We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed 4 days Again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northlander Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northlander Motel
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stayed 4 days Again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Found this motel great staff is friendly accommodation is tops, close to all shops and eateries.
Good value for your money

Room Tip: we have stayed here several time and love the rooms at the rear of the motel but over all all the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesbc214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    15
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
21
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

Having stayed at this motel several times I would recommend it to anyone place it is about 2 blocks south of the highway 17 bypass close to shops and great value for your money about $95 a night EVERY ROOM IS NON SMOKING. PET FRIENDLY, staff are great and very friendly rooms are very clean and equipped. each room has fridge microwave, coffee, clock and good sized TVs, and A/C, easy access to ice machine and parking at your room door.

Room Tip: rooms at the very back of Motel are very spacious close to ice machine room and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamesbc214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Ontario
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We were travelling unawares on the big fall leaf viewing weekend without reservations. We stopped at a few hotels but they were completely booked. One of the rival hotel receptionists sent us to The Northlander with the comment that it was small but clean. We were very pleased: clean room, large room, spacious bathroom. Amenities such as a refrigerator and microwave. We only stayed one night as we were en route to other locations but my thought was that a small family could use that room for a few days in utmost comfort.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripper712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Nice bed/shower!!! If you are looking for a basic place to stay for one night or two, here is it! We stayed here for two nights and we had no complain.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juljul28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Beds were comfortable, clean and spacious rooms. Decent price as well. As we are travelling across the country, this motel was our fave so far. The price was right!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zgmcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yigo, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

We arrived late and left early but it was a very nice motel to get some sleep. It was very clean a apacious.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LowMaintFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

Very clean rooms, nice bed/shower. Was able to check in after midnight. Great rate will stay again

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelfar25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.1 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, BW Premier Collection
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suite...
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.8 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northlander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northlander Motel

Property: Northlander Motel
Address: 243 Great Northern Road, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 4Z2 , Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Northlander Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Northlander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northlander Motel Sault Ste. Marie, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing