We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the noisy city”
Review of South Landing Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
South Landing Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Queenston
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This place is great if you want somewhere to kick back. I went 3 days in the winter so it was even quieter. At some point I think we were the only guests.

Room is nice, with simple, comfortable beds. They don't charge extra for 2 beds in the room, so you can have quite a few people in the room if you are on a budget. The room has the vibe of budget luxury. The electric fireplace is a nice touch, and they take care of small things like alarm clocks.

It's about 15 minutes to either Niagara-on-the-lake or Niagara falls, which is great if you want to visit both places. There's not much in the area, so it's pointless to go here without a car. Breakfast is simple, and Tony treats his guest like they are old friends. I enjoy listening to his stories.

I'm reluctantly giving this 5 stars, because the hotel was good but not outstanding, but the service puts this place high up on hotels I'd want to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for South Landing Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

This was our first visit to South Landing Inn and we hope to return soon. This little gem is hidden away inside the town of Queenston and is bypassed by the main road. We were delighted that our room was warm and ready for us upon arrival with a nice gas fire glowing in the main room. Very neat and tidy with beautifully comfortable pillows and mattresses. Very nice breakfast facility in the main office and ample free parking. Free WiFi with a good signal. We stayed in room 109 which is a corner suite and very pleasant.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DWGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed over for one night on a Niagara River fishing trip. The room was great and accommodated 3 of us perfectly. The room was clean and well appointed. I will definitely return here in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bassassassin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My husband and I both felt we could not have made a better choice for our accommodations at NOTL. Our main purpose of this trip was for biking, and the South Landing is right on the bike trail. The Owners of the Inn were more than happy to help us with tips on where to dine, directions and local sites. The South Landing is located in a quiet, residential area but is a short drive to NOTL and the Falls. Our room was very clean and the bathroom in particular was very roomy. The breakfasts were excellent, the owners prepare it right there. The french toast is served with home-made jams. There is much to do and see in this area. I look forward to a return visit and would not consider staying anywhere other than the South Landing Inn. After researchng other hotel options, I don't think there is a better value to be had. The fact that the Owners are lovely, accommodating people made it so much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuannT52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights while attending productions at the Shaw Festival in Niagara on the Lake. The hotel is a hidden gem! It is in a lovely, quiet setting with attractive, well-appointed rooms. The rate at $95 per night was less than half the price at hotels in Niagara on the Lake and it's only a pleasant 15 - 20 minute drive to the Shaw Festival theater. It's also close to the Butterfly Conservatory and a short drive to attractions at the FallsThey also offer a great $5.00 breakfast in a charming dining space. You won't find a better value or friendlier service in the Niagara region.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jillo131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We chose this place as a lower cost alternative to the hotels in Niagara on the Lake. We were very pleassntly surprised to find a very nice, clean, well- appointed establishment. It can is convenient to the Shaw festival, the various attractions along the shore, and the falls themselves. The made to order breakfast for $5.00 is an added bonus. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wittj155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Great location, clean, friendly service and close to everything. Good value for your money.We stayed there 3 nights. Good breakfast available at a good price. We would consider staying there again since it was easy to get everywhere from this location.
.

Room Tip: There are end rooms with tables to sit out if you like to enjoy the sunshine.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gloria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenston
5.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,363 reviews
6.3 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,736 reviews
6.3 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,038 reviews
6.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
486 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Landing Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Landing Inn

Address: 21 Front Street South | PO Box 269, Queenston, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1L0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake > Queenston
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Queenston
Price Range: £47 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Landing Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Landing Inn, circa 1827, features the quiet, unspoiled charm of a country inn situated in the quaint, historical village of Queenston.Nestled in one of Canada's most popular tourist destinations we are surrounded by history, only minutes from the world renowned Shaw Festival Theatre, fine and casual dining, music, vineyards and wine tours in Niagara-on-the-Lake.Sightseeing and historic sites abound in Queenston and along the Niagara River Parkway.A leisurely drive in the other direction on the Parkway takes you to Niagara Falls and all its breathtaking beauty, excitement and fun activities.If you are interested in more physical activities, you will find fishing, boating, golfing and just steps away, the extensive Niagara Parkway's bicycle / walking / nature trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your South Landing Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Landing Hotel Queenston
South Landing Inn Queenston, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing