We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD FOOD AND SERVICE”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wharf Fish & Chips

Wharf Fish & Chips
Ranked #54 of 208 Restaurants in Sarnia
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD AND SERVICE”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is a very popular restaurant to eat in Sarnia. The fish and chips are always good. The staff are all very friendly and give great service. If you fancy good fish and chips this is the place to visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    21
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakville Ontario
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Fish & Chips after 40 years in Canada”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stopped at The Wharf on our way from Toronto to Ann Arbour and we were glad we did. Having come to Canada in 1973 I am always on the look for a good fish and chip shop and in Sarnia we found one. The chips were made fresh and the fish comes in light batter if desired. The service was great and price very good. We will definitely come here again when going to the US

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“First time in a long time”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We went for lunch to this restaurant because the mother-in-law wanted to treat us for fish and chips. Of course we were early (a senior thing) but the staff greeted us just the same. We sat down and the waitress came over with menus. The selection was broad for seafood and not all of it was deep fried. My wife has a gluten intolerance. The mother-in-law had the haddock, chips with coleslaw. I had the cod, chips and coleslaw. My wife decided to just have fries and coleslaw. The order showed up shortly and was steaming hot. The batter was crisp and light. The chips were fresh and told hand cut every day. They were the best chips we have had in Sarnia, and that includes the chip trucks through out the city. When we were leaving we chatted with the owners. They have been running it for a number of years and it has moved two or three times around Sarnia. Still the best place for fish and chips bar none.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank riccobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in the county”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The best fish and chips I have had were in NewZealand, but this place is a close second. Very friendly service, good portions. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zhorgon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good reviews!”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We went to Wharf Fish and Chips 26 May 2013, 6:00 PM. The restaurant was quaint, the menu was true fish and chip fare. Service was acceptable, food was a disappointment. I had the house specialty halibut and chips. The halibut was over cooked, the chips were limp and void of flavour. I fail to see how this place has ever earned a single good review.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wharf Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Wharf Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing