We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center
Nearby Hotels
US$116
US$108
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
US$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
US$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
US$69
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
95
157
78
28
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
157
78
28
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursetower roomhot tub and saunaoutdoor poolnewer partjacuzzi suitehotel restaurantbluewater bridgequick stopcheck in was quickfront desk staffen routequiet roomwould stay here againpoint edwardchecking outnice surprise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 384 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The Holiday Inn Sarnia is located just off the 402, has an outdoor and indoor pool, a nice size gym area, hot tub and a golf course however the property is separated into a new Holiday Inn Express tower style hotel and the older Holiday Inn property. The older rooms run about 20.00 cheaper from the new rooms.

The rooms in the older section where I stayed are average with a frig, microwave, tv and desk but the furnishings was older. I did find that the beds are comfortable. I typically stay at in Hilton hotels for business and unfortunately there is a clear difference between the quality of these chains.

With the hotel honors program you are given $5.00 off coupons that you can use at the restaurant for meals however you are needed as the menu prices have been inflated. There was nothing on the dinner menu for less then $20.00 a plate.

That said, the staff both at the front desk and throughout the hotel where friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZoeMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Hi ZoeMR and thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.
As you typically stay in another Brand of hotels, we truly appreciate you staying with us and giving us your honest feedback on your experience at our hotel. As you detail in your review, we are constantly upgrading the guest product experience throughout the hotel and we continue to focus on the the delivery of the best guest service for all of our guests. I am glad to see that you experienced our "friendly and helpful staff". We enjoyed having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back!!

Geoff Eisenbraun,CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I have been going to Sarnia regularly over the last 17 years and more often than not I stay at the Holiday Inn. The hotel is old but well maintained. It is what you would expect from a holiday inn. The rooms are clean and the price is reasonable. Probably the best thing about this property is the people, some of the front desk workers have been at this hotel for as long as I can remember. The staff is always very nice and helpful.

There are many nice restaurants in Sarnia; however, if you stay there for any period of time I would recommend eating at the Holiday Inn one night the food is pretty good also.

Room Tip: Newer section of hotel has nicer rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

WOW!! Thank you for staying with us consistently over the past 17 years....all of the employees truly appreciate this loyalty and love having you back!! When I shared this review with several others, it was unanimous that all of us loved the fact that you are essentially part of the family AND that the best thing for you is the employee experience. FANTASTIC!! We are all proud of our restuarant Bridges for the quality of food and service that it provides. We do appreciate you recommending it to your fellow travellers. See you back soon and safe travels.

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We found that this hotel in Point Edward was clean, quiet, and in a convenient location for a family event. Our room was in the tower. We appreciated the variety of pillows, and the efficiency of the air conditioning unit. The pool was adequate. However, no towels were available at the time we were there. The staff was pleasant and efficient. For breakfast, we ate at the casino (adults only). They have a beautiful deck overlooking the St. Clair River and as we ate, we watched the boats go by. Unforgettable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarTor89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a chance to enjoy the hotel as well as some of the many exciting things to do in Sarnia and the surrounding area. We work closely with many of our partners including the Point Edward Casino to ensure that all of our visitors enjoy their experiences while in Lambton county. I appreciate you sharing this with everyone and hope to see you again soon.

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I've stayed here 3 times now and I would say it is a reasonable value. First the good: clean rooms and facilities, nice swimming pool & weight room, convenient location. Staff is efficient if not overly friendly. On the negative side, rooms are a little tired (so far I've stayed in the older, 'executive' wing) and probably worth the 'upgrade' to the newer rooms. Rooms are a little noisy (recommend upper floor). Bedding also is a little on the budget end - and so far I've pretty much had to 're-make' the bed every night because they tuck so much in at thee bottom there is nothing left at the top. Strange - but this seems to be a consistent thing! The restaurants ambitions far exceed its execution and is over-priced for the quality of its offerings. (if it gets a little busy they can really fall behind). Same with the breakfast buffet - for me the menu was a better choice. If there were other choices in Sarnia I would look into them - however this is really about it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K_and_M_from_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear K_and_M_from_SF,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the facilities and the location of the hotel. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. Rest assured that the issues you have raised has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. We thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed the evening of August 9th. The fellow who checked us in was pleasant and helpful. Our room was on the second floor just down from the indoor pool and faced the outdoor pool. Very nice view. It was clean. My only complaint about the room was that the solid drapes could not be completely closed, thereby reducing our privacy. The sheers just were not enough. We had both supper and breakfast in the on-site restaurant. Both times the service was slow (to be fair we were eating supper very late so it would have been off-peak but breakfast on the Saturday morning at 9ish was also extremely slow). Once our meals were served however, the food was good - no complaints. All in all, we would give this hotel another chance as we know how the unexpected can happen when it comes to staffing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grateful123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for the recommendation and the honest feedback. We are pleased to see you enjoyed the quality of the food and we will endeauvour to improve on the speed of service in the restaurant, As well, we are glad to read that both the room cleanliness, room location and the view were all to your liking. We would like to note that all of our guestrooms have blackout drapes behind the sheers to ensure both your privacy and comfort. We hope to welcome you back soon!!

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews