We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's All About Location--This One is Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Harbourfront Inn and Suites
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed one night in Sarnia on a cross-Canada trip and selected it after consulting the TripAdvisor reviews. We were not disappointed. The hotel is very conveniently located to the border crossing and right on the water front. There is a very nice walking path immediately adjacent to the hotel that traverses the adjoining protected wetlands, a huge green space, and if you take it the opposite direction, it continues for quite a distance along the water front. A very pleasant place to stretch you legs and relax after traveling. The nearby restaurants offer a variety of cuisine. The night we stayed there was a free outdoor concert in the nearby park (along the walking trail). The hotel itself was older but had been consisently maintained and was clean and tidy. The room we had (133) had both interior and exterior access...a real convenience, especially when there are so many pleasant outdoor activities. I agree with a previous review...the morning "breakfast" was very sparse...but that is not high on our list of priorities. Overall, we had a great stay and would recommend the Harbourfront Inn to folks who like reasonably priced lodging in a very pleasant setting.

Room Tip: If it is something you prefer...ask for a room with both interior and exterior access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rockytoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

The rooms are clean, the furnishings are tired, the air conditioner is cooling but noisy. The advertised "breakfast included" is a broken juice machine, a coffee pot, 2 loaves of bread and a toaster - that was disappointing. The staff are a bit distracted, but eventually quite friendly and helpful. The hotel is well situated but on the ground floor, i was not about to leave my windows open at night.

Room Tip: Tim Hortons is only 2 blocks away
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petewanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We used Trip Advisor to search for accomodation in the Sarnia area and were surprised to find this place as 5th top choice. After staying here, we found it has the best location adjacent to the main boardwalk along the river and also looked as nice as the Holiday Inn and Best Western from the outside.

My wife and I are not big on motels, prefer hotels, but this place was both clean and comfortable.

The boardwalk is right outside your door and close to two very good restaurants "Stokes" and "Paddy Flaherty's"

If your into fishing, which I'm not, it is the perfect place, as we seen many people fishing off the peer right beside the motel.

Room Tip: Stay on the ground floor as doors open to parking lot and easy access to your car. Bring lawn chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcook7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We've stayed at the Harbourfront for many years. We have nearly always had very pleasant experience. We will continue to return. Watch the weekends that the city of Sarnia has Bayfest. Lots of noise and a bit tough to sleep with all of the partying. We really do love the Harbourfront.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are usually the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We travelled to Sarnia for one night to celebrate my Grandmother's 90th birthday! We have stayed at the Harbourfront before and it has always been a great experience.
The staff is super friendly and accommodating and the rooms are clean & fresh. The location next to Centennial Park and the river can't be beat, especially since we were there on Canada Day. We had front row seats for the fireworks right outside our room.
With the reasonable rates and great location, I would highly recommend the Harburfront Inn. I won't stay anywhere else when visiting Sarnia.

Room Tip: I prefer ground floor rooms with inside/outside access from each room. The views are better from upp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyleigh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My family has stayed at the Harbourfront a few times, and each time we go we have a different experience. Sometimes the service is good, other times it's not. The last time we were there, the beds were a bit hard, the bathroom kind of dirty and the service was not up to our standards. Don't get me wrong, I'm not that hard to please, but I wasn't that impressed. I had to wait at the front desk for about five to ten minutes to simply borrow a pair of scissors, because the receptionist was taking a smoke break outside the front doors. The bathroom was a bit grimy, like it only had a quick wipe-down between guests. I also feel like this place is a bit expensive for what you get. One thing I always like about the Harbourfront is the fact that if you are on the ground floor, you have direct access to your car through a door at the end of your room. The Harbourfront is a place we go to for simple convenience, but we may not stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzieP2579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

The Harbourfront Inn was my wife's selection. What a great privately owned facility. Overlooking the St. Clair River from our second floor room. Nice picnic table under shade of tree out back. Watch the locals fish from a pier. The staff was courtesous. The room was spacious and clean. Continental breakfast was well stocked. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LloydminsterCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarnia
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Sarnia
Quality Inn Sarnia
#3 of 16 in Sarnia
170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sarnia/Point Edward
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 16 in Sarnia
95 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbourfront Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbourfront Inn and Suites

Address: 505 Harbour Rd, Sarnia, Ontario N7T 5R8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Sarnia
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Price Range: £67 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Harbourfront Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbourfront Inn and Suites is located in Sarnia, Ontario. We offer warm, friendly, personalized service to all guests passing through or staying long-term in Sarnia or Lambton County. Whether you are in town for business or pleasure our hotel amenities are sure to meet your needs. Renovated in 2017, the Harbourfront Inn and Suites offers a comfortable, yet modern home away from home. Our hotel offers complimentary amenities such as high speed wireless internet, a daily hot buffet breakfast and fitness facility. We are proud of our waterfront property - from our private courtyard overlooking the St. Clair River to the Sarnia Bay Marina and Centennial Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Harbourfront Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbourfront Hotel Sarnia
Harbourfront Hotel Sarnia
The Harbourfront Inn And Suites Sarnia, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing