We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This was my 5th or 6th stay this year, and I'm headed back next week; this property has been my first choice in Sarnia for at least 20 years. Bridges is a surprisingly good restaurant, more akin to the European approach to hotel restaurants than the more basic American style. You can actually get some really good food here, albeit a little more pricey thanks to the exchange rate. I rate it in the top 3 places to eat in Sarnia. One of the few places that will prepare a REAL Caesar Salad tableside for you. Staff is friendly, efficient and approachable. Nice to be recognized as a platnium PC, too.

Room Tip: If you get a west wing ground floor room, be sure to double check the little window on the side of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JS-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSarnia, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Thank you for the many years you have chosen to stay at our hotel. I truly appreciate the great comments about the quality of our Restuarant and our people. Our Executive Chef, Phil Washington, is all about cooking with fresh and local ingredients and as such, is passionate about changing our menus with the seasons. Although we do have very small (12" X 12") sliding windows on the ground floor in the West Wing for fresh air, all of these windows do completely lock. As a Platinum member, we do recognize that you are on the road a great deal and as such, I was pleased to read that you find our hotel comfortable and enjoy your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    142
    68
    19
    18
See reviews for
95
63
17
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petoskey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This was a clean and comfortable place. No complaints.

Room Tip: Newer tower rooms do not have balconies. The older section does, if this is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorothy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSarnia, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Thanks for sharing your experience with everyone. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I am accustomed to thinking of Holiday Inns as standard. This one is a cut above. The beds were very comfortable. They have a really nice garden, bar, ballroom complex. We had a great stay there. The staff is wonderful. It's surprisingly nice since it looks like it's just in an industrial area as you approach it. All the good stuff is on the back side of the building. Really nice pool, sauna facilities. The facilities are a little tired - we had a small bit of trouble with our room key cards, and they need to upgrade in many places.... but overall, very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSarnia, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
We are very excited to be a part of the global relaunch of Holiday Inn's with so many guests, including yourself, noticing a variety of positive changes with their hotel experience. The recent relaunch focuses on the things research shows matters most to guests - a contemporary hotel with efficient, friendly service and a great nights sleep! Our location is also unique and sets us apart - our heated outdoor pool (seasonal) and patio with live entertainment overlooking our 9 hole golf course gives the property a resort-like feel in the spring and summer months. We are committed to providing our guests with continual upgrades to the property which is an on-going process and is directed by our guest feedback. I appreciate the comments and I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

After a family member recently passed away in Sarnia we had to scramble to book a last-minute trip out to attend the funeral. When it got time to choose the accommodations in Sarnia, the Holiday Inn seemed a good choice. The booking process was quick and painless, and the rates compared to others you see nowadays. The hotel was situated in a lovely spot by the Bluewater Bridge and was surrounded by nice greenery and scenery. The lobby was very nice and seemed very open and welcoming, and the staff were courteous and quick when we were checking in. Our room was in the slightly older part of the hotel, just a few doors down from the newly constructed tower, and the hallways perhaps looked a little darker and worn compared to the newer section. The room was very nice, maybe a little older looking compared to the newer tower rooms, but there was absolutely nothing wrong with it. The beds appeared to be new along with the television and some of the furniture which was a nice bonus, and the bathroom was clean and up-to-date. We didn't use any of the hotel's facilities such as the pool or fitness center due to the nature of the trip, but just from a quick walk past they appeared to be in excellent condition. The restaurant was absolutely wonderful and served up great breakfast, lunch, and dinner entrees ranging from more common place dishes to gourmet offerings. We even found a few $5.00 off vouchers for the restaurant sitting in our room one night which was a very nice touch! About the only thing I thought could have been improved was the size of the bathroom in the room, as it did seem a little cramped and didn't have much wiggle room for the occupants. Other than that, it was a very nice hotel; exactly what you would expect from a Holiday Inn; and we will definitely be back the next time we find ourselves in the Sarnia area.

Room Tip: If looking for a slightly more upscale experience, choose a room situated in the tower portion of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheYYCTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSarnia, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Our condolences to you and your family as this must have been a difficult time for everyone involved. I was glad to read that we could provide a comfortable stay and meet all of your accomodation needs during this time. I do appreciate you sharing the details of your experience at our hotel and trust that others may find the information useful. The $5.00 restaurant voucher that you mention is a local benefit that we offer to our Priority Club members to recognize and thank them for choosing our hotel. Thank you for sharing your experiences and we look forward to your return under happier times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
186 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I stayed in the wing to the right of the lobby. (West?) Overall it was a decent enough stay. Room was clean and fine, newish flatscreen tv. Hallways are a bit worn. Its a basic hotel. I would stay here again on business. Drove up the road a bit to the park area under the bridge. Fairly short drive into town. Front desk staff ranged from quite friendly to just okay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjkToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSarnia, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
As an experienced business traveler, your perspective on our West Wing Business Class rooms is both important and appreciated. Although I was pleased to read that the room was clean and met your needs, we are always striving to improve the consistency of our product and our service delivery. Thank you for your feedback and for making us your preferred hotel in Sarnia/Point Edward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This hotel was typical holiday inn quality with one exception. We had a tower room with a connecting door, and the walls/door were so poorly designed you could actually carry on a conversation between rooms. Every little noise carried. Other than that it was ok.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeczeczec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSarnia, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Thank you your feedback on the connecting doors. This is the first I have heard of this type of comment regarding noise between connecting rooms. We will investigate this concern to determine how we could reduce the noise between rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I was told that this was the best hotel in Sarnia so the bride blocked off rooms for family and friends to stay there. The rooms were very clean - stayed in the newer wing - and quite spacious. Food was good in their restaurants and it is a great deal if you have kids as they eat free if they are under 12 years of age. We even got a casino welcome package. The "casino" or rather OLG space was 10 minutes away from the hotel - you get $15 to play the slots.

The hotel is very near to the US border crossing and you can actually check out the line from the hotel.

There were many families enjoying the large outdoor salt water pool. Beds were comfortable. The king room comes with a pull out sofa bed.

The GPS had trouble finding the property. Even though it is in Sarnia, the area is called Point Edward.

I would stay there again if I had to go back to Sarnia.

Room Tip: Ice machine is at end of corridor so you might not want to take one around there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChineseJamaican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSarnia, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Your positive experience and great value you found in all areas of our hotel is exactly what we try to provide to all of our guests. I was really happy that we were successful and that you enjoyed your stay with us. As well, I appreciate the notation regarding GPS users as we are located in Point Edward (a beautiful village adjacent to Sarnia) and unfortunately will not be found in a GPS "Sarnia search". Thanks for all the great comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarnia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sarnia/Point Edward
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Guildwood Inn
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Sarnia
Quality Inn Sarnia
#4 of 16 in Sarnia
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Drawbridge Inn
Drawbridge Inn
#6 of 16 in Sarnia
30 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 16 in Sarnia
85 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harbourfront Inn
The Harbourfront Inn
#8 of 16 in Sarnia
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center

Property: Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center
Address: 1498 Venetian Blvd, Sarnia, Ontario N7T 7W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Sarnia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center 3*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel In Sarnia Offers Quality Service With beautiful views of the marina and the comforts of home, you can expect a relaxing stay at the Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel and Conference Center in Point Edward, ON. Our hotel's convenient location is 10 km from Sarnia Chris Hadfield Airport (YZR). From the Point Edward Charity Casino to Centennial Park, numerous attractions surround our hotel's guests. In Sarnia, you can visit the Sarnia Sports & Entertainment Center, see a show at the Imperial Theatre or shop at Lambton Mall. Golfers can enjoy a game at our own 9-hole Holiday Inn Golf Course or one of the many greens throughout Sarnia. Lodging here is also beneficial for business travelers working with Aamjiwnaang First Nations, Ontario Power Generation, UWO Research Park, Chemical Valley, the Canadian Coast Guard and more. Our hotel's amenities include over 12,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, business suites and a 24-hour business centre to meet your corporate needs. We go beyond other hotels in Sarnia to bring you the comforts of home, such as the on-site Bridges Bistro and Freightor's Lounge, an indoor and an outdoor pool, a hot tub, a sauna and a fitness centre. Our Sarnia hotel's rooms feature work areas with free high-speed Internet access, large TVs, spacious layouts and beautiful views. We are also 4 Green Keys - Environmentally! You'll enjoy a comfortable stay at the Holiday Inn hotel- Sarnia.Local pictures courtesy of TSL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel And Conf Center
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Sarnia
Sarnia Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing