We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but old rooms need work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location but old rooms need work”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located right near the border and offers an inexpensive nine hole golf course. There is plenty of parking. The view from our room looked out on the golf course and had a balcony to enjoy the view. The service was good with the staff being friendly. The pool facilities were very nice and clean. The downside was our room smelled funny.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear Mark S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am so happy you liked our great location and amazing views. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the overall cleanliness of the room you received. We will forward your comments to the appropriate department and have them look into this. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    145
    68
    20
    18
See reviews for
96
63
17
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Pools were huge and clean. Customer service by all staff was fantastic. Room was clean and comfortable. Best place we stayed on our 2+ week road trip and best night's sleep too. Nice big luggage carts, nice outdoor patios and balconies. We ate outdoors with the kids and the food was excellent, as was the service the best part was all four of our kids ate FREE! Hotel was out of cribs so they gave us a roll-away bed instead. Super close to all the fun tourist attractions and beech areas! AWESOME location, clean and great service by all of the staff.

Room Tip: Parking is convenient for all rooms, but there are limited elevators and pool indoors is on the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely experience. Very easy to find and close to the marina...Rooms were nicley situated and very comfortable, quite and very laid back.The breakfast buffet was a very pleasant surprise, so many choices and all kept warm and staff were very helpful and kind. Will be a repeat customer for sure.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ranistoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
220 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Ample parking and plenty of luggage carts!

Internet works on the higher floors (tower) which is only as high as five floors.

Greeting from the front desk was quick, friendly and professional.

Room: nothing extravagant (and I am in a "deluxe king), but it's comfortable and "roomy" enough.

Air Conditioner works fine thanks to a wall-mounted thermostat to maintain control.

They have a full-service restaurant with a lovely outdoor patio. The view is of the lush greenery of the neighbouring golf course. Inside is comfortable with excellent service.

A duet made up of two up and coming stars was serenading the patrons for most of the night.

Food: my colleague enjoyed fish dinner (sorry... I forget which fish) but he loved it. I ordered a chicken breast with some veggies (special order) which was made to perfection. A bit pricey at $21, but it's a hotel restaurant... and they did do an excellent job in both preparation and presentation. We also had a caesar salad to start and yes, it was one of the better ones made table-side.

All in all, I'm glad I stayed here and would do so again without any hesitation in the future.



Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Harvey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haliburton, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night on short notice. Friendly front desk, affordable clean king sized room. Comfy bed and nice sheets. Recommend staying in the updated tower rooms. Location ideal for walking at the Harbourfront and to local restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ang1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kleinburg, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel is old with a new 'Tower" added on.. We have never stayed in the tower, so we have no comparison. The original 2 storey hotel is older, but nice. We stayed on the 2nd floor in a 2 double bed room ,, it was adequate and clean .. bathroom was a little tired ,but beds were comfy and the balcony was a bonus as we could sit outside in the fresh air sipping on our cocktails before dinner... nice view of the grounds and pool. Be sure to get "Complimentary Breakfast" included when you book. It is served in their restaurant and you are able to order any "one" breakfast meal per person... a great deal if you can manage to have it included when you book your night's stay .. if not, breakfast is quite pricey.

Room Tip: We had a room in the older section ,, It was glean, quiet and the bed was comfortable. Ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We arrived about two o'clock in the afternoon were welcome by the reception desk clerks and our room info was prepared in advance so no delays..
Located near the Canada USA border this is a hotel that you use for vacations, shopping trip etc.
We were in the "Tower" and the rooms were clean and comfortable and nice and quiet.
Great value for a weekend stay

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rum-Punch-Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarnia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sarnia/Point Edward
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Sarnia
Quality Inn Sarnia
#4 of 16 in Sarnia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Drawbridge Inn
Drawbridge Inn
#6 of 16 in Sarnia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 16 in Sarnia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harbourfront Inn
The Harbourfront Inn
#8 of 16 in Sarnia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center

Property: Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center
Address: 1498 Venetian Blvd, Sarnia, Ontario N7T 7W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Sarnia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center 3*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel In Sarnia Offers Quality Service With beautiful views of the marina and the comforts of home, you can expect a relaxing stay at the Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel and Conference Center in Point Edward, ON. Our hotel's convenient location is 10 km from Sarnia Chris Hadfield Airport (YZR). From the Point Edward Charity Casino to Centennial Park, numerous attractions surround our hotel's guests. In Sarnia, you can visit the Sarnia Sports & Entertainment Center, see a show at the Imperial Theatre or shop at Lambton Mall. Golfers can enjoy a game at our own 9-hole Holiday Inn Golf Course or one of the many greens throughout Sarnia. Lodging here is also beneficial for business travelers working with Aamjiwnaang First Nations, Ontario Power Generation, UWO Research Park, Chemical Valley, the Canadian Coast Guard and more. Our hotel's amenities include over 12,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, business suites and a 24-hour business centre to meet your corporate needs. We go beyond other hotels in Sarnia to bring you the comforts of home, such as the on-site Bridges Bistro and Freightor's Lounge, an indoor and an outdoor pool, a hot tub, a sauna and a fitness centre. Our Sarnia hotel's rooms feature work areas with free high-speed Internet access, large TVs, spacious layouts and beautiful views. We are also 4 Green Keys - Environmentally! You'll enjoy a comfortable stay at the Holiday Inn hotel- Sarnia.Local pictures courtesy of TSL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Sarnia
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel And Conf Center
Sarnia Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing