated toiletry products. The parking lot is like driving through craters and many parking spaces are at steep angles. Please consider repaving.

I continue to stay here because of the location and IHG reward points, and I look forward to the renos I understand are planned for 2015. I hope they get started earlier.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms have no natural sunlight. Waterview rooms have lovely views.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests.

Thank you for recognizing the strength of our hotel, our staff. They pride themselves on delivering exceptional service to our guests and it's great to see that you've experienced this.

We too are looking forward to our renovations in 2015. All of the areas you mention in your review will be addressed during our renovations and we can't wait to see the finished product. Thank you for remaining a loyal guest of the Holiday Inn Peterborough Waterfront!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn, in Peterborough for the weekend, and we were impressed.
The rooms are clean, and beds (while a little hard) were comfortable. A pillow selection from hard to soft was a nice touch.
The view from our room overlooked little lake.
The pool area was amazing. Warm, and both an indoor and outdoor area to swim. The hot tub and sauna were also working great.
Best of all were the people. They were all smiling, welcoming and very helpful.
Overall a great place to stay when your in the Peterborough area.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the lake and river. The view is much nicer than the city side.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a review on your stay at the Holiday Inn Peterborough Waterfront! We're delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and got to experience the amenities the hotel has to offer!

For our staff, customer service is priority one, and I will certainly pass along to them the great impression they left on you!

Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights, It was nice and clean, and staff was friendly including the housekeeping staff. We had drinks in the Bar and that was nice. I thought the price was kinda high, we got a room that was a view of the water, It was more of a view of the parking lot. with little view of the water.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Peterborough Waterfront! We appreciate the time you took to comment on our hotel!

By the sounds of it, you were in one of our marina views, which is an upgraded room type at the hotel view views of both the marina beside us and of Little Lake.

The service culture at the hotel is very important to us and our staff prides themselves on provided amazing customer service to each guest that walks through our doors.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterborough
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
530 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Peterborough
213 reviews
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Peterborough
Super 8 Peterborough
#2 of 12 in Peterborough
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Peterborough
Quality Inn Peterborough
#7 of 12 in Peterborough
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
#4 of 12 in Peterborough
196 reviews
9.0 mi away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#1 of 2 in Lakefield
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Peterborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Peterborough

Address: 150 George St N, Peterborough, Ontario K9J 3G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Peterborough
Price Range: £94 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Peterborough 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Friendliest Service Among Peterborough, Ontario Hotels Located In the heart of the Kawarthas, the Holiday Inn Hotel Peterborough Waterfront is ideally situated along the Trent Severn Waterway in the downtown business and shopping district with 60 restaurants within walking distance. Our hotel's central location puts you near the world's highest hydraulic lift lock and Canada's only Canoe Museum, 1.5 km from our hotel. Peterborough hosts numerous festivals throughout the year, such as summer's Festival of Lights and is home to popular arts facilities, like Showplace Performance Centre. You'll also find some of the best shopping opportunities in downtown Peterborough. Lodging here puts business travelers near GE Canada, Siemens, Pepsi-QTG, De Laval, Ministry of Natural Resources and other businesses in Peterborough. Our hotel's amenities include over 650 sq. m. of meeting space, catering services and a 24-hour Business Centre. From the indoor/outdoor pool and whirlpool to the kid's playroom and recreation room, our Peterborough hotel's amenities keep you entertained. Enjoy a meal at the Riverside Grill, visit the Fitness Centre and relax in a 100% nonsmoking guest room or suite featuring comfortable beds with triple-sheeted mattresses, work areas with free high-speed Internet access, a 32-inch LCD TV and more. We invite you to stay at our hotel in Peterborough, where the only thing we overlook is the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Peterborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Peterborough Hotel Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough Ontario
Peterborough Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing