We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for the dollar”
Review of Super 8 Sarnia ON

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Sarnia ON
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    87
    73
    33
    28
See reviews for
77
54
38
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Pros: Room was clean. Beds were comfy. Relatively quiet. reasonably priced. Check in and out were painless.

Cons: Hallways smelled like stale cigarette smoke. Carpets have obviously not been changed in *years*. Showers were lukewarm. Stayed there with several friends, most of whom reported something in their room being broken. Breakfast was disgusting (we opted for the McDonald's across the way) and the breakfast "room" sat no more than 4 people (We were told 'take a tray up to your room')

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ptbo_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Sarnia, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Sarnia ON, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Ptbo_Traveler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am very sorry about the problems you experienced during the stay. Our carpets are actually one year old and we had them cleaned a week ago.

As for the smell in the corridor, we do have 4 smoking rooms in our hotel and sometime the smell of the smoke does permiate to the hallway when people go in and out of their rooms. We are always happy to move guests who report any issues with the location of the room that they were given. This ofcourse if other options are available at the time.

Our breakfast consists of:
Muffins, Bagles, Cream CHeese, Waffles, Hot & Cold Cereal, Egg Patties, Apples, Yoghurt, Bagels, White and Wholewheat Bread, Orange & Apple Juice Tea and Coffee and HOT CHOCOLATE. I am not sure what was "disgusting" about what you saw but again, we welcome all feedback that guests give us and suggestions as to what else we can offer for breakfast considering we offer breakfast as per the Super 8 Brand Standards.

Yes, our breakfast room is small at the moment but as you mentioned you are welcome to take your tray back to your room.

Once again, thank you for your review and hope that you give us another try when in the Sarnia Area.

Kind Regards,

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The room was perfectly clean, did not smell like clorine or like stale smoke. Harry at the front desk was helpful and kind. My needs were met completely. Free wifi that worked, free fridge, easy access to outlets. Simple, more than adequate. It is the only place I will stay in Sarnia!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Sarnia, General Manager at Super 8 Sarnia ON, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your current stay at Super 8 sarnia. I am glad that you liked your stay with us and we are definitely looking forward to have you come back and stay with us. It is our goal to provide a clean place to stay for all our guests. Thank you for your continue business with Super 8 in Sarnia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I was in Sarnia for work Jul 23-26, 2013. Someone had recommended this place because it was close to the work location . It turned out to be a terrible experience. I checked in late on 22 july 2013, and found the room very dusty with other people's hair on the bed. The next day, the house keeper was solicitous and promised to clean the room better. To my great dismay, I was bitten by bedbugs and my blood stained the beddings. When I brought this to the attention of , Ravi Patel at the desk, he dismissed it as nothing and was very rude. When I requested to speak to the manager, he said I could not because he was the owner.
So far, I have sent a few notes to a Kiran Khaira who is supposedly the General Manager and never got a reply from him/her. This tells you that this company is not interested in Customer Service.
DO NOT STAY HERE. YOU WILL GET EATEN ALIVE BY BED BUGS.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ojemma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Sarnia, General Manager at Super 8 Sarnia ON, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your current stay at Super 8 in Sarnia. I apologize for any inconvenience in regards to your stay. After each and every single concern or comment of our valuable guest, we always try to take care of any issues right away and try to satisfy our guest. We have no bed bugs at our property. We called the inspection department and they could not find anything such as bed bugs. We thoroughly inspect the whole area. I can understand that due to the change in weather, there are different types of insects can enter through the windows and doors. But Trust me, we do not have bed bugs.

Also the place is definitely not out dated. We have brand new furniture in all the rooms. All the rooms have fridge, microwave and in process of installing new LED TV's in all the rooms. Our goal is to provide an exceptional customer service to all our guest and clean rooms.

I would encourage you to please make a visit again and enjoy our clean rooms and customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarnia hotels
0.3 mi away
Drawbridge Inn
Drawbridge Inn
#6 of 16 in Sarnia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Sarnia
Quality Inn Sarnia
#4 of 16 in Sarnia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sarnia/Point Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 16 in Sarnia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Sarnia ON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Sarnia ON

Property: Super 8 Sarnia ON
Address: 420 Christina St N, Sarnia, Ontario N7T 5W1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Sarnia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Sarnia ON 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Sarnia ON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Sarnia Hotel Sarnia
Super 8 Sarnia ON Canada - Ontario
Super Eight Sarnia
Sarnia Super 8
Sarnia Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing