We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My brief stay at this establishment was very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    35
    34
    24
    22
See reviews for
39
29
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wingham
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013

this was our second stay at this inn and was pleased with everything till next morn. when having a shower slipped in the very slippery tub and fell out of tub onto the floor with the shower curtains around my back......needs a non slip mat for tub

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank J.keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The room was both clean and spacious, the room had everything that you'd expect it to have. The bath was larger then I'm used to, largely my only complaint with the room was the firmness of the bed. I was firmer then what I'm used to so I woke up slightly sore.

Other then that it was a good stay, the food at the restaurant that the hotel is partnered with was good and the staff at both establishments were friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoney Creek
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

A lot of dust behind furnature, and lots of little black gnats and fruit flies and no obvious cause of source... Not the cleanest place I've ever stayed at. There was even someone else's urine under the toilet seat. Couldn't bother complaining, because the kid working behind the counter seemed too busy playing with his cell phone to care. Very economical, and not a slum by any means.... Very good value on a budget, but don't stay more than you have to. The breakfast restaurant next door was excellent!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, IN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Hotel was easy to find and close to the highway. The check-in clerk was very friendly, even late at night. My room was large, and nicely updated. However, the housekeeping failed to notice an empty can sitting behind the door that was left by the previous guests, there was some spilled liquid on the nightstand, and there were fruit flies all over the bathroom.

It was also very cold in the room when I arrived, and even at the highest setting, the heater was never strong enough to make it comfortable. There was an extra blanket, which helped a bit, but I had a terrible night's sleep. The night clerk mentioned a breakfast voucher, but this was never offered at check-out.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCatherineH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Good staff, clean room and bathroom, breakfast voucher to the restaurant they own next door is worthwhile especially considering the void in decent meal options in the immediate area. Location is not very good but I don't see how anyone is staying here without a vehicle anyway. Easy drive to downtown. Would be hard pressed to find a better $60 room anywhere in Northeastern North America.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarnia hotels
4.0 mi away
Drawbridge Inn
Drawbridge Inn
#6 of 16 in Sarnia
32 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 16 in Sarnia
88 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn Sarnia
Quality Inn Sarnia
#3 of 16 in Sarnia
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sarnia/Point Edward
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia
Address: 1716 London Line, Sarnia, Ontario N7T 7H2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Sarnia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please pay pets fee is $25 at check-in because its not included the price ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia Hotel Sarnia
Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing