We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gables Inn delivered”
Review of The Gables Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gables Inn
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is an older motel that has been tastefully renovated. The room was clean. The shower had the bowed shower rod giving extra room in the shower. This is not a usual feature in an older motel. The rooms don't come equipped with a blow dryer however a call to the front desk was all we needed to do to get one to use during our stay.

We visit family in the area once per year and will definitely stay at this motel on a return trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyrnaN_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed at Gables Inn with my two children after a long trip from USA. People were very nice at the hotel. Beds were very comfortable with good mattresses. I could have slept much longer...just didn't want to get up. It was nice to have fridge and microwave in the room and also the room was quite large. I didn't feel crowded with all the luggage and children. Also it is at a convenient location. Tim Horton's just next door. Will recommend to my family and friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucie309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGablesInn, Manager at The Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you for this wonderful review on tripadvisor. We always enjoy ensuring each of our guest expectations are met. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to see you again soon.
Thank you for choosing and recommending the Gables Inn - Sarnia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is a nice clean little motel. Not a place to stay in a rainny day. Just a plce to sleep and shower. Ramesh and Falguni (Mgrs) are very helpful. If you're expecting to have Marriott's confort and services, you better go there and spend the money. I satyed 4 nights and was satisfied for my money

Room Tip: Phone the hotel directly for a better rate: 1-877-563-7993
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueQuebec_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This motel was everything the positive reviews here have shown: basic, but clean and comfortable. The mattresses were great, a fantastic night's sleep. Incredibly helpful, accommodating, and helpful management/owners. Perfect price for the services offered, especially for our one night there on our trip from Western New York to Southwestern Michigan. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Christian14127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Had booked a week ahead and arrived on a very hot sunday afternoon. Person at the front desk was pleasant although it took her a while to find my reservation. Headed to the room and before unloading we wanted to check and make sure everything was fine. The cost was expensive for a motel such as that and they weren't too many cars around. The air was off and the window open so we turned on the air, closed the window and after 10 minutes it still wasn't blowing cold air. We called the front desk and someone came down to fix it and he said it was working correctly and we couldn't expect the room to be cold already. Believe me it would have never gotten cold. Thought better of it and decided to leave and go somewhere else. he was a little rude and for the money we didn't deserve the attitude. At the front desk she told me that she could tell that I didn't like Indian people and that was why I was leaving. I left horrified that someone would actually say that to someone. Wouldn't be returning....

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
4  Thank JANET B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGablesInn, Manager at The Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Dear Janet,

I thank you for your feedback and I am truly sorry and to be honest, a bit surprised by the multitude of issues that you experienced at our motel. As we take pride in our overall service, cleanliness and genuine friendliness with all our guests, I want to personally apologize for all the inconveniences you experienced during your stay here.

In response to your concern about the rate, you have been aware of the rate when you reserved the room. It was a bayfest week, so all our customers left to go watch the concert. That must be why you didn't see any cars around.

The air conditioners were turned off because we always turn them off after someone checks out of the room to save energy. About the air conditioner not making the room cold, i assume you didn't keep it on for long enough, it takes a while for it to get the whole room cold. No other customer has ever complained about the rooms not being cold before.

The man who came to check the air conditioner was simply explaining to you that you must wait a while for the rooms to get cold and the air conditioner was working in order. He didn't mean to be rude at all and certainly didn't mean to have an "attitude".

I apologize for the lenthy response but would sincerely appreciate an opportunity to discuss and rectify your overall impression and experience with us.

Thanks,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We were attending a wedding on Canada Day weekend and had no one to look after our 8 year old, very spoiled, dog. The owner agreed to let us bring her. There is a large grassy area at the motel for us to walk Sadie. I assume we did not have a renovated room, but it was an average size, even though the bathroom was very small. Overall, good value. One problem was that Airport Road is torn up (something not indicated at the highway exit), so we had to detour. Not the motel's fault, but irritating. We would probably stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dkdkdkdkdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I recently stayed for 5 days at The Gables Inn, Sarnia, while visiting family in the area. My room was in the newly renovated and "deluxe" section of the motor court. The room was clean and adequate for my needs. I was far enough back in the facility to not have any road noise. The bathroom was clean but I was glad I packed my own toiletries and hair dryer--only the bare necessities were supplied. (I had to laugh about the single, wire hanger provided in the closet for my use.) I enjoyed the college-sized refrigerator and wireless wi-fi. The bed was comfy and I had plenty of pillows. There are many reasonably prices restaurant nearby, in addition to a Tim Hortons less than a quarter mile away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room toward the back of the property, away from the busy London Line Road. Remember to bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dallasgal56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarnia hotels
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center
3.8 mi away
The Harbourfront Inn and Suites
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn Sarnia
Quality Inn Sarnia
#3 of 16 in Sarnia
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 16 in Sarnia
97 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Insignia Hotel
The Insignia Hotel
#7 of 16 in Sarnia
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Inn

Address: 1625 London Line, Sarnia, Ontario N7W 1A9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Sarnia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Price Range: £43 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Gables Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CAA & AAA approved facility. Ample parking for trucks and RV's. Clean, well maintained recently updated facility for individuals or families. All of our large modern rooms have a fridge and microwave cable TV, and free instant coffee. Free hi-speed Internet connection available in all rooms. Some rooms have fully equipped kitchenettes. Children's playground, outdoor pool. gazebo and BBQ/picnic area. We offer group rates, senior rates and corporate rates. We offer discounts for CAA/AAA members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Inn Sarnia, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing