We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a convenient hotel in Point Edward”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a convenient hotel in Point Edward”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We found that this hotel in Point Edward was clean, quiet, and in a convenient location for a family event. Our room was in the tower. We appreciated the variety of pillows, and the efficiency of the air conditioning unit. The pool was adequate. However, no towels were available at the time we were there. The staff was pleasant and efficient. For breakfast, we ate at the casino (adults only). They have a beautiful deck overlooking the St. Clair River and as we ate, we watched the boats go by. Unforgettable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarTor89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a chance to enjoy the hotel as well as some of the many exciting things to do in Sarnia and the surrounding area. We work closely with many of our partners including the Point Edward Casino to ensure that all of our visitors enjoy their experiences while in Lambton county. I appreciate you sharing this with everyone and hope to see you again soon.

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    142
    68
    19
    18
See reviews for
95
63
17
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I've stayed here 3 times now and I would say it is a reasonable value. First the good: clean rooms and facilities, nice swimming pool & weight room, convenient location. Staff is efficient if not overly friendly. On the negative side, rooms are a little tired (so far I've stayed in the older, 'executive' wing) and probably worth the 'upgrade' to the newer rooms. Rooms are a little noisy (recommend upper floor). Bedding also is a little on the budget end - and so far I've pretty much had to 're-make' the bed every night because they tuck so much in at thee bottom there is nothing left at the top. Strange - but this seems to be a consistent thing! The restaurants ambitions far exceed its execution and is over-priced for the quality of its offerings. (if it gets a little busy they can really fall behind). Same with the breakfast buffet - for me the menu was a better choice. If there were other choices in Sarnia I would look into them - however this is really about it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_and_M_from_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear K_and_M_from_SF,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the facilities and the location of the hotel. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. Rest assured that the issues you have raised has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. We thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed the evening of August 9th. The fellow who checked us in was pleasant and helpful. Our room was on the second floor just down from the indoor pool and faced the outdoor pool. Very nice view. It was clean. My only complaint about the room was that the solid drapes could not be completely closed, thereby reducing our privacy. The sheers just were not enough. We had both supper and breakfast in the on-site restaurant. Both times the service was slow (to be fair we were eating supper very late so it would have been off-peak but breakfast on the Saturday morning at 9ish was also extremely slow). Once our meals were served however, the food was good - no complaints. All in all, we would give this hotel another chance as we know how the unexpected can happen when it comes to staffing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grateful123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for the recommendation and the honest feedback. We are pleased to see you enjoyed the quality of the food and we will endeauvour to improve on the speed of service in the restaurant, As well, we are glad to read that both the room cleanliness, room location and the view were all to your liking. We would like to note that all of our guestrooms have blackout drapes behind the sheers to ensure both your privacy and comfort. We hope to welcome you back soon!!

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Business Brought me to Sarnia, and the holiday inn did not disappoint. The front desk was quick to greet me and very friendly and explained to me all of the amenities, where they were and their hours of operation. The room it self was a wonderful surprise and is very nice. Multiple pillows, in different hardness/softness, new tv and desk. The wifi was fantastic and only had some issues roaming the hallways, but in the room and in the restaurant I was always able to connect and use the wifi, which was included FREE. It's nice to see a hotel that doesn't charge extra for this essential service.

The restaurant/bar is also nice. When traveling for business I don't like to have to go far for a meal, and this one was very nice. The server greeted me promptly, and the menu had a good selection of entrees, and for a good value.

The Amenities are good, featuring an indoor and outdoor pool, hot tub and sauna. Would I stay again? Absolutely.

Room Tip: I booked on priceline.com, and was able to get a room for $90.00 vs the published rates on expida fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
As a business traveller, we understand that it's difficult to be on the road and away from home a lot of the time. We also realize that finding a hotel that you are comfortable with and that meets your needs is extremely important. It's very gratifying to see that we are a hotel that you trust and that you feel at home with while you are away on business. Thanks for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back!!

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
141 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

There was a bit of a family reunion in the Sarnia area so 8 of us stayed at the Holiday Inn. As far as the rooms went, they were decently priced and clean, relatively spacious but nothing out of the ordinary. The pool area was very nice, as was the adjoining restaurant area. The only complaint we had was that both times we ate in the restaurant they were understaffed and service, although competent on the part of the waitresses, was slow. One more person on each shift would have helped a lot. All of the staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful, especially Jody at the front desk. The Holiday Inn should be especially proud of her.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool have sliding glass doors and patio areas as well as a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena M.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you so much for providing some very important feedback on your experiences during your stay with us. I have personally shared your comments regarding staffing levels with our Food and Beverage Manager to ensure that we can improve our service delivery for the future. We also appreciate the acknowledgement of our team member Jody who will be recognized for her "friendly and helpful" service. We are happy that we could be a part of the family get together and hope to have you and your family return in the near future.

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shutesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

This was a great hotel to stay at if you are just crossing the border or just about to (depending on your travel direction). However they have the worse staff (except for the night time front desk staff (Dan)). When I checked in, Dan was incredible. He made sure I knew what was the closest side door to my room from my car so I wouldn't have to walk to far, verified my info quickly ( it was 1am) and made me feel welcome. The next day was completely different.

We went to breakfast at 9:15am and many tables were empty but not cleared. It took the host 5 mins to even say "be right with you" and she walked past us twice. When we were seated she asked if we would like coffee or other, "yes coffee and water for me, a chocolate milk for my daughter please". She returns with the smallest coffee I have ever seen and takes the pot (no water was brought). She then goes on to seat three other tables. It’s now 10 mins before the one of the other tables is waited on, then 2 more mins when the other is helped. I ask the host about our wait staff to which "I’ll get her" is replied. 3 mins goes by and someone comes over to say "you’re not in my section but what can I get for you?" No question on whether I would like more coffee. The front desk lady walks by and smiles to which I ask her for a wait staff or more coffee "that's normally not my job I don't know where it is but will walk to the front and get you a refill". What? She returns 3 mins later with a cold cup of coffee. The order was correct but it took an hour and 30 mins to eat. Really? When I get the bill I asked for change...That took them 10 mins to accomplish ( watched three different people handle my bills before it ended up in a wait staff hands that I had not seen once before)! I worked waiting tables and know how slammed you can get, crappy food can be saved by good wait staff, crap location or waiting can be saved by good wait staff, crappy wait staff ruined my stay. If you can't staff the restaurant for a busy Saturday morning, don't offer the service.

To make this the worse Holiday Inn I have ever stayed at was the front desk. It took 10 mins (no line at the desk checking out either) for them to process 6 postcards with cash for my daughter. Not a single "thank you for staying with us" either. I will drive right past this hotel if you care about your time or the money you pay for the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LTGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
We were very disappointed to read that our service has let you down and that we missed multiple opportunities to provide you with the warm, friendly and efficient service that we traditionally provide to our guests. We are genuinely sorry that you had such a poor experience and I would love the chance to make this right. Please contact me directly at your convenience. We do appreciate the honesty and detail of your review and hope that you would give us another try in the future.

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hamburg, Canada
Level Contributor
200 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Lovely, older hotel with amazing beds! The room was in nice condition and the staff were absolutely amazing! Quite possibly the best thing going for this hotel is the staff are so helpful, friendly and accommodating! Well... the pillows are amazing as well!! Nice clean facilities. I would recommend to anyone! We stayed in the older part of the hotel with our room on the second floor... My only complaint? The bathroom was too small, with a stained tub and the tv was too difficult to work. (But I am technically challenged and didn't bother to call the front desk for help)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Hi Suzanne! Thanks for such a glowing recommendation! Loved hearing that you connected with so many friendly employees. We are very proud of the genuine service our team members provide each and every day. Nice to hear that you appreciate some of the small details, like our pillows. To further enhance our guest's comfort, we are launching a new pillow menu shortly. This menu includes specialty pillow options such as Low Profile Pillow (4” height), Foam Pillow, Neck Support Pillow, Snore-Free Pillow, Firm Down (Feather) Pillow, Medium Down (Feather) Pillow. We hope you and all of our guests enjoy this new amenity.

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarnia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sarnia/Point Edward
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Guildwood Inn
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Sarnia
Quality Inn Sarnia
#4 of 16 in Sarnia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Drawbridge Inn
Drawbridge Inn
#6 of 16 in Sarnia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 16 in Sarnia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harbourfront Inn
The Harbourfront Inn
#8 of 16 in Sarnia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center

Property: Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center
Address: 1498 Venetian Blvd, Sarnia, Ontario N7T 7W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Sarnia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center 3*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel In Sarnia Offers Quality Service With beautiful views of the marina and the comforts of home, you can expect a relaxing stay at the Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel and Conference Center in Point Edward, ON. Our hotel's convenient location is 10 km from Sarnia Chris Hadfield Airport (YZR). From the Point Edward Charity Casino to Centennial Park, numerous attractions surround our hotel's guests. In Sarnia, you can visit the Sarnia Sports & Entertainment Center, see a show at the Imperial Theatre or shop at Lambton Mall. Golfers can enjoy a game at our own 9-hole Holiday Inn Golf Course or one of the many greens throughout Sarnia. Lodging here is also beneficial for business travelers working with Aamjiwnaang First Nations, Ontario Power Generation, UWO Research Park, Chemical Valley, the Canadian Coast Guard and more. Our hotel's amenities include over 12,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, business suites and a 24-hour business centre to meet your corporate needs. We go beyond other hotels in Sarnia to bring you the comforts of home, such as the on-site Bridges Bistro and Freightor's Lounge, an indoor and an outdoor pool, a hot tub, a sauna and a fitness centre. Our Sarnia hotel's rooms feature work areas with free high-speed Internet access, large TVs, spacious layouts and beautiful views. We are also 4 Green Keys - Environmentally! You'll enjoy a comfortable stay at the Holiday Inn hotel- Sarnia.Local pictures courtesy of TSL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel And Conf Center
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Sarnia
Sarnia Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing