We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent choices - variety and flavour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hoshi Restaurant

Hoshi Restaurant
Ranked #66 of 312 Restaurants in Peterborough
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“excellent choices - variety and flavour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

well services - atmosphere - presentation - a surprise visit to this local restaurant was better than expected - not low grade sushi rip-off - but quality product - presentation and wonderful layers of flavour

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very good service, less than perfect sushi.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

While we were satisfied with our meal, we weren't super impressed. Some pieces were perfect and just plain yummy but others were less so. They were out of toro for sashimi so that was disappointing too. But all in all with a very friendly, sweet and competent server, the meal was fine. But we'll try another place for sushi in the area before we go back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaMama4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, NB
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great staff and always fresh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

I always drop into this place when I'm working in the Peterborough area. Staff is super friendly and enjoy sitting at the sushi bar. Food is alaways served fast and very fresh. Will be back in Feb. 2013.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pdiddy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super Sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Have dined at Hoshi many times over the past couple years; never disappointing, excellent service and value for money. Although essentially a Korean restaurant, Hoshi also serves some of the best sushi/sashimi in the county. Had dinner there recently and ordered the "Nigiri Sushi Boat", consisting of a dozen pieces of assorted sushi plus 6 pieces of California roll. The sushi portions are freshly prepared and the size is quite generous.The meal comes with miso soup, salad and green tea that is liberally replenished, all this for about $20 including tax. Lunch specials are served until 3pm, try the "Osaka Lunch": 8 pieces nigiri, 8 pieces sashimi, 6 california roll, plus miso, salad, and dessert all for around $13. Hoshi does takeout as well, you can phone in advance and pick up the order later, the "Party Platters" are superb!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Omar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Homemade sauces, fresh fish daily, as good as it gets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

While out in the lakes area we were looking for something better than fast food. We saw a person leaving with a huge plate of sushi, and asked if it was good. He was the local owner of the big supermarket and confirmed that it was the best, always fresh fish which they went to hand pick every day.
There are little enclosed booths almost like in Japan, and other various tables. The server was delightful, and I also met the family members who prepare the food. Being Korean they offer an extensive menu for both regions, both equally well prepared.
They hand make their soya sauce and sauce for sales. It couldn't be better.

For a little tourist city in the heart of the lakes area, it is a rare find, we were pleasantly surprised, as in Toronto I cannot find a place this good.

Whole heartedly recommend if you are in Peterborough you plan at stop here, or order take out if you're going off to cottage country and beyond.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hoshi Restaurant also viewed

 
Peterborough, Ontario
Peterborough, Ontario
 

Been to Hoshi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing