We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good accomodations in sarnia ontario”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
windsor ontario canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good accomodations in sarnia ontario”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

It was a cold snowy wintry night and didn't want to head out to my destination, so at last minute decided to stay overnight.Got a room immediately (even though there was a youth hockey team booked here)
The room was warm and cozy as soon as I entered it---a welcome relief from -20c outside..
Hotel is fairly new-clean, warm, well furnished with small fridge,micro.
Service was excellent, especially night staff on desk, and morning staff.
Everything clean, fresh spotless bedding and warm blankets and self-control for thermostat made my stay good' Hotel was quiet.
Continental breakfast was ok---could have had more choices. good value for price.

Room Tip: I think they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjkain2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    35
    34
    24
    22
See reviews for
39
29
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed here for a night in Canada Day weekend. We arrived late in the night with no reservation, and the receptionist was very kind to us. The room was nice, spacious, cleans linen and bathroom. Breakfast was included in the room fare, you could make your own waffles or choose cereal, yogurt and some other things, although the place is rather small. Overall a nice stay, would stay again if need to stop at Sarnia.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ucanonico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HojoSarnia, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia, responded to this review, 12 November 2011
Thank you for the very nice review on Tripadvisor. We take great pride in our outstanding staff and our beautiful hotel. We are so happy to have had the privilege to share it with you on the Canada Day weekend. I hope that you found time to enjoy some of the exciting Canada Day festivities in our wonderful city during your stay. It has been and always will be our absolute pleasure to take care of you while you are revisiting Sarnia. Thank you kindly, Susan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

By far the worst stay in a hotel. Smelled like smoke, bugs in corner of walls and floors, dead bug on bed, dirty sock under mattress. Had a stain on our comforter just overall really gross. We all slept with clothings and hoodies on. Not fun. Told no other rooms and can't get a refund due to booking through a 3rd party. NEVER AGAIN!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wlivings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Location was great for the Slots Casino and nearby attractions but a substandard hotel. The night staff was fantastic but the management I saw handled everything very poorly. First thing to know is the rooms are TINY. No chair, no table, a child size bathroom and people smoking and hanging around right outside your room.

1. Everything was unplugged when I got into room.
2. Flies everywhere.
3. TV volume was permanently low
4. Clock radio AND coffee maker did not work
5. AC was turned off for the season, over 80f in room!
6. No ice machine in hotel!
7. No hair dryer in bathroom

After the front desk fixed as much as they could for the night (very nice people) I gave up the following morning and insisted on a new room. New room was better but still sub standard. I left a very unhappy customer. No one apologized. All I heard was excuses.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gloopytrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london,ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We just stayed here to go to the Hiawatha bash. Well when we arrived we were so happy because the venue was right behind this hotel, along with the casino. There were go kart's to rent, driving range and 2 minutes down the road there was a water park. As a true Canadian I was so over joyed to see a Tim Horton's right across the road. Everything was so close and easy to get to. The hotel itself has just been renovated. Not bad for a night's stay. The things I did'nt like about the stay was that the girl at the counter told us there was a bar and restaurant right in our hotal and when we arrived, it was there but not functionable. Also the door are the old style key and lock and our room's latch was broken, so very easy to get in if someone wanted to. All in all though not bad at all. Had an amazing time with everything so close by.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadiangirlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HojoSarnia, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
We would like to thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are so delighted to hear that you had an amazing time during your stay and you found our location to be everything that you were looking for. We are very sorry that we missed you at our restaurant. The hours are 6:30am-10pm. We hope to see you again. Thank you kindly, Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shag Harbour, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Stayed for just one night,it was a very quiet hotel, comfy bed (good pillowtop)and clean. They offer a free breakfast, we just grabbed a breakfast bar, but they did have make your own waffles. It's a basic motel, but I would stay there again if I was visiting Sarnia again. A nicest things about the room was that it did have a mini fridge and a coffee maker including a flat screen TV.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oxygenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HojoSarnia, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Thank you Oxygenator for the very nice review you did for us on Tripadvisor. We are all very delighted to hear that you had a quiet and restful stay while visiting our beautiful city. The next time you stay with us you will find that our continental breakfast location has moved to our onsite restaurant. It now has many more healthy and fresh items to offer. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again. Always with pleasure, Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Pulling into the parking lot, which is in very sad need of paving, and looking at the outer shell of the building I wondered what the heck we were in for. If you look close you will know what I mean.
I have to agree with other reviewers. Our room was renovated, a comfortable king sized bed. Nice bedding and pillows. The bathroom is small but was very clean. We had a modern flat screen tv and bar sized fridge. The windows are really old and there was a shed of some kind which was noisey when used kind of late in the evening right under the window.
The price was right and the front desk was very helpful. The doors stuck every time we used them. I couldn't open the emergency exit door, which was not cool. They had been painted with a high gloss paint, which had not dried before use. The key system is way out dated as well, but there is a extra flip lock which was good. I did see some double rooms in our hall which looked a bit scary. Very old beds and bedding and the beds were so low. Hopefully they fix them up soon. We didn't eat the breakfast so I can not comment. John's across the street was too hard to pass up. I hope they put in a pool when they finish the renovations.

* something else that needs to be mentioned is there is no elevator*

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuesdaysgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HojoSarnia, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Thank you Tuesdaysgone for your honest review. We appreciate your perspective as this helps us to improve our facility to better meet each of our guests needs. We immediately looked into all emergency doors and I can assure you this is uncommon and occurred due to humidity level in the exterior stairwell during the big heat spell we recently had. This has been taken care of as you are right this was unacceptable. We very much look forward to sharing all of our upcoming improvements with you! Thank you for choosing the Howard Johnson Inn - Sarnia and we are all looking forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarnia hotels
4.0 mi away
Drawbridge Inn
Drawbridge Inn
#6 of 16 in Sarnia
32 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 16 in Sarnia
88 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn Sarnia
Quality Inn Sarnia
#3 of 16 in Sarnia
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sarnia/Point Edward
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia
Address: 1716 London Line, Sarnia, Ontario N7T 7H2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Sarnia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please pay pets fee is $25 at check-in because its not included the price ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia Hotel Sarnia
Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing