We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good downtown base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Peterborough
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We were ending a three week vacation from UK by visiting relatives in the Peterborough area and wanted somewhere central to stay. We read the reviews on here which left us confused as they were somewhat mixed. We actually stayed there for a full week so let me try to be as balanced as possible.
We found this hotel to be perfectly good value for money and would happily stay there again if we are back in Peterborough.
I think that the owners don't help themselves by advertising this as a luxury boutique hotel, I think this raises expectations in some guests eyes. I would describe it as an independently run, good value, downtown hotel.
The rooms are large and whilst the decor is a little dated we could not fault the cleanliness. Our room looked out the back which means that there is no view to speak of but these rooms are quieter than those that look out onto the main road.
Position is perfect if you need to be in Peterborough as its right in the centre and they offer complementary parking at the multi level car park just round the corner.
Breakfast was basic but adequate and if you need a big blow out then the adjacent Whistle stop cafe caters for the biggest appetite at cheap prices.
In terms of comments about the decor we did notice that a number of the rooms were being redecorated as we were there. Someone made comments about reception, again over the week we experienced the whole team and I agree that one of the ladies on duty was a little less chatty than the others but we were afforded every courtesy and found the staff helpful at all times.
So OK its not the Four Seasons but if you want that pay the price, equally at a value price its not a soulless cell on an out of town car park.
Good value, independent hotel.

Room Tip: Front if you want a view and back if you like it quiet
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

We had a great time here a few months ago, my fiance and I spent the weekend here while attending my best friend's wedding! Great front desk service, the girl I believe her name was Jessica helped us out for a great place to have dinner and was more then happy to help us when we were having a dilemma with the ice maker! It was very clean and comfortable, we will defiantly be going back again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We booked the last room available in the hotel and realized when we got there that it was right off of the lobby. We could see it from where we were checking in. When we arrived in the room we found dirty tissues on the table next to a key that was left there. Also the pull-out bed was not made and looked like it had not been changed from the last use. When we visited the bathroom there was dark hair all over the place, like in the tub, sink and on the floor. It was disgusting! There was a lot of space to hang about and I found that if you put the fan on in the washroom, you can avoid the noise from the street.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PerfectlyPuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasleen S, Manager at Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Thank you for your feedback. Guest comfort is our main concern here and I notice that you rated many aspects of your stay in a favorable way. Thank you for your thorough review. I am sorry to see that you had several issues with your room. Sometimes during very busy times or when we are training new staff some oversights /can/ occur. If you notify staff about these problems anyone working will be happy to assist you as best they can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Considering how much you enjoyed the location and service I am surprised you gave us such a low rating overall. Perhaps another room would have been more to your liking, unfortunately our ability to make such accommodations is limited with a last minute reservation when we are already very busy. We do appreciate your business however and hope to see you here again. :) We have also taken care of the issues you mentioned with the room because of your feedback, so thanks again ! Feedback is how we know when there are problems not discovered through regular duty and inspection. We appreciate your comments and your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We recently stayed at the hotel for a one-night stay. The room was one of the dirtiest we've ever stayed in - dirty kleenex left on night table, pull-out bed with sheets that hadn't been changed from the previous guest, yucky hair on bathroom floor and shower/tub. Suggest travellers stay at another hotel while in Peterborough.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank catherine2011928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasleen S, Manager at Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I would suggest in the future you bring these issues up at the time of your stay at a hotel. If you notify staff of these sorts of problems at check-in, check-out or when they are discovered we can do many things to make your stay more comfortable. Sometimes when we are very busy or even when training new staff oversights /can/ occur. Your comfort and enjoyment is always our top priority and we would have done our best to accommodate your concerns. By not allowing us to offer any compensation or services in this regard you made your stay here much less enjoyable that was required. If you like, please still contact the hotel about the incident and we can see if there is any way to get your business back. We value our customers and try to meet their needs as well as we are able. In the past few weeks we have had several hundred guests who have had a less than 1% dissatisfaction rate, so while I am sorry your experience was not as you would have desired I do find your rating and warning to others to be a little overzealous in this instance. Nevertheless thank you for your feedback and the issues you brought up with that unit are long since addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Stayed with young children for an event downtown and our needs were met. Comfortable room, although modernizing fixtures, walls and floors would greatly increase likability. Customer service was good. Window faced the wall of an adjacent building but no complaints because it was quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed at the Hotel May 2012 for a wedding that was at The Venue. The hotel was clean and very close to where we had to be for the wedding. The bathroom had a large jacuzzi tub that was relaxing before and after the wedding. The front desk employees where polite and informative. In the morning there was a continental breakfast with many options to choose from. The price was average. I would recommend this hotel if it's convenient for your stay in Peterborough.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPinCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I stayed at the Peterborough Inn and Suites for one night in February 2012. The hotel is clean and comfortable. It's not the luxury hotel that the owners claim it is and these are rooms not suites, but otherwise it's fine. There is no parking but the hotel comps your parking at a public lot around the corner. There are lots of restaurants just steps from the hotel. I can recommend Elements, which is arguably the best restaurant in Peterborough. The hotel's continental breakfast is rather skimpy. I had no problems with noise. The staff are nice. It's easy to find and since it's downtown the location is excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterborough
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough
#5 of 12 in Peterborough
380 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
530 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Peterborough
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Peterborough
Super 8 Peterborough
#2 of 12 in Peterborough
1,587 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Peterborough
Quality Inn Peterborough
#7 of 12 in Peterborough
184 reviews
8.7 mi away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#1 of 2 in Lakefield
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel

Address: 312 George St N, Peterborough, Ontario K9J 3H2, Canada (Formerly Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Peterborough
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Peterborough
Price Range: £69 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the only hotel located in the downtown core of Peterborough Ontario with a true boutique feeling. Our suites are ideal for business travelers, romantic get-a-ways, bridal parties and any special occasion. Continental breakfast, wireless Internet, local phone calls, parking and 15% discount Diners card are all included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peterborough Inn And Suites Hotel
Peterborough Hotel Peterborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing