We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decayed elegance”

Showplace Performance Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“decayed elegance”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

time to clean it up a bit, put some bathrooms on the main floor and make a real performance theatre out of it. Instead, it looks and feels like an old movie theatre that is struggling to stay alive. Oh yeah, some relevant acts would be nice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jamester1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    21
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Local Entertainment Centre”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Peterborough's only entertainment centre that is downtown; lots of parking on street or in parkade (off King Street-west of George). Always greeters who are happy and assist to seating. Seats are comfortable - only drawback would be a lack of elevators.

Festival of Trees event was showcased at Showplace after it left Peterborough's Memorial Centre - due to lack of elevators to upper levels, many seniors and handicapped folks were unable to enjoy what used to be "the" annual event at Christmas in our City.

Showplace hosts local talent and concerts as well as talent from across Canada/USA - always something happening at Showplace - from Dora the Explorer to Elvis to ballet!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank louiseliedtke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“SAAT "we killed it, NOT"”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

was here for the SAAT cultural outreach show, the seating was comfortable, the lighting was good, and the sight lines were quite satisfactory. What was hugely disappointing though was the rubbish that SAAT put on the stage, after which they proclaimed to have killed the show, well they killed it, but not in the way they thought they did, anyway I like this place for a live showing.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jama T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Thanks Showplace !”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

A beautiful little theater, downtown Peterborough. I have been able to enjoy many concerts over the last few years and thought it was time to say thanks for providing much needed entertainment to our community. I had the opportunity to be at last nights performance for Matt Anderson. The theater is very well kept and the staff were very attentive and friendly, all the way from ticket pickup to placing us in our seats. The show was amazing, the sound was fantastic and the I didn't have to travel all the way to Toronto!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank GetOutOfPtbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great talent!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This little community venue does a great job of bringing in some national talent and providing a stage for local artists.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Showplace Performance Centre also viewed

 

Been to Showplace Performance Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing