We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for transit/one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Harbourfront Inn and Suites
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We were traveling to the US and wanted a close by hotel near the border and this hotel serves its purpose. The staff were nice and very helpful. The room was nice and clean, the bed was nice. Breakfast was standard, coffee/tea/fruit, cereal; nothing special. During our breakfast we met with a couple who filed for complaint to the hotel because they got a room with their outside door facing the restaurant next to the hotel, and they said there are a lot of wild cats (about 15) living near the garbage of the restaurant and that they can smell the urine and it's awful. We feel fortunate that we got a room at the back, so do request that when you make reservation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy_Pottinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dseller, Manager at The Harbourfront Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

As you have pointed out, we are well positioned for those traveling to and from the US. Many guests have remarked on the convenience of being only minutes away from the Bluewater Bridge crossing. It please us to know that you were satisfied with our location and our service.

In reference to the complaint filed, about the cats in the adjacent property; the owners of that property, as well as City staff, have taken action to rectify the situation. Presently, it appears that they have been successful.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

We had a long stay at the Harbourfront Inn while visiting a relative in hospital. The Harbourfront has a great location, the room was good and breakfast was fine for us. What really impressed us was how helpful and friendly the staff were as we dealt with a lot of uncertainty in our family situation. We would highly recommend the Harbourfront Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dseller, Manager at The Harbourfront Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

It was our privilege to be of service to you during such a stressful time. The comfort and well being of our guests, has long been the "heart" of the Harbourfront Inn. Our helpful staff were pleased to extend, to you, any extra attention that you required. We hope that your family situation resolved itself in a positive manor and that you are able to visit us again soon, under happier circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Place is clean, very nice location. Within 5 minutes of anything you want. Not sure the complaint on elevators since it has two levels, that's it, if you can't do 10 steps stay on the main floor. Air conditioning worked like a charm, beds are firm, big fluffy pillows. Coffee maker in room. Would stay here again without a doubt. Restaurant right in same parking lot.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank z24pride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dseller, Manager at The Harbourfront Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Our sincere thanks to you for sharing your experience at the Harbourfront Inn. It is nice to know that our central location and satisfactory ammenities served you well. That we are right next door to two restaurants, is certainly an added convienience for our guests.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next stop in the Sarnia area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This inn does not represent itself correctly. Out of all my travels across the globe the worst. No elevator ..they said they have a water front room to let. Yes waterfront with a mill view and a dirty harbor. Not a good place to stay if you are on your way into Canada. Better to stay at Port Huron and get better accomodations!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xanthouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dseller, Manager at The Harbourfront Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

As our name suggests, we are a harbour locale. We deeply regret that it prevented you from enjoying your stay. Countless guests have enjoyed the sight of a ship manuvering its way into the harbour in order to dock at the grain mill; it is a unique sight. Our water view rooms do look out onto the harbour and beyond, to the St. Clair River. We would be please to accept any suggestions that you may have to make our location any clearer.

While we regret the lack of an elevator, any guest who may suffer physical discomfort in climbing a flight of stairs, need only inform our helpful staff. We will ensure that they are accommodated in a ground floor room.

As a world traveller, we're sure that you would agree that every hotel is somehow unique. While we may not compare to a 5 star property, that is not what we aspire to. We aspire to make what we have to offer the absolute best we can; our location, our facilities, our staff. We also aspire to take our guests suggestions under advisement, and make changes wherever possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I liked this inn. It is conveniently situated for access to shopping, restaurants, the US border and the freeway. It is clean and comfortable with friendly and helpful staff and it is not overly expensive. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Take a ground-floor room. There is no elevator and the ground-floor rooms, accessed from internal c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maus59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dseller, Manager at The Harbourfront Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You have listed many of the positive features that you enjoyed while at the Harbourfront Inn. It is wonderful to know that we were able to accommodate you in more ways than one!
Thank you for choosing the Harbourfront Inn. We look forward to seeing you again.

Denise Seller
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This hotel was clean and staff was friendly. I didn't find the bed to be overly comfy and the pillows weren't very good at all. It did include a free continental breakfast which is always a nice feature. No elevator but we didn't go in and out too often so it was ok. Was very quiet and was nice to have a room facing the harbour. Too bad there was a fence up in front of the harbour.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redwun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dseller, Manager at The Harbourfront Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Thank you for letting us know what areas need our attention, so that we can make our hotel better and your stay more comfortable. Presently, we are in the process of determining what types of upgrades would be most beneficial and your comments are most helpful. We are especially proud of our location and water views, but unfortunatley, security concerns mandated a fence on the Government owned harbour. We welcome a chance to serve you again, to see if another of our water view rooms would serve you better.

Denise Seller
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Would recommend this motel to anyone. Rooms are nice, beds very comfortable. Staff could not be any nicer.Location is close to border. Shopping center is just minutes away. Downtown is just minutes away.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. No elevator, but very few stairs. Staff are friendly and very co-operative. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ken s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dseller, Manager at The Harbourfront Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

We are very pleased that your recent stay with us was met with great satisfaction. Our goal, on a
daily basis, is to provide a positive guest experience. We are delighted to know that our quality staff, comfortable rooms and convenient location all contributed to your overall positive experience. Your recommendation of the Harbourfront Inn, to others, is most valued and sincerely appreciated.Thank you!

We do hope that you will come stay with us again in the near future.

Denise Seller
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarnia
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Sarnia
Quality Inn Sarnia
#3 of 16 in Sarnia
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sarnia/Point Edward
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 16 in Sarnia
96 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbourfront Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbourfront Inn and Suites

Address: 505 Harbour Rd, Sarnia, Ontario N7T 5R8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Sarnia
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Price Range: £66 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Harbourfront Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbourfront Inn and Suites is located in Sarnia, Ontario. We offer warm, friendly, personalized service to all guests passing through or staying long-term in Sarnia or Lambton County. Whether you are in town for business or pleasure our hotel amenities are sure to meet your needs. Renovated in 2017, the Harbourfront Inn and Suites offers a comfortable, yet modern home away from home. Our hotel offers complimentary amenities such as high speed wireless internet, a daily hot buffet breakfast and fitness facility. We are proud of our waterfront property - from our private courtyard overlooking the St. Clair River to the Sarnia Bay Marina and Centennial Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Harbourfront Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbourfront Hotel Sarnia
Harbourfront Hotel Sarnia
The Harbourfront Inn And Suites Sarnia, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing